Databases are Expensive!
McKee Library subscribes to numerous databases to provide our student, faculty, and staff researchers the high-quality content needed for academic study and research. While these databases are important, they come with a large price tag.
For example, Academic Search Ultimate, the library's largest multidisciplinary database, costs roughly $33,294 for a year. That is more than purchasing a small car!
Accessing open access database provides researchers with a free way to research and study.
What is an Open Access Journal? | Academic Publishing
On this episode of Navigating Academia, Dr. Singh takes a deep dive into open access journals. You will learn the 3 key differences in open access vs traditional academic journals, and the pros and cons of publishing your article in one.
Source: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=b0GKk0K34_Y
Open Access Databases
- BioMed Central This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
BioMed Central is an STM (Science, Technology and Medicine) publisher of open-access, online, peer-reviewed journals. BMC has an evolving portfolio of some 300 peer-reviewed journals.
- Black Freedom Struggle in the United States This link opens in a new window
Black Freedom Struggle in the United States is a unique database that covers aspects related to Black Freedom in the United States, including slavery, the abolitionist movement, Civil War, Reconstruction, the Jim Crow era, and civil rights. You will find over 3,000 primary source documents focused on six different phases of African American freedom.
- Digital Commons Network This link opens in a new window
The Digital Commons Network is an open-access database featuring works from institutional repositories for numerous academic disciplines. Full-text-only scholarship provides open access to peer-reviewed journal articles, book chapters, dissertations, working papers, conference proceedings, and other original scholarly work.
- Open Dissertations This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Open Dissertations includes the content from American Doctoral Dissertations. This database contains records for more than 1.2 million electronic theses and dissertations from around the world, from 1955 to date.
- PLOS ONE This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
An open-access and peer-reviewed collection of articles from the Public Library of Science (PLoS). PLOS ONE features reports of original research from all disciplines within science and medicine.
