Definition
- Credo Reference-DepressionMajor depression is a syndrome that affects 15 to 20 percent of the population. It is among the most prevalent of all psychiatric disorders. Moreover, twice as many women than men comprise the 15 to 20 percent of the population who will experience a clinically significant episode of depression at some point in their lives. Major Depressive Disorder, the diagnostic label for a clinically significant episode of depression, is characterized by at least a two-week period of persistent sad mood or a loss of interest or pleasure in daily activities, and four or more additional symptoms, such as marked changes in weight or appetite, sleep disturbance, restlessness or slowing of thoughts and movements, fatigue, feelings of guilt or worthlessness, concentration difficulties, and thoughts of suicide.
Depression
- DepressionDepression is a serious medical illness that involves the brain. It's more than just a feeling of being "down in the dumps" or "blue" for a few days. If you are one of the more than 20 million people in the United States who have depression, the feelings do not go away. They persist and interfere with your everyday life.
Web Resources
- CDC Symptoms of Depression Among AdultsDepression is characterized by the presence of feelings of sadness, emptiness, or irritability, accompanied by bodily and cognitive changes lasting at least 2 weeks that significantly affect the individual’s capacity to function (1). The eight-item Patient Health Questionnaire (PHQ–8) is a validated diagnostic and severity measure of symptoms of depressive disorders (2,3). Adults with scores of 0–4 are considered to have no or minimal symptoms of depression, while those with scores of 5–9, 10–14, or 15–24 are considered to have mild, moderate, or severe symptoms, respectively (2,3). This report examines the percentage of adults aged 18 and over with symptoms of depression in the past 2 weeks in 2019, by symptom severity and select demographic characteristics, using the PHQ–8 scale.
- MedlinePlus-DepressionDepression is a serious medical illness. It's more than just a feeling of being sad or "blue" for a few days. If you are one of the more than 19 million teens and adults in the United States who have depression, the feelings do not go away. They persist and interfere with your everyday life.
- Mental Healh.gov-DepressionDepression is a serious medical illness that involves the brain. It's more than just a feeling of being "down in the dumps" or "blue" for a few days. If you are one of the more than 20 million people in the United States who have depression, the feelings do not go away. They persist and interfere with your everyday life.
- NIMH-Depression DisordersDepression (major depressive disorder or clinical depression) is a common but serious mood disorder. It causes severe symptoms that affect how you feel, think, and handle daily activities, such as sleeping, eating, or working. To be diagnosed with depression, the symptoms must be present for at least two weeks.
- USA Facts-US Depression RateThe depression rate for the US adult population comes from the Behavioral Risk Factors Surveillance System, built by the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. Depression is defined as having a depressive disorder as determined by a medical professional, including depression, major depression, dysthymia, or minor depression.
Depression
Lost Connections
TheNew York Times bestseller from the author of Chasing the Scream, offering a radical new way of thinking about depression and anxiety. There was a mystery haunting award-winning investigative journalist Johann Hari. He was thirty-nine years old, and almost every year he had been alive, depression and anxiety had increased in Britain and across the Western world. Why? He had a very personal reason to ask this question. When he was a teenager, he had gone to his doctor and explained that he felt like pain was leaking out of him, and he couldn't control it or understand it. Some of the solutions his doctor offered had given him some relief--but he remained in deep pain. So, as an adult, he went on a forty-thousand-mile journey across the world to interview the leading experts about what causes depression and anxiety, and what solves them. He learned there is scientific evidence for nine different causes of depression and anxiety--and that this knowledge leads to a very different set of solutions: ones that offer real hope.
Depression
Use this collection of essays to help readers understand various issues relating to depression. Across three chapters, readers will evaluate the seriousness of depression, the causes, and what treatments should be used to address depression. Essays are arranged in a pro versus con format so that readers benefit from more than one intelligent opinion on each topic. This volume provides useful charts, graphs, and engaging fact boxes that provide at-a-glance information and questions that focus on vocabulary and reading comprehension. Further research is encouraged through annotated bibliographies, websites, and organizations to contact.
Depression
Pioneering in its cognitive approach to psychotherapy, this broad survey of all aspects of depression is considered definitive in its field. It includes a comprehensive review of symptomatology, biology, psychology, theories, and treatment of depression. Based on his own experimental findings, Dr. Beck has synthesized a new approach to depression that provides the rationale for the cognitive therapy of this disorder.
The International Encyclopedia of Depression
Experts from around the globe have been selected to present interdisciplinary coverage of all the essential issues related to depression, including use of medication, treatment therapies and models, symptoms of Depression, related disorders, and more. Entries are conveniently organized into subcategories in order to provide the most in-depth coverage of each subject.
Helping Students Overcome Depression and Anxiety, Second Edition
Now in a revised and expanded second edition, this bestselling guide provides expert information and clear-cut strategies for assessing and treating internalizing problems in school settings. More than 40 specific psychoeducational and psychosocial intervention techniques are detailed, with a focus on approaches that are evidence based, broadly applicable, and easy to implement. Including 26 ready-to-use worksheets, in a large-size format with permission to photocopy, the second edition has been updated throughout to ensure its currency and clinical utility. Coverage of psychiatric medications has been extensively revised with the latest developments and findings. A new chapter addresses prevention-oriented social and emotional learning curricula for the classroom. This book is in The Guilford Practical Intervention in the Schools Series, edited by T. Chris Riley-Tillman.
Depression: A Student's Perspective
- Depression: A Student's PerspectiveThis video educates students about depression in order to minimize the stigma that is associated with the medical condition. It discusses how depression impacts lives and describes its symptoms, causes and treatment options. The video also provides information about resources available at McMaster University for students who are living with depression.