History 407 - Islam, Christianity, and Judaism in the Mediterranean World 700 - 1900
This course research guide links to multiple research guides created by McKee Library. Each guide includes access to primary source materials, books, databases, and reference works. Additional primary source collections are available under the topical tabs.
Search the Library Catalog
OneSearch (Search for books, journals, media, etc.)
Primary Sources
- Arabic and Middle Eastern Electronic LibraryAMEEL holds approximately 350,000 pages of full text, indexed and searchable in the language of publication including Arabic and Western scripts. The full text in AMEEL was originally extracted using Optical Character Recognition software (OCR) rather than re-keying all works, resulting in accuracy rates of higher than 90%. The current version of AMEEL provides OCR data based on the images, and may be considerably less accurate.
- BEMABEMA is an online archive for collections of images and documents relating to the east Mediterranean.
- Cairo Genziah: Cambridge Digital LibraryThe Taylor-Schechter Cairo Genizah Collection at Cambridge University Library is the world's largest and most important single collection of medieval Jewish manuscripts
- Cuneiform Commentaries ProjectMesopotamian commentaries represent the world’s oldest cohesive group of hermeneutic texts. Numbering nearly 900, the earliest date to the eighth century and the latest to ca. 100 BCE. The purpose of this website is to make the corpus available both to the scholarly community and a more general audience by providing background information on the genre, a searchable catalog, as well as photos, drawings, annotated editions, and translations of individual commentary tablets. For the first time the cuneiform commentaries, currently scattered over 21 museums around the globe, will be accessible on one platform.
- Cuneiform Digital Library InitiativeBy making the form and content of cuneiform texts available online, the CDLI is opening pathways to the rich historical tradition of the ancient Middle East. In close collaboration with researchers, museums and an engaged public, the project seeks to unharness the extraordinary content of these earliest witnesses to our shared world heritage.
- Gertrude Bell ArchiveThe Gertrude Bell Papers comprise Gertrude's personal correspondence, diaries and miscellaneous items, such as Review of the Civil Administration of Mesopotamia (1920), notebooks, obituaries, lecture notes and miscellaneous reports, memoranda and cuttings. Circa. 1,600 letters and diaries covering the years 1877-1879 and 1893-1900 (with some gaps reflecting where we do not have the hard-copy diary) can be found transcribed on this website, along with c.7,000 of her archaeological and travel photographs.
- Manuscripts of the Islamic WorldManuscripts of the Islamic World offers a curated selection of extraordinary manuscripts hosted or held by Princeton University Library. The manuscripts are predominantly in Arabic, but there are also many in Persian and Ottoman Turkish.
- Medieval and Renaissance ManuscriptsThe Medieval and Renaissance Manuscripts Collection contains images of 21 unbound manuscript items and 10 bound manuscript items from the Silver Special Collections Library of the University of Vermont.
- Minasian (Caro) Collection of Persian and Arabic ManuscriptsThe Minasian Collection of Arabic and Persian manuscripts is one of the most extensive post-classical Islamic manuscript collections in the United States. The collection primarily consists of works related to the studies of theologians and scholars at centers of learning in Iran during the 17th and 18th centuries, and is especially notable for works of Shiite theology, Arabic and Persian language and literature, and Islamic science and philosophy. The digital collection includes over 320 manuscripts (almost 100,000 pages).
- Moldovan Family Holy Lan Map CollectionConsists of 94 maps dating from 1480-1797, printed in locations across Europe.
- Svoboda Diaries ProjectFrom the Diary Viewer page, you can choose to engage with a collection of Joseph Svoboda’s diaries. All together, these diaries record Joseph’s actions in Iraq between 1897 and 1899. Within each diary, you will be able to view scans of the original handwritten manuscripts and our easy-to-read digitized transcriptions.
Perspectives
Databases
- Ancient & Medieval History Online This link opens in a new window
Ancient and Medieval History Online covers prehistory through the 1500s. You will find biographies, events and topics, primary sources, timelines, maps, charts, images, and videos.
- ArtStor This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
ArtStor is a digital library in the areas of art, architecture, the humanities, and social sciences. This database includes over 700,000 images in the areas of art, architecture, the humanities, and social sciences with a set of tools to view, present, and manage images for research and pedagogical purposes.
- ATLA Religion Database/ATLASerials Plus This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
ATLA includes full-text coverage of major religion and theology journals is provided for more than 285,300 electronic articles and book reviews, from more than 150 journals selected by leading religion scholars in the United States.
- Humanities Source Ultimate This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Humanities Source Ultimate offers access to key content covering literary, scholarly, and creative thought. It also includes hundreds of scholarly full-text journals cited in leading subject indexes to round out student research.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
JSTOR includes journal content, primary sources, images, and more across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.
