Resources & Links
- Calculus: BritannicaCalculus, branch of mathematics concerned with the calculation of instantaneous rates of change (differential calculus) and the summation of infinitely many small factors to determine some whole (integral calculus).
- Calculus 1: Kahn AcademyA complete Calculus 1 course from Khan Academy.
- What Is Calculus? Definition and Practical ApplicationsThe branch of mathematics studies rates of change.
Research & Reference
- Calculus: Credo ReferenceA Credo Reference landing page on calculus. This page includes links to reference works, journal articles, and a mind map.
Streaming Media
- Integral Calc: CalculusIntegral Calc: Calculus focuses on the harder math concepts because that’s what most people have the hardest time with, but our videos help anyone struggling with Pre-Algebra, Algebra, Geometry, Trigonometry, Calculus, and advanced math.
- The Joy of Approximating with CalculusExploiting the idea of the derivative, we can approximate just about any function using simple polynomials. This lecture also shows why a formula sometimes known as "God's equation" (involving e, i, p, 1, and 0) is true, and how to calculate square roots in your head.
- The Joy of Differential CalculusCalculus is the mathematics of change, and answers questions such as: How fast is a function growing? This lecture introduces the concepts of limits and derivatives, which allow the slope of a curve to be measured at any point.
- The Joy of Integral CalculusGeometry and trigonometry are used to determine the areas of simple figures such as triangles and circles. But how are more complex shapes measured? Calculus comes to the rescue with a technique called integration, which adds the simple areas of many tiny quantities.
Perspectives
The Cartoon Guide to Calculus
"In Gonick's work, clever design and illustration make complicated ideas or insights strikingly clear." --New York Times Book Review Larry Gonick, master cartoonist, former Harvard instructor, and creator of the New York Times bestselling, Harvey Award-winning Cartoon Guide series now does for calculus what he previously did for science and history: making a complex subject comprehensible, fascinating, and fun through witty text and light-hearted graphics. Gonick's The Cartoon Guide to Calculus is a refreshingly humorous, remarkably thorough guide to general calculus that, like his earlier Cartoon Guide to Physics and Cartoon History of the Modern World, will prove a boon to students, educators, and eager learners everywhere.
Calculus and Analytic Geometry
The tenth edition of this clear, precise calculus text with superior applications sets thestandard in calculus. The tenth edition of this proven text was carefully revised to givestudents the solid base they need to succeed in mathematics, science and engineering programs. Through a comprehensive technology package, this edition now includes more opportunity to incorporate optional, but meaningful technology into the course. *NEW- Early Transcendentals version now available. *NEW- Instructor's Edition includes suggestions for the incorporation of technology into the course. *Full, but optional integration of technology with connections between the text and a new CD-ROM and web site. *Revised P Chapter includes complete treatment of all the familiar precalculus functions, earlier treatment of inverses of familiar functions and parameter equations, and new material on modeling in calculus. *Streamlined coverage of the techniques of integration. *Thorough revisions of vector chapters in the multivariable calculus section. *More real data/numerical exercises. *CD-ROM and web site include: - Just-in-Time Online Algebra and Trigonometry. - Skill mastery/self-test area for students. - Int
Calculus DeMYSTiFieD, Second Edition
Publisher's Note: Products purchased from Third Party sellers are not guaranteed by the publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. Calculate this: learning CALCULUS just got a whole lot easier! Stumped trying to understand calculus? Calculus Demystified, Second Edition, will help you master this essential mathematical subject. Written in a step-by-step format, this practical guide begins by covering the basics--number systems, coordinates, sets, and functions. You'll move on to limits, derivatives, integrals, and indeterminate forms. Transcendental functions, methods of integration, and applications of the integral are also covered. Clear examples, concise explanations, and worked problems make it easy to understand the material, and end-of-chapter quizzes and a final exam help reinforce key concepts. It's a no-brainer! You'll get: Applications of the derivative and the integral Rules of integration Coverage of improper integrals An explanation of calculus with logarithmic and exponential functions Details on calculation of work, averages, arc length, and surface area Simple enough for a beginner, but challenging enough for an advanced student, Calculus Demystified, Second Edition, is one book you won't want to function without!
Understand Calculus
Functions -- Variations in functions; Limits -- Gradient -- Rate of change -- Differentiation -- Some rules for differentiation -- Maxima, minima, and points of inflexion -- Differentiating the trigonometric functions -- Exponential and logarithmic functions -- Hyperbolic functions -- Integration; Standard integrals -- Methods of integration -- Integration of algebraic fractions -- Area and definite integrals -- The integral as a sum; Areas -- Approximate integration -- Volumes of revolution -- Lengths of curves -- Taylor's and Maclaurin's series -- Differential equations -- Applications of differential equations.
Advanced Calculus Demystified
Publisher's Note: Products purchased from Third Party sellers are not guaranteed by the publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. Your INTEGRAL tool for mastering ADVANCED CALCULUS Interested in going further in calculus but don't where to begin? No problem! With Advanced Calculus Demystified, there's no limit to how much you will learn. Beginning with an overview of functions of multiple variables and their graphs, this book covers the fundamentals, without spending too much time on rigorous proofs. Then you will move through more complex topics including partial derivatives, multiple integrals, parameterizations, vectors, and gradients, so you'll be able to solve difficult problems with ease. And, you can test yourself at the end of every chapter for calculated proof that you're mastering this subject, which is the gateway to many exciting areas of mathematics, science, and engineering. This fast and easy guide offers: Numerous detailed examples to illustrate basic concepts Geometric interpretations of vector operations such as div, grad, and curl Coverage of key integration theorems including Green's, Stokes', and Gauss' Quizzes at the end of each chapter to reinforce learning A time-saving approach to performing better on an exam or at work Simple enough for a beginner, but challenging enough for a more advanced student, Advanced Calculus Demystified is one book you won't want to function without!
Tensor Calculus
A compact exposition of the theory of tensors, this text also illustrates the power of the tensor technique by its applications to differential geometry, elasticity, and relativity. Explores tensor algebra, the line element, covariant differentiation, geodesics and parallelism, and curvature tensor. Also covers Euclidean 3-dimensional differential geometry, Cartesian tensors and elasticity, and the theory of relativity. 1960 edition.