Definition
- Mental HealthMental health includes our emotional, psychological, and social well-being. It affects how we think, feel, and act. It also helps determine how we handle stress, relate to others, and make choices. Mental health is important at every stage of life, from childhood and adolescence through adulthood.
Please note, this guide does address sensitive topics related to mental health and suicide which some viewers may find triggering or upsetting.
What is Mental Health?
- What is Mental Health?One in four adults experiences at least one diagnosable mental health problem in any given year. 9 out of 10 people who experience mental health problems say that they face stigma and discrimination as a result. Poor mental health in the workplace costs the UK an estimated £26billion a year.
Recognising stress and mental health problems is not easy. Employees may take time off for odd reasons, be unproductive or unhappy at work, but the hard part is doing something about it and that is where Mental Health at Work can help managers by training them to start the conversation with a common language and literacy around mental health.
Online Resources
- CDC Mental Health ResourcesMental health includes our emotional, psychological, and social well-being. It affects how we think, feel, and act. It also helps determine how we handle stress, relate to others, and make healthy choices.1 Mental health is important at every stage of life, from childhood and adolescence through adulthood.
- Department of Veteran Affairs Mental HealthVA has a variety of mental health resources, information, treatment options, and more — all accessible to Veterans, Veterans’ supporters, and the general public. Explore the pages below to learn more about a specific mental health topic or to find information specifically tailored to your needs.
- Mayo Clinic Mental HealthWhat's considered normal mental health? Patterns in thoughts, feelings and behaviors can suggest when to get help for yourself or someone you care about.
- Mental HealthMentalHealth.gov provides one-stop access to U.S. government mental health and mental health problems information.
- National Institute for Mental HealthThe National Institute of Mental Health (NIMH) is the lead federal agency for research on mental disorders.
Databases
- PsycARTICLES This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
PsycARTICLES provides full-text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology.
- PsycBOOKS This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
PsycBOOKS includes the newest scholarly and professional books published by APA including reference works from the APA Handbooks in Psychology® Series that delve deep into specific subfields within psychology. Book chapters and peer-reviewed books from recent and historical titles, with the earliest record from 1620.
- Psychology - Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
This Films on Demand collection includes over 2,400 streaming films on psychology topics.
- Psychotherapy.net Collection in Kanopy This link opens in a new window
Access the Psychotherapy.net video collection within Kanopy. You will find hundreds of therapy-related streaming films.
- PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
PsycINFO includes citations from all psychology and related disciplines. Ninety-nine percent of the covered material is peer-reviewed. You will find abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations in behavioral science and mental health.
Perspectives
Changing Minds: the Go-To Guide to Mental Health for You, Family and Friends
This compassionate and insightful guide will demystify mental health issues and help anyone concerned about themselves or loved ones. Leading psychiatrist Dr Mark Cross, from the acclaimed ABC TV series 'Changing Minds', feels strongly that everyone should have easy access to information they can trust about common mental health problems, whether for themselves or to help family or friends. The result is this empowering guide, written with Dr Catherine Hanrahan, which aims to cut through the myths and taboos about mental health and offer clear, practical help. It covers a wide range of common issues, from bipolar, anxiety, personality and eating disorders, to depression, post-traumatic stress and schizophrenia, and includes how to get help, what treatments are available and how to live successfully with a mental illness. Most importantly, it shows how carers and families can help a loved one through what can be a very challenging time. Since almost half of all Australians will experience a mental health issue at some point in their lifetime, this book is for everyone.
International Perspectives on Children and Mental Health
This unprecedented set examines the most prominent factors that harm or support healthy development in children outside the United States, from abuse and economics to social injustice and poor public policy. * Vignettes from researchers who have studied children in the most deplorable conditions * Contributions from top scholars and researchers in the field
Work and Mental Health in Social Context
Anyone who has ever had a job has probably experienced work-related stress at some point or another. For many workers, however, job-related stress is experienced every day and reaches more extreme levels. Four in ten American workers say that their jobs are "very" or "extremely" stressful. Job stress is recognized as an epidemic in the workplace, and its economic and health care costs are staggering: by some estimates over $ 1 billion per year in lost productivity, absenteeism and worker turnover, and at least that much in treating its health effects, ranging from anxiety and psychological depression to cardiovascular disease and hypertension.
A Public Health Perspective of Women's Mental Health
A Public Health Perspective of Women's Mental Health Edited by Bruce Lubotsky Levin and Marion Ann Becker nbsp; As many as one-half of all women in the U.S. will experience some form of mental illness in their lives--an especially distressing fact when health care budgets are in flux, adding to existing disparities and unmet health needs. Written from a unique multidisciplinary framework, A Public Health Perspective of Women's Mental Health addresses today's most pressing mental health challenges: effective treatment, efficient prevention, equal access, improved service delivery, and stronger public policy. Eminent clinicians, researchers, academicians, and advocates examine the effects of mental illness on women's lives and discuss the scope of clinical and service delivery issues affecting women, focusing on these major areas: Epidemiology of mental disorders in girls, female adolescents, adult women, and older women. Selected disorders of particular concern to women, including depression and postpartum depression, eating disorders, menopause, chemical dependence, and HIV/AIDS. Mental health needs of women in the workplace, rural areas, and prisons.
Statistics
- Statista This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Statista provides quantitative data on media, business, finance, politics, and a wide variety of other areas of interest or markets.. This database provides quantitative data and original source materials on thousands of statistical datapoints.
Young People and Mental Health
- Kanopy This link opens in a new windowMental health problems affect one in five of us every year, and many of these conditions first affect people during their teenage years. Anxiety disorders, depression and other forms of mental illness are highly distressing and confusing for the person who experiences them, and for their families and friends too. Thankfully, there are effective treatments, so the sooner someone seeks help and receives a diagnosis, the sooner they can be helped and get on with their lives again. This Speaking from Experience video features eight young people who share their experiences of dealing with mental health issues.