John F. Kennedy
John Fitzgerald Kennedy, known as JFK, served as the 35th president of the United States from 1961 until his assassination on November 22, 1963 in Dallas, TX. Prior to his presidency, JFK served in the Navy before becoming a congressman and senator.
Resources
- John F. Kennedy: White HouseJohn F. Kennedy was the 35th President of the United States (1961-1963), the youngest man elected to the office. On November 22, 1963, when he was hardly past his first thousand days in office, JFK was assassinated in Dallas, Texas, becoming also the youngest President to die.
- Life of John F. Kennedy: JFK LibraryBiography on the life of John F. Kennedy.
- John F. Kennedy: BritannicaJohn F. Kennedy, in full John Fitzgerald Kennedy, byname JFK, (born May 29, 1917, Brookline, Massachusetts, U.S.—died November 22, 1963, Dallas, Texas), 35th president of the United States (1961–63), who faced a number of foreign crises, especially in Cuba and Berlin, but managed to secure such achievements as the Nuclear Test-Ban Treaty and the Alliance for Progress.
Archives & Primary Sources
- Public Papers of the Presidents of the United StatesThe Public Papers of the Presidents, which is compiled and published by the Office of the Federal Register, National Archives and Records Administration (NARA), began in 1957 in response to a recommendation of the National Historical Publications Commission.
- John F. Kennedy Personal PapersThe John F. Kennedy Personal Papers collection is an artificial grouping of papers created by the Kennedy Library. This collection brings together items of a personal nature which were originated by or associated with John F. Kennedy, particularly prior to his becoming President. Some materials have been obtained from other collections in the Library or from personal and organizational donations. As additional items of a personal nature become available for research use, they will be added. The John F. Kennedy Personal Papers include materials dating from Kennedy's childhood through November 1963. For the most part, these materials are of a diverse and fragmentary nature and do not represent anything like a complete documentation of personal activities during this time span.
- JFK Assassination Records - 2018 Additional Documents ReleaseThe National Archives is releasing documents previously withheld in accordance with the JFK Assassination Records Collection Act. The vast majority of the Collection (88%) has been open in full and released to the public since the late 1990s.
American Experience - JFK
In this probing biography, American Experience presents a fresh look at an enigmatic man who remains one of the nation's most beloved and mourned leaders, John F. Kennedy. Beginning with Kennedy's childhood years as the privileged but sickly son of one of the wealthiest men in America, the film explores his early political career as a lackluster congressman, his successful run for the U.S. Senate, and the game-changing presidential campaign that made him the youngest elected president in U.S. history. With the benefit of recently opened archives, the film recounts his struggles with life-threatening illnesses, and his efforts to keep them hidden from the public.
JFK offers a new perspective on his complicated private life, including his relationship with his wife, his close connection to his younger brother, Robert, and his complex bond with his powerful father. It also reevaluates Kennedy's strengths and weaknesses in the Oval Office as he navigated some of the most explosive events of the mid-twentieth century--the disastrous failure at the Bay of Pigs, the urgent demands of an increasingly impatient civil rights movement, the Cuban Missile Crisis, and the escalating conflict in Southeast Asia.
Source: Kanopy
Perspectives
An Unfinished Life
An Unfinished Life is the first major, single-volume life of John F. Kennedy to be written by a historian in nearly four decades. Drawing upon previously unavailable material and never-before-opened archives to tell Kennedy's story.We learn for the first time just how sick Kennedy was, what medications he took and concealed from all but a few, and how severely his medical condition affected his actions as President. We learn for the first time the real story of how Bobby was selected as Attorney General. Dallek reveals exactly what Jack's father did to help his election to the presidency, and he follows previously unknown evidence to show what path JFK would have taken in the Vietnam entanglement had he survived.Dallek (LIFTS) JFK out of the gossips and back onto the world stage, showing that while he was the son of privilege, he faced great obstacles and fought on with remarkable courage. Never shying away from Kennedy's weaknesses, Dallek also brilliantly explores his strengths. The result is a portrait of a bold, brave, human Kennedy, once again a hero.
JFK: Like No Other
This film explores Kennedy's childhood years as the privileged but sickly son of one of the wealthiest men in America, his early political career as a lackluster congressman, his successful run for the U.S. Senate, and the game-changing presidential campaign that made him the youngest elected president in U.S. history.
John F. Kennedy
Half a century after his assassination, John F. Kennedy continues to evoke widespread fascination, looming large in America's historical memory. Popular portrayals often show Kennedy as a mythic, heroic figure, but these depictions can obscure the details of the president's actual achievements and challenges. Despite the short length of his time in office, during his presidency, Kennedy dealt with many of the issues that would come to define the 1960s, including the burgeoning Cold War and the growing Civil Rights movement. In John F. Kennedy: The Spirit of Cold War Liberalism, Jason K. Duncan explains Kennedy's significance as a political figure of the 20th century in U.S. and world history. Duncan contextualizes Kennedy's political career through his personal life and addresses the legacy the president left behind. In a concise narrative supplemented by primary documents, including presidential speeches and critical reviews from the left and right, Duncan builds a biography that elucidates the impact of this iconic president and the history of the 1960s.
Jack
He would be a symbol of power, grace, and tragedy-but before he was JFK, he was sickly and scrappy, troubled and charming; he was a boy called Jack. To Jack, it seemed as if his brother Joe, not quite two years older, would always triumph-in school, on the playing field, in his father's affections. Jack was the sloppy second son, the witty, disorganized dreamer who could never seem to stay well long enough to muster his talents-a risky failing in the success-driven Kennedy family. Young readers cannot help but be fascinated by this sympathetic portrait of a complex youth who, as he struggled with the pressures of father-son dynamics and the shadow of ill health, discovered within himself an intensity for living and a profoundly ironic humor.
JFK: The Day the Nation Cried
Looks back on the life of John Fitzgerald Kennedy,combining archival footage and contemporary interviews. Uses exclusive historic videotape from Dallas television station WFAA, located near the grassy knoll where Kennedy was shot. Shows events as they happened, from Kennedy's arrival in Dallas to his funeral in Washington four days later. Includes recollections from Gerald Ford, Coretta King, Tip O'Neill, Peter, Paul and Mary, Isaac Stern, Arthur Schlesinger, Jr., Ted Kennedy, and others.
JFK: A New World Order
Fifty years after his death, John F. Kennedy's life, legacy and youthful vigor continues to intrigue and enthrall an entire nation! Relive and introduce, to younger generations, the compelling story of this unforgettable leader and the inspired dynasty he left behind. Insightful and concise this 8 part documentary series covers JFK's life from barely surviving birth to the tragic events in Dallas on November 22, 1963. Remembered for his charisma, sharp mind and quick wit this series explores the early years of the WWII hero and respected Senator up through the 1960 Presidential race against Richard Nixon. From his inspirational Inauguration speech to his final days in Dallas and all points in-between, the story of the man who gave the nation a sense of pride and confidence is presented in this unforgettable collection. Journey through the pivotal moments that created one of America's most beloved, influential and controversial figures through 8 programs that commemorate the man and the myth that is - John F. Kennedy.
Source: Kanopy
JFK: John F. Kennedy: The Presidential Years
Featuring highlights of the following major speeches given by President John Fitzgerald Kennedy.
Source: Kanopy