Over 1500 videos. This vibrant selection of documentaries, interviews, biographies, and how-to videos spans the visual arts—from sculpture, painting, and photography to history, theory, criticism, and appreciation—with enough range to suit the needs of both basic and advanced courses.
Photo – the 12-part series from Arte France that traces the adventure of photography as an art form, from its beginnings up through the 21st century, revealing the hidden stories and trade secrets concealed in a series of photographs.
Palettes: Great Artists and Their Paintings, along with Palettes II and III – the massive 50-part series from Arte France, featuring Louvre art historian and critic Alain Jaubert’s scrutinizing take on classic works.
Making Masterpieces series – both the original A History of Painting Technique and its follow-up, A History of Painting Concepts. Twelve parts total.
Heaven on Earth: Monuments to Belief – a six-part series documenting how religions have expressed their spiritual devotion through architecture and art.
Inside the Tate Modern: A Century of Modern Art – a five-part series showing, through the works of 35 modern masters, how art evolved in the 20th century.
Soup Cans and Superstars: How Pop Art Changed the World – a BBC film that takes a fresh look at one of the most important art movements of the 20th century.
Civilizations – a nine-part PBS series that reveals the role art and creative imagination have played in forging humanity and introduces viewers to works of beauty, ingenuity, and illumination across cultures.
Documenting the Face of America: Roy Stryker and the FSA/OWI Photographers – critically acclaimed documentary on the government photography project that captured the iconic images of the Great Depression.
Citizen Loewy—How a Frenchman Designed the American Dream – program about French designer Raymond Loewy, who was a star when the American way of life was at its flamboyant capitalist peak and who styled his own destiny as a Hollywood thriller with a tragic end.
Vertical City: Ten Skyscraper Case Studies and Vertical City 2 – a 22-part series that illuminates the design and building process behind the world’s tallest towers.
Realism: The Artistic Form of the Truth and Romanticism: Imagining Freedom – multiple-award winners by Films for the Humanities & Sciences.
The Art of Germany, Art of America, Art of Russia, Art of Spain, Art of China, and Art of Scandinavia – six series spanning more than fifteen hours of programming from the BBC.
Documentaries on the life and work of prominent artists and architects throughout history, including da Vinci, Noguchi, Kahlo, Bernini, Michelangelo, van Eyck, Warhol, Gehry, Duchamp, Hockney, Matisse, Serra, Lin, Chihuly, Goya, Libeskind, Dürer, Pollock, Kandinsky, and many others.
Images: 150 Years of Photography – a six-part series of film essays that looks at various aspects of photography throughout its history.
Smart Secrets of Great Paintings – ten 30-minute programs show how a painted image echoes the spirit of its time and relates to a particular historic event.
Art & Architecture Complete provides full-text coverage of 380 periodicals and more than 220 books. In addition, this database offers cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for more than 780 academic journals, magazines, and trade publications, as well as for over 230 books. Art & Architecture Complete also provides selective coverage for 70 additional publications and an Image Collection of over 63,000 images provided by Picture Desk and others.
*More than 360 full-text periodicals
*Nearly 220 full-text books
*Cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for 790 academic journals, magazines and trade publications and more than 220 books
*A collection of over 63,000 images
(EBSCO) Drawing from distinguished museums, Art Museum Image Gallery is a database of high-quality art images and related multimedia for use in non-profit institutions. It offers detailed information about thousands of artworks from 3000 B.C. to the present and from cultures around the world.
More than 156,000 quality images
Entries from 3000 B.C. to the present
Drawings and cartoons
A digital library in the areas of art, architecture, the humanities, and social sciences.
ARTstor is a digital library of approximately 700,000 images in the areas of art, architecture, the humanities, and social sciences with a set of tools to view, present, and manage images for research and pedagogical purposes. ARTstor collections are comprised of contributions from museums, individual photographers, scholars, special collections at libraries, and photo archives.
Humanities Source Ultimate offers access to key content covering literary, scholarly and creative thought. It also includes hundreds of scholarly full-text journals cited in leading subject indexes to round out student research.
Content Includes 1,683 active full-text journals and magazines. Subjects Include Archaeology, Area studies, Art, Classical Studies, Communications, Dance, Film, Folklore, Gender studies, History, Journalism, Linguistics, Literary and social criticism, Literature, Music, Performing Arts, Philosophy, and Religion and theology.