What is Data?
Data is the raw information that is analyzed to create statistics, or interpreted data. Data can be numerical, or qualitative (interviews, opinion data, etc). Researchers can locate data such as databases, indexes, and compendia.
Databases
- Statista This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Statista provides quantitative data on media, business, finance, politics, and a wide variety of other areas of interest or markets.. This database provides quantitative data and original source materials on thousands of statistical datapoints.
- Social Explorer This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Gain deep insights into any location of interest through thousands of data variables and stunning visualizations. Explore hundreds of thousands of built-in data indicators related to demography, economy, health, politics, environment, crime, and more. Easily add your own data for further impact.
Tutorials & Videos
- Evaluating StatisticsA tutorial on how to evaluate statistics.
- Introduction to Using Health Data and StatisticsA comprehensive tutorial covering using health data and statistics in research.
- Resources for Health StatisticsA tutorial addressing a variety of resources for locating health statistics.
- Using Quantitative DataA video tutorial address how to use quantitative data.
Data Sources
- Data.govHere you will find data, tools, and resources to conduct research, develop web and mobile applications, design data visualizations, and more.
- DataCiteDataCite is a leading global non-profit organisation that provides persistent identifiers (DOIs) for research data and other research outputs.
- Harvard DataverseHarvard Dataverse is a repository for research data.
- The Journal of Open Psychology Data (JOPD)The Journal of Open Psychology Data (JOPD) publishes peer-reviewed data papers describing psychology datasets with high reuse potential. Data papers may describe datasets from unpublished work or from papers published previously in a traditional journal.
- Kids Count Data CenterKIDS COUNT® is a project of the Annie E. Casey Foundation and a premier source of data on children and families. Each year, the Foundation produces a comprehensive report — the KIDS COUNT Data Book — that assesses child well-being in the United States. The indicators featured in the Data Book are also available in the Data Center.
- openICPSRFind and share social, behavioral, and health sciences research data.
- Pew Research CenterPew Research Center is a nonpartisan fact tank that informs the public about the issues, attitudes and trends shaping the world. We conduct public opinion polling, demographic research, content analysis and other data-driven social science research.
- re3dataRe3data is a global registry of research data repositories that covers research data repositories from different academic disciplines. It includes repositories that enable permanent storage of and access to data sets to researchers, funding bodies, publishers, and scholarly institutions. re3data promotes a culture of sharing, increased access and better visibility of research data.
- United Nations StatisticsThe United Nations Statistics Division is committed to the advancement of the global statistical system. We compile and disseminate global statistical information, develop standards and norms for statistical activities, and support countries' efforts to strengthen their national statistical systems.
- United States Census DataLearn about America’s people, places, and economy.
- World Bank Open DataFree and open access to global development data.