Hispanic American Culture
- Credo Reference-Hispanic Americans
Perhaps no other group in the United States is as diverse in culture, nationality, phenotype, tradition, political sophistication, ethos, migration trends, acculturation rate, and even language as Hispanics, or Latinos. Yet, as America's fastest-growing ethnic population—numbering 50.5 million according to the 2010 census, representing 16.3 percent of the total U.S. population—they generally share a historical experience that is wrought with patterns of societal exclusion, economic exploitation, and varying degrees of second-class citizenship. Moreover, members of various Hispanic subgroup communities, most of whom are not voluntary immigrants to the United States, are united by unique settlement histories...
National Hispanic American Heritage Month
Latino Fiesta – PNCC, October 14, 2017, By Attribution Alone https://manawatuheritage.pncc.govt.nz/item/85ef1721-ce3e-4d0e-9b40-67d68456934e
September 15 to October 15 is National Hispanic American Heritage Month
The Library of Congress, National Archives and Records Administration, National Endowment for the Humanities, National Gallery of Art, National Park Service, Smithsonian Institution and United States Holocaust Memorial Museum join in paying tribute to the generations of Hispanic Americans who have positively influenced and enriched our nation and society.
National Hispanic Heritage Month traditionally honors the cultures and contributions of both Hispanic and Latino Americans as we celebrate heritage rooted in all Latin American countries. During this month and throughout the year, the National Park Service and our partners, share history, heritage, and accomplishments of Hispanic and Latino Americans of past and present.
- National Hispanic American Heritage MonthThis Web portal is a collaborative project of the Library of Congress and the National Endowment for the Humanities, National Gallery of Art, National Park Service, Smithsonian Institution, United States Holocaust Memorial Museum and U.S. National Archives and Records Administration.
Hispanic/Latinx American Ancestry in the United States
- AtoZ Maps Online This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
AtoZ Maps Online is the world’s largest database of downloadable, royalty-free maps. This database includes more than 100,000 maps in 48 categories: world, regional, country, and state maps as well as environmental, climate, antique, and other maps.
Databases
- Hispanic / Latino HeritageOf all documents and materials created in the course of business conducted by the United States Federal government, only 1%-3% are so important for legal or historical reasons that they are kept forever. Those valuable records are preserved in the National Archives and are available to you, whether you want to see if they contain clues about your family's history, need to prove a veteran's military service, or are researching an historical topic that interests you.
- Hispanic Life in America This link opens in a new window
Hispanic Life in America provides comprehensive coverage of the Hispanic American experience from the early 18th century to the present day. This database includes sources from more than 17,000 publications, including 700 Spanish-language newspapers and periodicals.
Books
Celebrating Hispanic Heritage Month!
Hispanic Heritage Month is a holiday in the United States that celebrates Hispanic culture. It gives Latin Americans and their families a special time to remember their roots, and it is also a chance for all Americans to recognize the contributions of Latin Americans. This book goes over the history of the holiday, gives suggestions on how to connect with Hispanic culture, and highlights well-known Latinos in the United States and their achievements. Readers will love the chance to learn about the beautiful culture of Latin America in this age-appropriate and engaging book.
Living Beyond Borders
*"This superb anthology of short stories, comics, and poems is fresh, funny, and full of authentic YA voices revealing what it means to be Mexican American . . . Not to be missed."--SLC, starred review Twenty stand-alone short stories, essays, poems, and more from celebrated and award-winning authors make up this YA anthology that explores the Mexican American experience. With works by Francisco X. Stork, Guadalupe Garcia McCall, David Bowles, Ruben Degollado, e.E. Charlton-Trujillo, Diana L pez, Xavier Garza, Trinidad Gonzales, Alex Temblador, Aida Salazar, Guadalupe Ruiz-Flores, Sylvia Sanchez Garza, Dominic Carrillo, Angela Cervantes, Carolyn Dee Flores, Rene Saldana Jr., Justine Narro, Daniel Garcia Ordaz, and Anna Meriano. In this mixed-media collection of short stories, personal essays, poetry, and comics, this celebrated group of authors share the borders they have crossed, the struggles they have pushed through, and the two cultures they continue to navigate as Mexican American. Living Beyond Borders is at once an eye-opening, heart-wrenching, and hopeful love letter from the Mexican American community to today's young readers.
Latinos Unidos
Latinos Unidos presents an unexpected perspective on Latinos not only as a highly diverse and rapidly growing population in the United States with distinct social, cultural, and economic features but as a new political force with a cohesive collective ethnic identity. Indeed, Latinos in this country constitute a new political power coming to grips with their global significance. Within two decades, Latino children will constitute a majority in urban public schools around the country. By the mid-21st century, Latinos (along with African-Americans) will represent half the U.S. population.
Building the Latino Future
An inspiring collection of success stories from the country′s most prominent Latinos, Building the Latino Future offers and inspiration and advice for Latinos in any industry who want to succeed spectacularly.
Hispanic / Latino Identity
This volume provides a superb introduction to the philosophical, social, and political elements of Hispanic/Latino identity. It is an indispensable tool for anyone interested in issues that concern Hispanics/Latinos, social policy, and the history of thought and culture.
Encyclopedia of Latino Popular Culture
U.S. culture has been profoundly impacted by contributions from Mexico and the rest of Central America, South America, and the Spanish Caribbean. These contributions and their adaptations in the United States are showcased in nearly 500 essay entries on noted people, festivities, items, terms, movements, sports, food, events, places, visual and performing arts, film, institutions, fashion, literature, organizations, the media, and much more. The wide range of entries with many areas of unique coverage will meet the high demand for multidisciplinary use.
The Latino Holiday Book
Authoritative and beautifully designed, The Latino Holiday Book discusses each holiday's religious or social history, typical customs, and special foods or activities, and gives recipes or instructions for making authentic foods and crafts that represent that day's traditions.
Latino Culture
In 2003, Latinos became the largest minority group in the United States and, according to the U.S. Census Bureau, they will represent close to twenty five percent of the population by 2050. Latinos currently have the highest rate of employment of any U.S. minority, and in five years their role in the American labor force will be even more prominent. Latino Culture: A Dynamic Force in the Changing American Workplace is the first book to fully explore the nuances of Latino culture in the workplace.
Latino/a Popular Culture
Scholars from the humanities and social sciences analyze representations of Latinidad in a diversity of genres Latinos have become the largest ethnic minority group in the United States. In Latino/a Popular Culture, Habell-Pallán and Romero have brought together scholars from the humanities and social sciences to analyze representations of Latinidad in a diversity of genres--media, culture, music, film, theatre, art, and sports--that are emerging across the nation in relation to Chicanas, Chicanos, mestizos, Puerto Ricans, Caribbeans, Central Americans and South Americans, and Latinos in Canada.
General Resources for Research
More resources are available on the General Resources for Research Guide. This guide includes links to databases, SDA resources, statistical databases, streaming films, reference materials, news, and more.
Nonprofits
- Centro HispanoWe promote empowerment and civic participation through education, workforce development, youth and family engagement, and community-strengthening initiatives.
We are the leading resource for East Tennessee’s Latino community and we are the leading resource for East Tennessee regarding the Latino community. - Clinica MedicosOur mission is to make quality healthcare accessible to Chattanooga's underserved Latino community regardless of insurance status, language, pregnancy, age, or gender.
- La Paz ChattanoogaLa Paz has been serving the Latinx community in Chattanooga and the surrounding region for more than fifteen years. We build community, develop leaders, and contribute to the strengthening and development of our city by investing in its Latinx population.