The information and lists provided are by no means exhaustive nor meant to supplement a medical professional's advice and treatment.
Databases
- BioMed Central This link opens in a new window
BioMed Central is an STM (Science, Technology and Medicine) publisher of open-access, online, peer-reviewed journals. BMC has an evolving portfolio of some 300 peer-reviewed journals.
- MEDLINE Complete This link opens in a new window
MEDLINE Complete provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. You will find full-text coverage 5,400 journals, as well as indexing of an additional 1,700 titles.
- Natural Medicines This link opens in a new window
Natural Medicines is an authoritative resource on dietary supplements, natural medicines, and complementary, alternative, and integrative therapies. You will find over 1,100 monographs, 90,000 dietary supplement products, as well as checkers and tools, patient handouts, and reporting systems.
- PubMed This link opens in a new window
PubMed is a database accessing the MEDLINE database of citations, abstracts, and some full-text articles on life sciences and biomedical topics. PubMed® comprises more than 35 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books.
- Rehabilitation and Sports Medicine This link opens in a new window
Rehabilitation & Sports Medicine Source is an essential reference database for rehabilitation clinicians. Topics include orthopedics, physiology, nutrition, sports exercise, and physical therapy. It offers full-text sports medicine and rehabilitation journals, books, trade publications, and magazines with more than 340,000 records dating back to 1963.
Government Resources
- Cancer-World Health OrganizationCancer is a large group of diseases that can start in almost any organ or tissue of the body when abnormal cells grow uncontrollably, go beyond their usual boundaries to invade adjoining parts of the body and/or spread to other organs. The latter process is called metastasizing and is a major cause of death from cancer. A neoplasm and malignant tumour are other common names for cancer.
- Division of Cancer Treatment and DiagnosisThe Division of Cancer Treatment and Diagnosis (DCTD) focuses its activities on developing novel diagnostics and therapies for cancer. DCTD staff members, along with colleagues throughout the National Cancer Institute (NCI), academia, and industry, are working to generate a seamless pipeline of biomarkers and therapeutics that runs the gamut from initial efforts in drug discovery through late-stage clinical trials.
- Kinds of Cancer-CDCCDC provides basic information and statistics about some of the most common cancers in the United States.
- National Cancer InstituteCancer.gov is the central website for the National Cancer Institute (NCI), the U.S. government’s principal agency for cancer research. NCI is mandated by U.S. law to disseminate information about cancer and cancer research. This website serves as an important means to achieving that mission.
Support
- ACS Patient Programs and ServicesThe American Cancer Society offers programs and services to help you during and after cancer treatment. Below are some of the resources we provide. We can also help you find other free or low-cost resources available.
- Cancer Support GroupsCancer support groups are meetings for people with cancer and anyone touched by the disease. They can have many benefits. Even though a lot of people receive support from friends and family, the number one reason they join a support group is to be with others who have similar cancer experiences.
- Support for Caregivers of Cancer PatientsIf you're helping your family member or friend through cancer treatment, you are a caregiver. This may mean helping with daily activities such as going to the doctor or making meals. It could also mean coordinating services and care. Or it may be giving emotional and spiritual support.
Cancer Societies & Organizations
- American Cancer Society1 in 3 people will be diagnosed with cancer in their lifetime. If you’ve been recently diagnosed, or know someone who has, we’re here with answers, guidance, and support.
- Cancer Research InstituteImmunotherapy is the most promising cancer treatment of our time.
With your support, we can fund more breakthrough research
and more cures for cancers of all kinds. - Children's Tumor FoundationThe Children's Tumor Foundation's mission is to drive research, expand knowledge, and advance care for the NF community.
- Conquer CancerHelp create a world where cancer is prevented or cured, and every survivor is healthy.
Researchers are making amazing advances in the treatment and prevention of cancer, thanks to contributions from people like you. - Lymphoma Research FoundationThe Lymphoma Research Foundation’s mission is to eradicate lymphoma and serve those impacted by this blood cancer.
- Melanoma Research FoundationThe MRF’s mission is to eradicate melanoma by accelerating medical RESEARCH while EDUCATING to and ADVOCATING for the melanoma community.
- National Brain Tumor SocietyNational Brain Tumor Society unrelentingly invests in, mobilizes, and unites our community to discover a cure, deliver effective treatments, and advocate for patients and care partners.
- National Cervical Cancer CoalitionThe National Cervical Cancer Coalition (NCCC) was founded in 1996 as a grassroots nonprofit organization dedicated to serving women with, or at risk for, cervical cancer and HPV disease. In 2011, NCCC merged with American Sexual Health Association (ASHA), a nonprofit with a long history of educating and raising awareness on sexual health issues.
- National Comprehensive Cancer NetworkNCCN is a not-for-profit alliance of 31 leading cancer centers devoted to patient care, research, and education. NCCN is dedicated to improving and facilitating quality, effective, equitable, and accessible cancer care so all patients can live better lives.
- Oncology Nursing SocietyWe are students, clinicians, scientists, educators, and mentors working together to transform the way the world cares for cancer.
- Pancreatic Cancer Action NetworkPanCAN’s vision is to create a world in which all patients with pancreatic cancer will thrive.
- Prevent Cancer FoundationTogether, we have the potential to change the entire landscape of cancer prevention and early detection by investing...
- Susan G. Komen Breast Cancer FoundationOur mission is to save lives by meeting the most critical needs in our communities and investing in breakthrough research to prevent and cure breast cancer.