Impressionism
- About Impressionism: Sotheby'sImpressionism describes a style of painting developed in France during the mid-to-late 19th century; characterizations of the style include small, visible brushstrokes that offer the bare impression of form, unblended color and an emphasis on the accurate depiction of natural light.
- Guide to ImpressionismFind out how a radical breakaway movement became one of the most popular styles in modern art.
- Impressionism: Art and ModernityIn 1874, a group of artists called the Anonymous Society of Painters, Sculptors, Printmakers, etc. organized an exhibition in Paris that launched the movement called Impressionism.
- Impressionism: TateImpressionism developed in France in the nineteenth century and is based on the practice of painting out of doors and spontaneously ‘on the spot’ rather than in a studio from sketches. Main impressionist subjects were landscapes and scenes of everyday life.
Research & Reference
- Impressionism: Credo ReferenceA Credo Reference landing page on impressionism. This page includes links to reference works, journal articles, and a mind map.
Streaming Media
- Exhibition on Screen: The Artist's Garden, American ImpressionismTaking its lead from French artists like Renoir and Monet, the American impressionist movement followed its own path which over a forty-year period reveals as much about America as a nation as it does about its art as a creative power-house. It’s a story closely tied to a love of gardens and a desire to preserve nature in a rapidly urbanizing nation. Travelling to studios, gardens and iconic locations throughout the United States, UK and France, this mesmerising film is a feast for the eyes.
- The Final Flourish: The Impressionists—Painting and RevolutionStarting with the last exhibition the Impressionists organized as a group, this program examines the late years of the movement. British critic Waldemar Januszczak looks in depth at the work of Georges Seurat, taking into consideration Seurat’s academic training at the Beaux-Arts School in Paris and the artists that influenced him, such as Piero della Francesca and Puvis de Chavannes. Meanwhile, Januszczak studies the fascinating intersection between optics and art and the ways in which the Impressionists used new discoveries about light and vision in their work. Van Gogh’s time in Paris is also covered, especially regarding his transition from somber-hued social commentary to the dazzling palette he adopted on the cusp of his departure for the south of France. Then, coming in a sense full circle, the film finishes by revisiting Monet and his late water lily cycle—a lingering, masterful swan song produced despite the artist’s near blindness. A part of the series The Impressionists: Painting and Revolution.
- Water Lilies of Monet: The Magic of Water and LightA journey through the masterpieces and obsessions of the Genius of the Impressionism. With the invaluable contribution of Ross King, author of the best seller Mad Enchantment.
Perspectives
Impressionism
This monograph covers the full scope of Impressionist painting. It outlines the history of Impressionism in France, addressing not only the work of the acknowledged masters, but also that of such unjustly neglected artists as Fr#65533;d#65533;ric Bazille, Gustave Caillebotte, Berthe Morisot or Lucien Pissarro. The monograph also examines the Impressionist movements that emerged in the Netherlands, Belgium, Germany, Scandinavia, Eastern and South-East Europe, Italy, Spain, Britain and North America. A 64-page "Directory of Impressionism" is appended, containing bibliographies, portraits and biographical data on all 236 artists.
Masters of Light
Americans were introduced to Impressionism by the French in the 1880s. They explored its expressive potential and debated its merits in the 1890s, and by the turn of the 20th century, American painters had seized the style for their own. Included here are thirty superb examples of American Impressionist painting by the seminal artists who redefined the movement for American audiences, including Frank W. Benson, Mary Cassatt, William Merritt Chase, Childe Hassam, John Singer Sargent, John Henry Twachtman, and others. Featuring contributions by some of the clearest voices and leading authorities on American Impressionism, Masters of Light brings into the spotlight brilliant and rarely seen paintings while illuminating their place in the larger currents of American art history. An essay by Kevin Sharp, "The Americanization of Impressionism," examines the unintentional circumstances and deliberate efforts that transformed Impressionism from an expression of the French vanguard into an international style, and eventually, into a peculiarly American enterprise. Long recognized as the premier private holding of nineteenth- and early twentieth-century American paintings in the world, the Manoogian Collection runs especially broad and deep in the area of American Impressionism, and includes many of the essential works produced by the painters who would become the "Masters of Light."
The Impressionists The Other French Revolution.
"Tells the story of the first truly modern artistic movement, focusing on five of its most important practitioners, Renoir, Monet, Degas, Pissarro, and Morisot. Their determination to remain true to their convictions--and the price they paid as a result--is vididly captured in their own words, taken from letters and diaries, while the world's foremost authorities offer fascinating insights into their lives and work"--Container.
Women Impressionists
"This book is a comprehensive introduction to the works of four women Impressionists: Berthe Morisot, a key protagonist of the Impressionist movement; Mary Cassatt, who had her own special role to play in the movement and was held in high esteem by fellow painter Edgar Degas; Eva Gonzales, a gifted artist and Edouard Manet's only student; and Marie Bracquemond, who abandoned painting in the interests of marital harmony." "This superbly illustrated book also contains essays by a number of writers, who besides providing a knowledgeable introduction to these four women painters, also succeed in conveying to us the context in which they worked."--BOOK JACKET.
Impressionism
Also joining the Dorling Kindersley Eyewitness Books line will be eight science titles and four art titles, Earth, Energy, Electricity, Electronics, Time & Space, Evolution, Medicine, Ecology, Renaissance, Impressionism, Watercolor, and Perspective. As the seasons pass, Dorling Kindersley is proud to offer an ever-increasing number of these well-respected and popular books. Add to your collection of the series that changed non-fiction forever.Copyright © Libri GmbH. All rights reserved.