Watergate, Nixon, & Carl Bernstein
Fifty years ago, Carl Bernstein and Bob Woodward broke the Watergate story for The Washington Post, leading to the resignation of President Richard Nixon. Their work set the standard for modern investigative reporting and illustrates why truth telling matters.
Bernstein will present at Southern Adventist University on December 1 at 7 p.m. in Iles P.E. Center for a riveting conversation between Bernstein and local television host Alison Lebovitz as they explore “Why Truth Still Matters.”
The information on this guide provides additional information on Watergate, including resources on Carl Bernstein, the Nixon presidency, and the legacy of the scandal.
Reading List
- Carl Bernstein, Watergate, & Why Truth Still MattersA McKee Library reading list covering materials on Carl Bernstein and the Watergate scandal.
Streaming Media
- Dick Cavett's WatergateThe documentary, featuring interviews from “The Dick Cavett Show” library — many not seen since the 70s — and new interviews with Carl Bernstein (Pulitzer Prize-winning journalist), John Dean (former White House counsel), Timothy Naftali (Watergate historian) and Bob Woodward (Pulitzer Prize-winning journalist), premieres Friday, August 8, 2014, 9:00-10:00 p.m. ET (check local listings) on PBS — exactly 40 years to the hour since President Nixon appeared on television to announce his resignation, which would officially take effect the next day, August 9, 1974.
- Nixon and WatergateBy the standards of his later Republican successors, President Richard Nixon was a center or even liberal Republican. Nixon won easily in 1972 against George McGovern, but was ruined by revelations over the next two years that he had known of a break-in of McGovern's campaign headquarters and had tried to orchestrate a cover-up. He resigned in disgrace in 1974.
- Watergate, Nixon, and the Family JewelsUsing recently released government records, unpack the domestic CIA operations of the Nixon era and discover a systemic culture of secret government overreach with the CIA at the center. Topics include the program known as MH-CHAOS, the CIA’s contributions to Watergate, and journalist Seymour Hersh’s 1974 expose of CIA domestic intelligence operations.
- Watergate and the Special ProsecutorThe names of the Watergate burglars are mostly forgotten - but the consequences of their arrest brought down President Richard Nixon. Topics in this lecture include two important Supreme Court cases that shaped a president's power to dismiss personnel, as well as the Independent Counsel Act, which established a truly independent form of investigative authority.
Perspectives
Databases
- America: History and Life This link opens in a new window
This is a database of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. You will find full-text coverage of more than 200 journals and nearly 100 books, as well as indexing for 1,700 journals.
- Political Science Complete This link opens in a new window
Political Science Complete (PSC) provides access to scholarly works in the field of political science. Access full text for more than 520 journals, and indexing and abstracts for over 2,900 titles, including top-ranked scholarly journals.
