Reference
- ROOSEVELT, ELEANORFirst Lady, Delegate to the United Nations, Chairperson of the Presidential Commission on Women's Rights
Wife of the most influential Democratic president of the twentieth century, Eleanor Roosevelt was an advocate for the disadvantaged and an ardent supporter of civil rights who used her position as First Lady, her weekly newspaper column, and her connections with important journalists and political and labor leaders to promote social reform. In the 1930s and 1940s, Eleanor worked successfully to establish her own political persona, serving as FDR's emissary to the Democratic Party's labor-liberal wing and often articulating advanced progressive positions on issues such as labor, civil rights, and social justice...
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Credo Reference is an easy-to-use tool for starting research. Gather background information on your topic from hundreds of full-text encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri, quotations, and subject-specific titles, as well as 500,000+ images and audio files and over 1,000 videos.
Eleanor Roosevelt
- Kanopy This link opens in a new window
Kanopy is a streaming films databases offering both educational and popular titles.
- Eleanor RooseveltShe was the nation's conscience, a tireless advocate for the disadvantaged, a woman who influenced American social policies for decades and pushed through the first international charter on human rights. Eleanor Roosevelt survived a painful childhood and a difficult marriage to become one of the most admired women in America. Going beyond her public achievements, this intimate two-and-a-half-hour biography explores the secretive and surprising private life of a controversial American figure.
White House
- Anna Eleanor RooseveltAnna Eleanor Roosevelt was the longest-serving First Lady throughout her husband President Franklin D. Roosevelt’s four terms in office (1933-1945). She was an American politician, diplomat, and activist who later served as a United Nations spokeswoman...
Portraits & Perspectives
Eleanor Roosevelt Biography
Anna Eleanor Roosevelt was born in New York City on October 11, 1884. Her father was Elliott Roosevelt, President Theodore Roosevelt's younger brother and her mother was Anna Hall, a member of the distinguished Livingston family...
The Quotable Eleanor Roosevelt
Born in the late 1800s to one of the wealthiest families in New York City, Eleanor Roosevelt seemed destined for a traditional woman's role within a sedate Victorian life. Instead, she married her fifth cousin and was flung into the highest levels of American politics, culminating in Franklin's unprecedented four-term presidency. While previous first ladies refrained from public discussion of their personal views, Eleanor's bold opinions on political, social, and racial issues took many by surprise. She held press conferences and wrote a syndicated column. She spoke at national conventions, granted interviews, and often made appearances on her husband's behalf. Her own influence lasted years beyond his death. She advocated for human rights, worked with the United Nations, and supported what later became the civil rights movement. The fascinating quotes in this collection are the words of an articulate, honest, and thoughtful woman. Of war, she said, "I hope the day will come when all that inventing and mechanical genius will be used for other purposes." At a time when racism prevailed, Eleanor said, "We must be proud of every one of our citizens, for regardless of nationality, or race, every one contributes to the welfare and culture of the nation." Organized by topic--government, money, art, education, class, relationships, emotions--these quotations reveal the personal thoughts Roosevelt shared in letters and conversations alongside the strong opinions she expressed in speeches and interviews, giving evidence to her character and her beliefs. Her words continue to resonate today.
Eleanor Roosevelt
Eleanor Roosevelt was born into the privileges and prejudices of American aristocracy and into a family ravaged by alcoholism. She overcame debilitating roots: in her public life, fighting against racism and injustice and advancing the rights of women; and in her private life, forming lasting intimate friendships with some of the great men and women of her times. This volume covers ER's family and birth, her childhood, education, and marriage, and ends with FDR's election to the Presidency--the years of ER's youth and coming of age.
Celebrated by feminists, historians, politicians, and reviewers everywhere, Cook's trilogy is an unprecedented portrait of a brave, fierce, passionate political leader of our century...
It Seems to Me
One of the most important women of the 20th Century, Eleanor Roosevelt (1884-1962) was also one of its most prolific letter writers. Yet never before has a selection of her letters to public figures, world leaders, and individuals outside her family been made available to general readers and to historians unable to visit the archives at Hyde Park. It Seems to Me demonstrates Roosevelt's significance as a stateswoman and professional politician, particularly after her husband's death in 1945. These letters reveal a dimension of her personality often lost in collections of letters to family members and friends, that of a shrewd, self-confident woman unafraid to speak her mind. In her letters, Roosevelt lectured Truman, badgered Eisenhower, and critiqued Kennedy. She disagreed with the Catholic Church over aid to parochial schools, made recommendations for political appointments, expressed her opinion on the conviction of Alger Hiss. Some letters demonstrate her commitment to civil rights, many her understanding of Cold War politics, and still others her support of labor unions. As a whole, this collection provides unique insights into both Eleanor Roosevelt's public life, as well as American culture and politics during the decades following World War II.
Eleanor Roosevelt
The intriguing story of Eleanor Roosevelt traces the life of the former First Lady from her early childhood through the tumultuous years in the White House to her active role in the founding of the United Nations after World War II. A Newberry Honor Book.