Northern Renaissance
-
About the Northern Renaissance: Sotheby'sShortly before his death in 1528, Albrecht Dürer wrote: “I hold that the perfection of form and beauty is contained in the sum of all men.” In this spirit, the artists of Germany and the Netherlands – and later, France, England and beyond – adopted and adapted the humanist ideals of classical antiquity that had been “reborn” in Italy during the previous century.
-
Exploring the Major Contributions of the Lesser-Known ‘Northern Renaissance’In the 15th century, artistic tastes throughout Europe started to shift. This change resulted in a period known as the Renaissance, a 300-year “golden age” of enlightenment.
-
An Introduction to the Northern Renaissance in the Fifteenth Century: Khan AcademyKhan Academic introduction to the Northern Renaissance.
-
An Introduction to the Northern Renaissance in the Fifteenth Century: Smart HistoryAn introduction to the Northern Renaissance from Smart History.
Research & Reference
-
Northern Renaissance: Credo ReferenceA Credo Reference landing page on the Northern Renaissance. This page includes links to reference works, journal articles, and a mind map.
Streaming Media
-
Northern Renaissance - Devil in the DetailsFlanders and Germany also witnessed an explosion of art in the 15th and early 16th centuries. Define the stylistics of great Northern Renaissance oil painting, such as the use of cool light, richness of detail, and the depiction of fabric. Conclude by charting the development of the historical "canon" of universally recognized artworks.
-
Northern Renaissance Art and MusicUsing works by Matthias Grünewald, Jan van Eyck, Pieter Brueghel the Elder, Hans Holbein the Younger, and others, explore how northern artists breathed artistic life into themes of faith, duty, and fidelity. Then, visit the court of the dukes of Burgundy for a look at the music of Guillaume Dufay.
Perspectives
The Grove Encyclopedia of Northern Renaissance Art
The Grove Encyclopedia of Northern Renaissance Art deals with all aspects of Northern Renaissance art ranging from artists, architecture, and patrons to the cities and centers of production vital to the flourishing of art in this period. This encyclopedia draws upon the unsurpassed scholarshipon the Renaissance in Northern Europe in The Dictionary of Art in addition to dozens of new entries. Comprehensive and engaging, this resource is an accessible reference for students, researchers and scholars researching in this important area.The volumes cover all subject areas in Northern Renaissance art including: biographies of artists, artisans, architects, craftsmen, philosophers, rulers, archaeologists, and historians; countries, cities and centers of production; art forms and architectural monuments and styles; theory, criticism,historiography, collecting, patronage and more. It addresses people and subjects specific to all areas of Northern, Central, and Eastern Europe, including, for example, the diverse geographical regions that now encompass the modern nations of Germany, Austria, France, England, the Netherlands,Belgium, Scandinavia, Poland, and Russia. The Grove Encyclopedia of Northern Renaissance Art provides unparalleled scope and depth in this field, which has inspired and informed Western art for centuries. It offers fully updated articles and bibliography as well as more than 500 illustrations, maps,drawings, diagrams and color plates.
History of Italian Renaissance Art
For survey courses in Italian Renaissance art. A broad survey of art and architecture in Italy between c. 1250 and 1600, this book approaches the works from the point of view of the artist as individual creator and as an expression of the city within which the artist was working. History of Italian Renaissance Art, Seventh Edition, brings you an updated understanding of this pivotal period as it incorporates new research and current art historical thinking, while also maintaining the integrity of the story that Frederick Hartt first told so enthusiastically many years ago. Choosing to retain Frederick Hartt's traditional framework, David Wilkins' incisive revisions keep the book fresh and up-to-date.
Cranach
Lucas Cranach:The Other Renaissance provides a new critical approach To The works of German Renaissance painter Lucas Cranach the Elder, and compares the his work with that of Italian Renaissance artists such as Bartolomeo Veneto, Francesco Francia, Peru
Bosch
Hieronymus Bosch (c.1450-1516), one of the major artists of the Northern Renaissance, had a seemingly inexhaustible imagination. Known as the creator of disturbing demons and spectacular hellscapes, he also painted the Garden of Earthly Delights, where gleeful naked youths feast on giant strawberries. Little is known of Bosch's life and his art has remained enigmatic, variously interpreted as the hallucinations of a madman or the secret language of a heretical sect. The Surrealists claimed Bosch as a predecessor, seeing in his work the imagery of dream, fantasy and the subconscious. Laurinda Dixon argues, however, that to understand and appreciate the art of Bosch, we must return to the era in which he lived. Dixon presents Bosch as an artist of his times, knowledgeable about the latest techniques of painting, active in the religious life of his community and conversant with the scientific developments of his day. She draws on popular culture, religious texts and contemporary medicine, astrology, astronomy and alchemy - now discounted but then of interest to serious thinkers - in order to investigate the underlying meaning of Bosch's art.
The History of the Renaissance World
A lively and fascinating narrative history about the birth of the modern world. Beginning in the heady days just after the First Crusade, this volume--the third in the series that began with The History of the Ancient World and The History of the Medieval World--chronicles the contradictions of a world in transition. Popes continue to preach crusade, but the hope of a Christian empire comes to a bloody end at the walls of Constantinople. Aristotelian logic and Greek rationality blossom while the Inquisition gathers strength. As kings and emperors continue to insist on their divine rights, ordinary people all over the world seize power: the lingayats of India, the Jacquerie of France, the Red Turbans of China, and the peasants of England. New threats appear, as the Ottomans emerge from a tiny Turkish village and the Mongols ride out of the East to set the world on fire. New currencies are forged, new weapons invented, and world-changing catastrophes alter the landscape: the Little Ice Age and the Great Famine kill millions; the Black Death, millions more. In the chaos of these epoch-making events, our own world begins to take shape. Impressively researched and brilliantly told, The History of the Renaissance World offers not just the names, dates, and facts but the memorable characters who illuminate the years between 1100 and 1453--years that marked a sea change in mankind's perception of the world.