Open Access: Images

22M+ public domain images. No attribution required.

Search through thousands of royalty free images on Pexels. You can use all images for free, even for commercial use. All images are completely royalty free and licensed under the Pexels license. Use them for any project you want. This includes blogs, websites, apps, art or other commercial use cases.

Over 2.7 million+ high quality stock images, videos and music shared by our talented community.

230,981 open access stock photos, vectors, and illustrations are available royalty-free.

The internet’s source for visuals. Powered by creators everywhere.

More than 200,000 images available from the university’s collections of 250,000 objects.

In response to libraries and archives being closed during the lockdowns in 2020 the IHR launched this page to steer researchers to freely accessible online research resources. We continue to update the page as part of our remit to help researchers nationally and internationally. We're also asking you for additional recommendations to make this resource as useful as possible.

180,000 items, free to share and reuse from the New York Public Library.

320,000 images from 14 Parisian institutions, including the Petit Palais and the Catacombs.

Around 15,000 works have been photographed from the Statens Museum for Kunst, with all public domain images free to download and use.

Thousands of archival images from the science collections at the museum and library.

The Art Institute of Chicago is pleased to offer free, unrestricted use of over 50,000 images of works in the collection believed to be in the public domain or to which the museum otherwise waives any copyright it might have. Such images are made available under Creative Commons Zero (CC0) designation and the Terms and Conditions of this website.

As the first art museum in Austria, the Belvedere is committed to an Open Content Policy for images of art works no longer protected by copyright. These images are made available in print quality and free of charge via the Belvedere Website. The possibility to download high-quality images is intended to increase the collection’s international visibility and to facilitate scholarly publishing.

As of January 23, 2019, the Cleveland Museum of Art is an Open Access institution, using the Creative Commons Zero (CC0) designation for high-resolution images and data related to its collection. This means the public now has the ability to share, collaborate, remix, and reuse images of public-domain artworks from the CMA’s world-renowned collection—all without asking permission.

Making images from Getty’s collections freely available for study, teaching, and enjoyment.

The full collection of more than 800 works, mainly by Dutch and Flemish masters

Search the entire National Gallery of Art collection by artist's last name, key words in the title, key words in object information, credit line, provenance name, accession number, exhibition history, and/or catalogue raisonné.

Data about The Met collection, including over 492,000 images of public-domain artworks, available for free and unrestricted use.

The National Gallery of Art has an open access policy for images of works of art in our permanent collection which the Gallery believes to be in the public domain. Images of these works are available for download free of charge for any use, whether commercial or non-commercial.

More than 10,000 works from the Bavarian State Paintings Collections.

Welcome to Smithsonian Open Access, where you can download, share, and reuse millions of the Smithsonian’s images—right now, without asking.

Full access to out-of-copyright works. Collection includes numerous Munich-based painters of the 19th and early 20th centuries.