Skip to Main Content

First Ladies of the United States: Elizabeth Monroe

Reference

Resources

Life of the Monroes

Monroe Hill - Remembering James Monroe

“Monroe Hill” unearths the history of the site that contains the last remaining structures of the late 18th century southern plantation. These surviving structures are silent witnesses to Monroe’s struggle as a farmer and a politician from the late 1780’s until the laying of the cornerstone at the University of Virginia on October 6, 1817.

The film includes the chapter of James Monroe's life as Minister to France and his relationship with Thomas Paine, Tom Wolfe, Adrienne de La Fayette, George Washington, Thomas Jefferson, James Madison and Alexander Hamilton.

“Monroe Hill” brings to the foreground a previously unexplored period of the life of James Monroe featuring extensive documentation, independent research, and interviews with experts. Rare film footage from D. W. Griffith’ “America” and “Orphans of the Storm” was used to create a sense of verisimilitude. “We were able to obtain prints of excellent quality on both of these films, and they served to portray the prevailing phenotype in colonial Virginia at the turn of the 18th century” explained director Eduardo Montes-Bradley, who also affirmed that “These early American films -shot in and around Williamsburg in the late 1910’s- are more powerful than a reenactment. The texture and the overall miss-en-scene of the period dissolves flawlessly with the narration creating a sense of documental continuity.”

Source: Kanopy

Perspectives

Ladies of Liberty

In Founding Mothers, Cokie Roberts paid homage to the heroic women whose patriotism and sacrifice helped create a new nation. Now the number one New York Times bestselling author and renowned political commentator--praised in USA Today as a "custodian of time-honored values"--continues the story of early America's influential women with Ladies of Liberty. In her "delightfully intimate and confiding" style (Publishers Weekly), Roberts presents a colorful blend of biographical portraits and behind-the-scenes vignettes chronicling women's public roles and private responsibilities. Recounted with the insight and humor of an expert storyteller and drawing on personal correspondence, private journals, and other primary sources--many of them previously unpublished--Roberts brings to life the extraordinary accomplishments of women who laid the groundwork for a better society. Almost every quotation here is written by a woman, to a woman, or about a woman. From first ladies to freethinkers, educators to explorers, this exceptional group includes Abigail Adams, Margaret Bayard Smith, Martha Jefferson, Dolley Madison, Elizabeth Monroe, Louisa Catherine Adams, Eliza Hamilton, Theodosia Burr, Rebecca Gratz, Louisa Livingston, Rosalie Calvert, Sacajawea, and others. In a much-needed addition to the shelves of Founding Father literature, Roberts sheds new light on the generation of heroines, reformers, and visionaries who helped shape our nation, giving these ladies of liberty the recognition they so greatly deserve.

America's First Ladies

Meet the First Ladies of the United States--sometimes inspiring, sometimes tragic, always fascinating--women who, though often unsung, helped hold the nation together in its infancy and advance it as a world power. More than simply serving as America's "hostesses," many of the nation's First Ladies played vital roles in shaping their husband's presidency and serving as political activists in their own right. From Martha Washington to Michelle Obama, their inspiring stories come alive in this handsomely illustrated encyclopedia. Within its pages, the First Ladies are revealed as human beings who, one day, awoke to find the eyes of the world upon them. The book differs from others by showcasing America's First Ladies in their own words, as flesh-and-blood individuals. Readers will discover which First Lady held off Napoleon's army with a toy sword, why women had to be "pale, frail, and ailing," and which First Lady was called "Sunshine" and which was "Hellcat." Each entry includes a biographical essay that details the life of the woman and places her within the political, social, and cultural context of her time. Each also offers a related primary document that helps define the First Lady's legacy as well as a short bibliography for further information. Written in a lively, compelling style, this highly readable volume is perfect for junior high, high school, and college students as well as the general public. Overviews the social, political, and cultural significance of America's First Ladies in a convenient, chronological, reference format Includes letters, notes, and speeches that allow the First Ladies to speak for themselves Features engaging and informative sidebars that place the First Ladies in the cultural context of their times Shares the 2014 First Ladies Ranking from the Siena Research Institute Facilitates student research through an extensive reading guide and a list of online resources that will foster critical reading, thinking, and writing skills

Ties that Bound : Founding First Ladies and Slaves

Behind every great man stands a great woman. And behind that great woman stands a slave. Or so it was in the households of the Founding Fathers from Virginia, where slaves worked and suffered throughout the domestic environments of the era, from Mount Vernon, Monticello, and Montpelier to the nation's capital. American icons like Martha Washington, Martha Jefferson, and Dolley Madison were all slaveholders. And as Marie Jenkins Schwartz uncovers in Ties That Bound, these women, as the day-to-day managers of their households, dealt with the realities of a slaveholding culture directly and continually, even in the most intimate of spaces. Unlike other histories that treat the stories of the First Ladies' slaves as separate from the lives of their mistresses, Ties That Bound closely examines the relationships that developed between the First Ladies and their slaves. For elite women and their families, slaves were more than an agricultural workforce; slavery was an entire domestic way of life that reflected and reinforced their status. In many cases slaves were more constant companions to the white women of the household than were their husbands and sons, who often traveled or were at war. By looking closely at the complicated intimacy these women shared, Schwartz is able to reveal how they negotiated their roles, illuminating much about the lives of slaves themselves, as well as class, race, and gender in early America. By detailing the prevalence and prominence of slaves in the daily lives of women who helped shape the country, Schwartz makes it clear that it is impossible to honestly tell the stories of these women while ignoring their slaves. She asks us to consider anew the embedded power of slavery in the very earliest conception of American politics, society, and everyday domestic routines.

The Health of the First Ladies

This first comprehensive study of the medical histories of America's first ladies--from Martha Washington to Michelle Obama--discusses their illnesses, their treatments and their physicians in the context of their times. As the categories of illness afflicting Americans have changed through history so have the kinds of maladies affecting the first ladies. Infectious diseases and the consequences of poorly supervised pregnancies have been replaced by cerebrovascular accidents and malignancies. The secrecy with which the White House has traditionally handled inquiries about the health of the president's wife is explored in detail; however, several first ladies, notably Betty Ford, have been transparent about their illnesses in order to educate the public. The effects of a first lady's responsibilities on her health is examined. This book also seeks to discern how the well-being of the first lady influences presidential performance.

A Genealogy of the Wives of the American Presidents and Their First Two Generations of Descent

From Martha Washington to Laura Bush, the wife of each U.S. president has found her place in history, often setting trends and doing important work for the nation. This reference work traces the lineage of all presidents' wives, arranged alphabetically from Abigail Adams to Jane Wyman. Genealogy reveals that some of the women are connected to one another through common ancestry, sometimes even through royal blood--for example, the bloodlines of Laura Bush and Abigail Adams join at King Henry II and can then be traced to King Pepin the Short, born in 714. Several others can be traced back to King John, William the Conqueror, Charlemagne, and Lady Godiva. Clearly organized and easy to use, the work includes not only ancestors but offspring, listing children and grandchildren for each woman. Dates of birth, death, and marriage of ancestors, children and grandchildren are included where known.