African Literature Studies
This African Literature guide is a guide covering the literature from around Africa. Please note that this is an ongoing project. As such, we will add new countries to this list throughout the year.
- Literature Studies Reading ListLiterature Studies is a reading list covering literature from around the world. Please note that this is an ongoing project. As such, we will be adding new countries to this list throughout the year.
Resources
- Oxford Text ArchiveA repository of full-text literary and linguistic resources.Thousands of texts in more than 25 languages.
- Famous AuthorsA twelve part series on famous authors throughout history.
- The History of LiteratureLiterature enthusiast Jacke Wilson journeys through the history of literature, from ancient epics to contemporary classics.
- World Digital LibraryFree of charge and in multilingual format, significant primary materials from countries and cultures around the world.
Databases
- EBSCO eBooks Collection This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
EBSCO eBooks is a robust collection of electronic books covering numerous academic disciplines. This database provides a collection of over 60,000 eBooks, which may be downloaded to your computer, laptop, tablet, or smartphone.
- Fine Arts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Fine Arts is a collection that provides resources to support research in areas such as drama, music, art history, and filmmaking. You will find millions of articles on topics including drama, music, art history, and filmmaking.
- Gale Literature: LitFinder This link opens in a new window
Gale Literature: LitFinder provides access to literary works and authors throughout history and includes more than 130,000 full-text poems and 650,000+ poetry citations, as well as short stories, speeches, and plays. The database also includes secondary materials like biographies, images, and more. - Humanities Source Ultimate This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Humanities Source Ultimate offers access to key content covering literary, scholarly, and creative thought. It also includes hundreds of scholarly full-text journals cited in leading subject indexes to round out student research.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
JSTOR includes journal content, primary sources, images, and more across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.
- MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
MLA International Bibliography is a detailed bibliography of journal articles, books, and dissertations from the Modern Language Association.
Author's Works & Perspectives
Women Writing Africa
Part I: The Eighteenth and Nineteenth Centuries; Part II: The Early Twentieth Century (1900-1935); Part III: The Mid-Twentieth Century (1936-1969); Part IV: Late Twentieth Century (1970-1995); Part V: Into the Twenty-first Century (1996-2004).