Resources & Links
- Probability and Statistics: BritannicaProbability and statistics, the branches of mathematics concerned with the laws governing random events, including the collection, analysis, interpretation, and display of numerical data.
- Statistics and Probability: Kahn AcademyA complete statistics and probability course from Kahn Academy.
Research & Reference
- Statistics: Credo ReferenceA Credo Reference landing page on statistics. This page includes links to reference works, journal articles, and a mind map.
- Probability: Credo ReferenceA Credo Reference landing page on probability. This page includes links to reference works, journal articles, and a mind map.
Streaming Media
- Against All Odds: Inside StatisticsThis Annenberg series of 32 video modules introduces statistical topics in real-world context, visiting locations where people from all walks of life use statistics in their work. Starting with descriptive statistics, the course continues through probability and inference. Examples range from finding patterns in lightning strikes, to examining possible genetic resistance to deadly Lassa fever in West Africa, to linking DDT to the decline of peregrine falcons. Scientist and researcher Pardis Sabeti hosts the series.
- Data Analysis and Probability: Algebra NspirationsWhat do mathematicians mean when they say that an event has a 50 percent probability of occurring? How does the study of statistics apply algebraic principles to real-world events and conditions in a meaningful way? Why are data analysis and probability so closely related, and what are the practical benefits of studying them together? This video answers these questions and addresses fundamental concepts such as the law of large numbers and the notion of regression analysis. Written and hosted by internationally acclaimed math educator Dr. Monica Neagoy, the program offers engaging explorations based on true stories and real data, utilizes various TI-Nspire applications, and models the seamless connection among various problem representations. (27 minutes)
- Learning StatisticsThe ability of statistics to extract insights from a random collection of facts is one of the most astonishing and useful feats of applied mathematics. This course surveys college-level statistics through dozens of exercises conducted through the statistical programming language R, a free, open-source computer language with millions of users worldwide.
- ProbabilityExpressing a probability between certainty and impossible as the likelihood of an uncertain event occurring --conducting and recording probability experiments using small and large number trials with replacement --calculating the theoretical probability of a particular event occurring --expressing probabilities as odds.
- Probability: Frequency or Belief?Examine two different types of probability. Frequency-based probabilities rely on many examples of a phenomenon, while subjective probabilities call on personal experience and judgment, often drawing on relatively few cases. Learn to think critically about these two approaches, and know when to use them.
Perspectives
Naked Statistics
A New York Times bestseller "Brilliant, funny...the best math teacher you never had." --San Francisco Chronicle Once considered tedious, the field of statistics is rapidly evolving into a discipline Hal Varian, chief economist at Google, has actually called "sexy." From batting averages and political polls to game shows and medical research, the real-world application of statistics continues to grow by leaps and bounds. How can we catch schools that cheat on standardized tests? How does Netflix know which movies you'll like? What is causing the rising incidence of autism? As best-selling author Charles Wheelan shows us in Naked Statistics, the right data and a few well-chosen statistical tools can help us answer these questions and more. For those who slept through Stats 101, this book is a lifesaver. Wheelan strips away the arcane and technical details and focuses on the underlying intuition that drives statistical analysis. He clarifies key concepts such as inference, correlation, and regression analysis, reveals how biased or careless parties can manipulate or misrepresent data, and shows us how brilliant and creative researchers are exploiting the valuable data from natural experiments to tackle thorny questions. And in Wheelan's trademark style, there's not a dull page in sight. You'll encounter clever Schlitz Beer marketers leveraging basic probability, an International Sausage Festival illuminating the tenets of the central limit theorem, and a head-scratching choice from the famous game show Let's Make a Deal--and you'll come away with insights each time. With the wit, accessibility, and sheer fun that turned Naked Economics into a bestseller, Wheelan defies the odds yet again by bringing another essential, formerly unglamorous discipline to life.
Probability Demystified
The perfect companion to "Statistics Demystified, " this handy self-teaching guide explains the fundamentals of probability using common devices such as coins, cards, and dice.
Understanding Probability
Understanding Probability is a unique and stimulating approach to a first course in probability. The first part of the book demystifies probability and uses many wonderful probability applications from everyday life to help the reader develop a feel for probabilities. The second part, covering a wide range of topics, teaches clearly and simply the basics of probability. This fully revised third edition has been packed with even more exercises and examples and it includes new sections on Bayesian inference, Markov chain Monte-Carlo simulation, hitting probabilities in random walks and Brownian motion, and a new chapter on continuous-time Markov chains with applications. Here you will find all the material taught in an introductory probability course. The first part of the book, with its easy-going style, can be read by anybody with a reasonable background in high school mathematics. The second part of the book requires a basic course in calculus.
Schaums Outline of Statistics, Fourth Edition
This is an up-to-the-minute guide to the principles and techniques of statistics, a discipline many students find intimidating and incomprehensible, which is yet required in multiple subject areas and many professions.
Probability: a Lively Introduction
Probability has applications in many areas of modern science, not to mention in our daily life. Its importance as a mathematical discipline cannot be overrated, and it is a fascinating and surprising topic in its own right. This engaging textbook with its easy-to-follow writing style provides a comprehensive yet concise introduction to the subject. It covers all of the standard material for undergraduate and first-year-graduate-level courses as well as many topics that are usually not found in standard texts, such as Bayesian inference, Markov chain Monte Carlo simulation, and Chernoff bounds.
Statistics for the Utterly Confused, 2nd Edition
Statistics for the Utterly Confused, Second Edition When it comes to understanding statistics, even good students can be confused. Perfect for students in any introductory non-calculus-based statistics course, and equally useful to professionals working in the world, Statistics for the Utterly Confused is your ticket to success. Statistical concepts are explained step-by-step and applied to such diverse fields as business, economics, finance, and more. The message of Statistics for the Utterly Confused is simple: you don't have to be confused anymore. Updated and expanded to give you the latest changes in the field, this up-to-the-minute edition includes many new examples of Excel output, the most widely used of all statistics programs; a new chapter on Analysis of Variance (ANOVA); and 200 additions to the 700 self-testing questions and answers. The expert author's Web site also gives you tons of fresh examples, practice problems, and strategies--so you can go from utterly confused to totally prepared in no time! Inside, you'll discover how to: Grasp the meaning of everyday statistical concepts Find out what's probable and what isn't Read, understand, and solve statistics problems Improve your scores on exams Use your skills in any field
The Britannica Guide to Statistics and Probability
In an effort to better forecast the future for gains, and combat the potential losses of uncertainty, numerous disciplines have come to rely on the power of statistics and probability. By observing patterns and repeated behaviors, mathematicians have devised calculations to significantly reduce human potential for error. This volume introduces the historical and mathematical basis of statistics and probability as well as their application to everyday situations. Readers will also meet the prominent thinkers who advanced the field and established a numerical basis for prediction.
A Philosophical Introduction to Probability
Not limited to merely mathematics, probability has a rich and controversial philosophical aspect. A Philosophical Introduction to Probability showcases lesser-known philosophical notions of probability and explores the debate over their interpretations. Galavotti traces the history of probability and its mathematical properties and then discusses various philosophical positions on probability, from the Pierre Simon de Laplace's "classical" interpretation of probability to the logical interpretation proposed by John Maynard Keynes. This book is a valuable resource for students in philosophy and mathematics and all readers interested in notions of probability.
The Probability Lifesaver
The essential lifesaver for students who want to master probability For students learning probability, its numerous applications, techniques, and methods can seem intimidating and overwhelming. That's where The Probability Lifesaver steps in. Designed to serve as a complete stand-alone introduction to the subject or as a supplement for a course, this accessible and user-friendly study guide helps students comfortably navigate probability's terrain and achieve positive results. The Probability Lifesaver is based on a successful course that Steven Miller has taught at Brown University, Mount Holyoke College, and Williams College. With a relaxed and informal style, Miller presents the math with thorough reviews of prerequisite materials, worked-out problems of varying difficulty, and proofs. He explores a topic first to build intuition, and only after that does he dive into technical details. Coverage of topics is comprehensive, and materials are repeated for reinforcement--both in the guide and on the book's website. An appendix goes over proof techniques, and video lectures of the course are available online. Students using this book should have some familiarity with algebra and precalculus. The Probability Lifesaver not only enables students to survive probability but also to achieve mastery of the subject for use in future courses. A helpful introduction to probability or a perfect supplement for a course Numerous worked-out examples Lectures based on the chapters are available free online Intuition of problems emphasized first, then technical proofs given Appendixes review proof techniques Relaxed, conversational approach