History: Search

Fourteen fully searchable databases covering American History, African American Studies, Women’s History, the Civil War, and Genealogy. History Commons, formerly Accessible Archives, provides vast quantities of primary source materials reflecting broad views across 18th and 19th-century America.

African American Experience supports research and scholarship in the field of African American Studies with a full library of works analyzing the contributions and challenges of African Americans throughout history. This database includes more than 80 scholarly articles, 8,000 primary and secondary sources, and more than 1,000 biographies.

This is a database of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. You will find full-text coverage of more than 200 journals and nearly 100 books, as well as indexing for 1,700 journals.

American Antiquarian Society (AAS) Historical Periodicals Collection documents the life of America's people from the Colonial Era through the Civil War and Reconstruction. This database provides digital access to the most comprehensive collection of American periodicals published between 1684 and 1912.

American History, 1493-1945 is a unique collection of American history documents from the earliest settlers to the mid-twentieth century. This database includes primary source documents, including images, chronologies, and documents, from 1493 to 1945.

American National Biography includes portraits of 18,700 men and women -- from all eras and walks of life -- whose lives have shaped the nation.

Black Freedom Struggle in the United States is a unique database that covers aspects related to Black Freedom in the United States, including slavery, the abolitionist movement, Civil War, Reconstruction, the Jim Crow era, and civil rights. You will find over 3,000 primary source documents focused on six different phases of African American freedom.

Britannica Original Sources proves your access to primary source documents from history, literature, science, law, politics, religion, and more. Original Sources gives you instant access to an extensive, continually increasing collection of thousands of classic, primary reference sources in 12 subject areas.

Exploring Race in Society covers important issues related to race in society today. Essays, articles, reports, and other reliable sources provide an in-depth look at the history of race and provide a critical context for learning more about topics associated with race, ethnicity, diversity, and inclusiveness.

Hispanic Life in America provides comprehensive coverage of the Hispanic American experience from the early 18th century to the present day. This database includes sources from more than 17,000 publications, including 700 Spanish-language newspapers and periodicals.

Manuscript Women's Letters and Diaries brings together 105,000 pages of the personal writings of women of the 18th, 19th, and 20th centuries, displayed as high-quality images of the original manuscripts. 

Slavery in America and the World brings together essential legal materials relating to the history of slavery in the United States and the English-speaking world. You will find hundreds of pamphlets and books written about slavery, whether defending it, attacking it, or simply analyzing it.

Territorial Papers of the United States contains the official history of every American territory before it became an American state, sourced from the National Archives of the United States. Also, this database houses a collection of Native American negotiations and treaties, official correspondence with the federal government, military records, judicial proceedings, population data, financial statistics, land records, and more.

Ancient and Medieval History Online covers prehistory through the 1500s. You will find biographies, events and topics, primary sources, timelines, maps, charts, images, and videos.

AtoZ World Culture is a collection of materials covering the climate, food and recipes, history, language, maps, money, and more of countries around the world. This database includes 121 topics for 175 countries.

Slavery in America and the World brings together essential legal materials relating to the history of slavery in the United States and the English-speaking world. You will find hundreds of pamphlets and books written about slavery, whether defending it, attacking it, or simply analyzing it.

World Politics Review is a daily, online publication and resource for foreign policy professionals and readers with a serious interest in international politics and foreign affairs.  This database contains thousands of original articles written by a network of more than 400 contributors from around the world.

Access to the Tennessee collection of Ancestry.com. This database includes books, official records, and private manuscripts on Tennessee genealogy.

The Digital Library of Tennessee provides access to rare and unique primary sources housed in libraries, archives, and museums in the state of Tennessee.  Explore photographs, letters, diaries, oral histories, maps, original art, music, material culture, and archival material that documents the cultural heritage of the state of Tennessee from the Pre-Columbian era to the present.

 Tennessee Founding and Landmark Documents database contains primary documents of Tennessee history. The series will continue with future installments of Tennessee’s recorded heritage from the 1830s to the Civil War and beyond.

TeVA provides a searchable array of historical records, photographs, documents, maps, postcards, film, audio and other original materials of enduring value. This database provides access to a variety of primary source materials related to Tennessee history.

Volunteer Voices contains digital collections of primary sources (photos, letters, diaries, oral histories, artifacts, etc.) that document the history and culture of Tennessee.  

NexisUni features more than 15,000 news, business, and legal sources, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790. You will find legal news, court decisions, and legislation.