Branches of Mathematics
This research topic guide explores materials and topics related to the branches of mathematics. Materials are provided for further insight on the topics, including the forms of mathematics.
- Story of MathematicsThe Story of Mathematics is, simply put, the story of human nature and evolution. Our aim is to tell that story, the good and the bad, the mysterious and practical. It is number theory, addition, fraction, subtraction, algebra, astronomy, geometry, anatomy, analysis (calculus), subtraction, mathematical logic and so much more – math is everything.
- Timeline of MathematicsA complete interactive timeline of mathematics.
Research & Reference
- Pure Mathematics: Credo ReferenceA Credo Reference landing page on pure mathematics. This page includes links to reference works, journal articles, and a mind map.
- Applied Mathematics: Credo ReferenceA Credo Reference landing page on applied mathematics. This page includes links to reference works, journal articles, and a mind map.
Databases
- Applied Science & Technology Source This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Applied Science & Technology Source offers extensive coverage of research and development within the applied sciences and computing disciplines. You will find access to 513 journals with searchable cited references.
- Science Full-Text Select This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Science Full Text Select is a full-text database covering an array of scientific subjects. Content Includes more than 400 full-text journals, with coverage dating back to 1983.
- Wolfram Functions
The world's largest collection of formulas and graphics about more than 300000 mathematical functions for the mathematics and science communities.
The Great Math Mystery
Explore math's astonishing power across the centuries. Join astrophysicist and writer Mario Livio to follow math from Pythagoras to Einstein and beyond, all leading to the ultimate riddle: Is math an invention or a discovery?
Source: AVON
The Joy of Mathematics
Ready to exercise those brain cells? Humans have been having fun with mathematics for thousands of years. Along the way, they've discovered the amazing utility of this field--in science, engineering, finance, games of chance, and many other aspects of life. This course of 24 half-hour lectures celebrates the sheer joy of mathematics, taught by a mathematician who is literally a magician with numbers. Professor Arthur T. Benjamin of Harvey Mudd College is renowned for his feats of mental calculation performed before audiences at schools, theaters, museums, conferences, and other venues.
History of Maths
If your pupils find maths hard they're in good company, for some of the greatest mathematicians of the past struggled with the same maths that's now taught in school. But if pupils appreciate this struggle and realise how mathematics developed over the centuries, they might better understand some of the difficult topics we except them to grasp.
Source: AVON