HIST 357: Modern America: Search

African American Experience supports research and scholarship in the field of African American Studies with a full library of works analyzing the contributions and challenges of African Americans throughout history. This database includes more than 80 scholarly articles, 8,000 primary and secondary sources, and more than 1,000 biographies.

This is a database of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. You will find full-text coverage of more than 200 journals and nearly 100 books, as well as indexing for 1,700 journals.

American Antiquarian Society (AAS) Historical Periodicals Collection documents the life of America's people from the Colonial Era through the Civil War and Reconstruction. This database provides digital access to the most comprehensive collection of American periodicals published between 1684 and 1912.

American National Biography includes portraits of 18,700 men and women -- from all eras and walks of life -- whose lives have shaped the nation.

AtoZ the USA is a resource for information about the people, culture, geography, government, history, indigenous peoples, food, and symbols of the US states and the United States itself. The database covers 110 topics for each state, territory, and the District of Columbia, and 118 topics for the USA as a country. 

Britannica Original Sources proves your access to primary source documents from history, literature, science, law, politics, religion, and more. Original Sources gives you instant access to an extensive, continually increasing collection of thousands of classic, primary reference sources in 12 subject areas.

Chronicling America is an archive of newspapers from the United States. Search America's historic newspaper pages from 1789-1963 or use the U.S. Newspaper Directory to find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present including 125 newspapers from Tennessee.

Exploring Race in Society covers important issues related to race in society today. Essays, articles, reports, and other reliable sources provide an in-depth look at the history of race and provide a critical context for learning more about topics associated with race, ethnicity, diversity, and inclusiveness.

Gale OneFile: U.S. History is a collection of journals that provides balanced coverage of both current thoughts on events in U.S. history.  Updated daily, this library resource offers balanced coverage of events in U.S. history and scholarly work established in the field.

Fourteen fully searchable databases covering American History, African American Studies, Women’s History, the Civil War, and Genealogy. History Commons, formerly Accessible Archives, provides vast quantities of primary source materials reflecting broad views across 18th and 19th-century America.

History Vault provides a first-hand look at pivotal moments in history. You will find primary source materials from the University Publications of America (UPA) Collection.

Manuscript Women's Letters and Diaries brings together 105,000 pages of the personal writings of women of the 18th, 19th, and 20th centuries, displayed as high-quality images of the original manuscripts. 

Pop Culture Universe: Icons, Idols, Ideas applies an academic lens to U.S. history through the study of popular culture. You will find more than 4,200 primary sources and more than 3,700 reference articles, as well as 100 scholarly essays spanning each decade from the 1900s to today.

TeVA provides a searchable array of historical records, photographs, documents, maps, postcards, film, audio and other original materials of enduring value. This database provides access to a variety of primary source materials related to Tennessee history.

Volunteer Voices contains digital collections of primary sources (photos, letters, diaries, oral histories, artifacts, etc.) that document the history and culture of Tennessee.