Reference
- Binge-eating Disorder (BED)People with binge-eating disorder (BED) often rapidly eat an unusually large amount of food and feel out of control during the binges. Unlike with anorexia or bulimia nervosa, binge eaters do not routinely throw up their food, exercise a lot, or eat only small amounts of only certain foods. Because of this, binge eaters are often overweight or obese. However. normal-weight people can also have the disorder. The Diagnostic and Statistic Manual of Mental Disorders, Fifth Edition (DSM-5, 2013) added BED as a separate diagnosis. In the previous edition, it had been classified under the more general diagnosis of Eating Disorder Not Otherwise Specified (EDNOS). In the DSM-III, such individuals would have been diagnosed as having bulimia because the diagnostic criteria were broad and did not require persons to engage in compensatory behavior (e.g., purging or exercising).
Prior to the designation of BED, persons engaging in binge eating without compensatory behaviors had received a variety of labels, including binge-eaters and compulsive overeaters. This is not to say that people with BED will not on occasion engage in purging behaviors such as compulsive exercise or vomiting, but they will not do it regularly.
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Credo Reference is an easy-to-use tool for starting research. Gather background information on your topic from hundreds of full-text encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri, quotations, and subject-specific titles, as well as 500,000+ images and audio files and over 1,000 videos.
Streaming Media
- Binge Eating and Other Eating DisordersMore than half of the people seeking help for an eating disorder fall under the category of EDNOS. Experts discuss the characteristics of Binge Eating Disorder. A young man discusses his battle with Binge Eating.
Articles
- Correlates and Predictors of Binge Eating Among Native American Women.Among a sample of Native American/American Indian women, this study explored the linear relationship of historical loss, acculturation, racism, and emotional distress to binge-eating behavior and level of obesity as determined by body mass index. Emotional distress, experiences of racism, and feelings about historical loss were significantly related to binge-eating behaviors, with emotional distress being the most significant predictor.
- Racial/Ethnic Disparities in Binge Eating: Disorder Prevalence, Symptom Presentation, and Help-Seeking Among Asian Americans and Non-Latino Whites.Asian Americans are more likely than non-Latino Whites to report binge eating, but are equally likely to meet binge eating disorder (BED) criteria. Using nationally representative data, we assessed whether differences in symptom reporting contributed to this disparity. Asian Americans were less likely than Whites to endorse BED symptoms related to distress or loss of control despite a higher prevalence of binge eating; they were also less likely to receive services for eating problems. Findings suggest cultural differences might lead to under-recognition of binge eating in Asian Americans.
- The Relationship Between Dissociation and Binge Eating.Despite research findings demonstrating a relationship between dissociation and binge eating, the psychological processes that may underlie this association remain unclear. The present study examined 2 potential explanations: (a) that dissociation disinhibits behavioral control over eating and (b) that dissociation interferes with self-awareness and undermines body image. A total of 151 female university students completed measures of dissociation, body dissatisfaction, impulsivity, internalization of the thin ideal, body comparison, and binge eating. Correlations confirmed the presence of a relationship between dissociation and binge eating, and regression analyses revealed that this relationship is limited to body-specific (somatic) symptoms of dissociation. Path analyses identified body dissatisfaction, comparison, and impulsivity as significant mediators of this relationship. However, inclusion of all 3 mediated paths in a full model revealed that only body dissatisfaction is a unique mediator. The relevance of somatic symptoms, and the unique contribution of body dissatisfaction as a mediator, are consistent with an explanation of the relationship between dissociation and binge eating that is based on a vulnerability of body image. The results emphasize the need for future research to consider the relation of dissociation to a broader range of disordered eating symptoms than simply binge eating.
Perspectives
A Clinician's Guide to Binge Eating Disorder
Incidence of BED appears to be on the increase. Treating it, and overcoming it, is all the more difficult, especially for those living in a culture that has an intense body image focus. A Clinician's Guide to Binge Eating Disorder educates the reader about its triggers and behaviours - and describes steps to treat it and resume a full and productive life. Evidence-based research outcomes provide the framework and foundation for this book. First-person case studies bring application of this science to life to help close the gap between research and treatment/care, and the importance of clinicians developing a therapeutic relationship as a healing tool with their client is discussed, recognizing that medical and psychological dimensions are inextricably intertwined. This book allays fear of the unknown, explains the emotional chaos that can sweep in like a storm when, unintentionally, triggers are released. It provides practical steps and footholds for clinicians and researchers to help the patient take control of their life and look to a positive future.
Overcoming Binge Eating, Second Edition
This trusted bestseller provides all the information needed to understand binge eating and bring it under control, whether you are working with a therapist or on your own. Clear, step-by-step guidelines show you how to: *Overcome the urge to binge. *Gain control over what and when you eat. *Break free of strict dieting and other habits that may contribute to binges. *Establish stable, healthy eating patterns. *Improve your body image and reduce the risk of relapse. This fully updated second edition incorporates important advances in the understanding and treatment of eating disorders. It features expanded coverage of body image issues and enhanced strategies for achieving--and maintaining--a transformed relationship with food and your body. Association for Behavioral and Cognitive Therapies (ABCT) Self-Help Book of Merit. Included in the UK National Health Service Bibliotherapy Program.
Overcoming Binge Eating for Dummies
Control binge eating and get on the path to recovery Overcoming Binge Eating for Dummies provides trusted information, resources, tools, and activities to help you and your loved ones understand your binge eating -- and gain control over it. Written with compassion and authority, it uses stories and examples from the authors' work with clients they've helped to overcome this complicated disorder. In Overcoming Binge Eating For Dummies, you'll find information and insight on identifying the symptoms of binge eating disorder, overcoming eating as an addiction, ways to overcome the urge to binge, how to institute a healthy eating pattern, ways to deal with anxiety and emotional eating, and much more. Provides professional resources for seeking additional help for binge eating Includes advice on talking with loved ones about binge eating Offers tips and guidance to establish a safe and healthy recovery plan Overcoming Binge Eating For Dummies is for those currently suffering or recovering from BED, as well as families and friends looking for a comprehensive and expert resource to this widespread but largely misunderstood disorder.