Research Guides: Hispanic American Heritage: Art

Hispanic Society of America

Retrieved from https://hispanicsociety.org/

With more than 900 paintings and 6,000 watercolors and drawings, the Hispanic Society offers a comprehensive survey of Spanish painting and drawing, including masterworks by El Greco, Velázquez, Goya, and Sorolla. Similarly, the collection of sculpture contains outstanding pieces from the first millennium B.C. to the early 20th century. Magnificent examples of ceramics, glass, furniture, textiles, ironwork, and jewelry abound among the more than 6,000 objects in the Society’s varied collections of decorative arts.

Hispanic Society of America
The mission of The Hispanic Society of America is to collect, preserve, study, exhibit, stimulate appreciation for, and advance knowledge of, works directly related to the arts, literature, and history of the countries wherein Spanish and Portuguese are or have been predominant spoken languages, all in the service of the public and in accordance with the highest professional standards.
Hispanic Museum & Library Database
The Hispanic Society of America was founded in 1904 by Archer Milton Huntington (1870-1955) with the object of establishing a free, public museum and reference library for the study of the art and culture of the Spain, Portugal, Latin America, and the Philippines. The collections of the Hispanic Society are unparalleled in their scope and quality outside of Spain, addressing nearly every aspect of culture in Spain, as well as a large part of Portugal and Latin America, into the 20th century.

Books

Chicano and Chicana Art

This anthology provides an overview of the history and theory of Chicano/a art from the 1960s to the present, emphasizing the debates and vocabularies that have played key roles in its conceptualization. In Chicano and Chicana Art--which includes many of Chicano/a art's landmark and foundational texts and manifestos--artists, curators, and cultural critics trace the development of Chicano/a art from its early role in the Chicano civil rights movement to its mainstream acceptance in American art institutions.

Hispanic Art in the U.S.

Hispanic art in the United States : thirty contemporary painters & sculptors

Radical Women

This stunning reappraisal offers long overdue recognition to the enormous contribution to the field of contemporary art of women artists in Latin America and those of Latino and Chicano heritage working during a pivotal time in history. Amidst the tumult and revolution that characterized the latter half of the 20th century in Latin America and the US, women artists were staking their claim in nearly every field. This wide ranging volume examines the work of more than 100 female artists with nearly 300 works in the fields of painting, sculpture, photography, video, performance art, and other experimental media.

Cuban Artists Across the Diaspora

As an island--a geographical space with mutable and porous borders--Cuba has never been a fixed cultural, political, or geographical entity. Migration and exile have always informed the Cuban experience, and loss and displacement have figured as central preoccupations among Cuban artists and intellectuals. A major expression of this experience is the unconventional, multi-generational, itinerant, and ongoing art exhibit CAFe The Journeys of Cuban Artists.

The Architecture and Art of Early Hispanic Colorado

Winner of the Western Heritage Wrangler Award, The Architecture and Art of Early Hispanic Colorado is the first extensive survey of Hispanic building and art on the late Colorado frontier. Because most of the villages where the author found his subjects are now either abandoned or being transformed by developers, the book is likely to stand as the only full visual record of what Spanish Americans along the southern border of the state once produced.

Sentero Art Tradition

Kanopy This link opens in a new window
Kanopy is a streaming films databases offering both educational and popular titles.
Learn more about Kanopy using the resources below:
Embed/Link Videos
To embed a Kanopy video, click on the Share button. You will be given both the embed code and permalink (stable URL) You will paste that code/link within the learning management system or webpage.
Other Media Options
McKee Library boasts a large collection of physical and streaming media titles. DVDs, VHS, and select streaming films are searchable on the library's catalog. Learn more on our website.