The following materials are open educational resources for biology. These selections are recommended in addition to using the materials available via Faculty Select and the open educational resources in this guide.
EBSCO Faculty Select empowers academic libraries to directly support textbook affordability efforts. Records are gathered from BC Open Textbook Project, EBSCO eBook Open Access Collection, LibreTexts, Milne Open Textbooks, OAPEN, OpenStax, and Pressbooks Directory.
Biology 2e is designed to cover the scope and sequence requirements of a typical two-semester biology course for science majors. The text provides comprehensive coverage of foundational research and core biology concepts through an evolutionary lens. Biology includes rich features that engage students in scientific inquiry, highlight careers in the biological sciences, and offer everyday applications.
Openly Available Sources Integrated Search (OASIS) is a search tool that aims to make the discovery of open content easier. OASIS currently searches open content from 114 different sources and contains 440,452 records.
TED is a nonprofit devoted to spreading ideas, usually in the form of short, powerful talks (18 minutes or less). TED began in 1984 as a conference where Technology, Entertainment and Design converged, and today covers almost all topics — from science to business to global issues — in more than 100 languages. Meanwhile, independently run TEDx events help share ideas in communities around the world.
arXiv is a free distribution service and an open-access archive for 2,074,535 scholarly articles in the fields of physics, mathematics, computer science, quantitative biology, quantitative finance, statistics, electrical engineering and systems science, and economics. Materials on this site are not peer-reviewed by arXiv.
The MERLOT system provides access to curated online learning and support materials and content creation tools, led by an international community of educators, learners and researchers.
OER Commons is a public digital library of open educational resources. Explore, create, and collaborate with educators around the world to improve curriculum.
Take free online biology courses and lessons in genetics, biotechnology, biochemistry, neurobiology and other disciplines. Courses include Fundamentals of Neuroscience from Harvard University, Molecular Biology from MIT and an Introduction to Bioethics from Georgetown.
Learn biology to explore the creation and evolution of life. Discover the wonders of human life with short courses to suit a range of experience levels.
The MERLOT system provides access to curated online learning and support materials and content creation tools, led by an international community of educators, learners and researchers.