Resources
- Positive Relationships Boost Self-Esteem, and Vice VersaDoes having close friends boost your self-esteem, or does having high self-esteem influence the quality of your friendships?
- Understanding Family DynamicsClose family relationships afford a person better health and well-being, as well as lower rates of depression and disease throughout a lifetime. But in many families, getting along isn't a given. The interaction between various members is at the core of these complicated dynamics.
- Family RelationshipsStrong families know their family strengths and those areas where they could improve. They have healthy relationships and practice positive parenting skills.
Research & Reference
- Family & Relationships: Pew Research CenterThe reasons Americans without children don’t expect to have them range from just not wanting to have kids to concerns about climate change.
- Relationships: Credo RefereneA Credo Reference landing page on relationships. This page includes links to reference works, journal articles, and a mind map.
Streaming Media
- Attraction, Love, and Lasting RelationshipsBuilding close relationships is fundamental to human life, and, therefore, central to psychology. In fact, our relationships are the single best predictor of our happiness. Let's dive into the world of love and marriage, beginning with the dynamics of attraction and ending with the secrets of a successful relationship.
- Building and Deepening RelationshipsRelationships are vital to our health and happiness. Explore the intricate world of human relationships, study the unwritten rules of social interactions, and discover how CBT can help you think through difficult situations without letting your emotions get the best of you.
- Kinship, Family, and MarriageYou likely have a concept for what "family" is, so you might be surprised to learn there is no universal concept for "family" around the world. Apply the anthropological lens to understand how and why different cultures have different ideas about how to structure a family - and what functional logic underlies these differences.
Perspectives
Sex, Dating, and Relationships
Answering questions like "How far is too far?" the authors articulate a biblical theology of dating aimed at persuading a new generation of Christians to get serious about honoring Christ with their sexuality.
Relationship Goals
#1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER * A candid, inspiring guide to finding lasting love and sustaining a healthy relationship by getting real about your goals--based on the viral, multi-million-view sermon series about dating, marriage, and sex "No matter where you are and no matter what stage of life you are in, Relationship Goals will be a game changer."--Levi Lusko NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY COSMOPOLITAN Realer than the most real conversation you've ever heard on the topic, Michael Todd's honest, heartfelt, and powerful teaching on relationships has already impacted millions of people in all seasons of life around the world. Now, in Relationship Goals, Michael tells his own story of heartache and healing, unpacks explosive truths from God's Word, and tells it to you straight to help you win at relationships in every part of your life. Where did the idea for relationships come from in the first place? Does God really care who I hang out with? Is it even possible to avoid relational train wrecks? From his plan for intentional dating in the age of social media to handling break-ups well to doing family instead of just being in a family, Michael tackles the questions we all have about relational success. As he candidly examines our most common pitfalls in relationships and the start-today ways to get past them, Michael helps you align your longings with God's awesome desires for your life. Now, that's a good relationship goal.
Social Media and Personal Relationships
This book explores how digital communication generates new intimacies and meanings of friendship in a networked society, developing a theory of mediated intimacies to explain how social media contributes to dramatic changes in our ideas about personal relationships, through themes of self, youth, families, digital dating and online social capital.
Boundaries in Marriage
Offers advice on how to establish and respect personal boundaries within a marriage, as well as deal with violations, betrayals, and intruders.
Databases
- PsycARTICLES This link opens in a new window
PsycARTICLES provides full-text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology.
- Social Work Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Social Work Abstracts provides indexing and abstracts dealing with all aspects of the social work field. You will find extensive coverage of social work and human services journals dating back to 1965.
- SocIndex + Fulltext This link opens in a new window
SocINDEX with Full Text offers comprehensive coverage of sociology, anthropology, education and social work. Included are journal articles, monographs and conference papers.
