Philosophy
This guide is designed to support your exploration and study of philosophy and worldviews, offering a comprehensive range of resources to deepen your understanding of the fundamental questions about existence, knowledge, values, reason, and reality. Philosophy encourages critical thinking and helps us examine the diverse perspectives that shape human thought and culture.
Whether you're researching classical philosophical texts, contemporary theories, or the wide spectrum of global worldviews, this guide provides access to books, articles, databases, and other valuable resources. Explore the various sections to find materials that will aid your research, inspire new ideas, and enhance your academic journey.
- Philosophers and WorldViewsA recommended reading list on topics of philosophy and worldview.
- Philosophy Journals at McKee LibraryBrowse a list of philosophy journals available at McKee Library.
Research and Reference
- Internet Encyclopedia of PhilosophyThe Internet Encyclopedia of Philosophy (IEP) (ISSN 2161-0002) was founded in 1995 as a non-profit organization to provide open access to detailed, scholarly information on key topics and philosophers in all areas of philosophy.
- PhilPapers: Online Research in PhilosophyPhilPapers is a comprehensive index and bibliography of philosophy maintained by the community of philosophers. Using advanced trawling techniques and large scale crowdsourcing, we monitor all sources of research content in philosophy, including journals, books, open access archives, and personal pages maintained by academics. We also host the largest open access archive in philosophy.
- Stanford Encyclopedia of PhilosophyThe Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy organizes scholars from around the world in philosophy and related disciplines to create and maintain an up-to-date reference work.
Databases
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Credo Reference is an easy-to-use tool for starting research. Gather background information on your topic from hundreds of full-text encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri, quotations, and subject-specific titles, as well as 500,000+ images and audio files and over 1,000 videos.
- ATLA Religion Database/ATLASerials Plus This link opens in a new window
ATLA includes full-text coverage of major religion and theology journals is provided for more than 285,300 electronic articles and book reviews, from more than 150 journals selected by leading religion scholars in the United States.
- Religion & Philosophy Collection This link opens in a new window
The Religion & Philosophy Collection is a database that highlights resources in the fields of religion, philosophy, archaeology, and anthropology, and covers the impact of religion on culture. Access articles from more than 250 magazines and journals.
Perspectives
A History of Western Philosophy
Plato. Aristotle. Augustine. Hume. Kant. Hegel.These names and the philosophies associated with them ring through the minds of every student and scholar of philosophy. And in their search for knowledge, every student of philosophy needs to know the history of the philosophical discourse such giants have bequeathed us.Noted philosopher C. Stephen Evans brings his expertise to this daunting task as he surveys the history of Western philosophy, from the Pre-Socratics to Nietzsche and postmodernism--and every major figure and movement in between.
The Cambridge Dictionary of Philosophy
Contains comprehensive entries on major philosophers (e.g. Aristotle, Henry More) including pre-eminent contemporary philosophers (e.g. Nussbaum). Extensively covers rapidly developing fields such as the philosophy of mind and applied ethics. International in scope with entries on non-Western and non-European philosophy, including African, Arabic, Islamic, Japanese, Jewish, Korean and Latin-American philosophy and broad coverage of Continental philosophy.