HIST 380: Pirates, Captives, & Slaves: Search

Fourteen fully searchable databases covering American History, African American Studies, Women’s History, the Civil War, and Genealogy. History Commons, formerly Accessible Archives, provides vast quantities of primary source materials reflecting broad views across 18th and 19th-century America.

American Antiquarian Society (AAS) Historical Periodicals Collection documents the life of America's people from the Colonial Era through the Civil War and Reconstruction. This database provides digital access to the most comprehensive collection of American periodicals published between 1684 and 1912.

American History, 1493-1945 is a unique collection of American history documents from the earliest settlers to the mid-twentieth century. This database includes primary source documents, including images, chronologies, and documents, from 1493 to 1945.

Britannica Original Sources proves your access to primary source documents from history, literature, science, law, politics, religion, and more. Original Sources gives you instant access to an extensive, continually increasing collection of thousands of classic, primary reference sources in 12 subject areas.

History Vault provides a first-hand look at pivotal moments in history. You will find primary source materials from the University Publications of America (UPA) Collection.

JSTOR includes journal content, primary sources, images, and more across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.

Manuscript Women's Letters and Diaries brings together 105,000 pages of the personal writings of women of the 18th, 19th, and 20th centuries, displayed as high-quality images of the original manuscripts. 

Slavery in America and the World brings together essential legal materials relating to the history of slavery in the United States and the English-speaking world. You will find hundreds of pamphlets and books written about slavery, whether defending it, attacking it, or simply analyzing it.

Territorial Papers of the United States contains the official history of every American territory before it became an American state, sourced from the National Archives of the United States. Also, this database houses a collection of Native American negotiations and treaties, official correspondence with the federal government, military records, judicial proceedings, population data, financial statistics, land records, and more.

World Digital Library is an online collection of one-of-a-kind cultural materials digitized and uploaded from the archives of 32 nations. This database is in multilingual format and contains significant primary materials from countries and cultures around the world.