Resources & Examples
- Literature Review FactsheetFactsheet provided by the University of New England
- Literature Reviews: The Writing Center at UNC Chapel HillThis handout will explain what literature reviews are and offer insights into the form and construction of literature reviews in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.
- Purdue OWL: Literature ReviewsThe resources available in this section provide the user with the materials that they would need to hold a writing workshop for graduate students. While these resources do not target a particular kind of writing (e.g., writing for courses, writing for publication, or writing thesis and dissertations), it does provide the needed structure act as a sort of graduate student writing workshop-in-a-box.
Books
Conducting Research Literature Reviews by
The Third Edition of Conducting Literature Reviews: From the Internet to Paper provides readers with an accessible but in-depth look at how to synthesize research literature. Bestselling author Arlene Fink shows researchers how to justify the need for and significance of research, and explain a studyâe(tm)s findings. Key Updates to the Third Edition Presents nearly a hundred new online examples and references from the social, behavioral, and health sciences Offers a revised and updated list of online articles databases Includes case studies in the use of major online databases Expands the exercises at the end of the chapter to include more online searching Clarifies some of the basic concepts of research that are essential in making judgments about the quality of research methods Incorporates more examples and clearer explanations of the differences between research design validity (internal and external) and measurement validity Introduces the major formal systems for evaluating the literatureâe(tm)s methodological quality Provides more qualitative research examples and information on how to evaluate their quality Illustrates in greater detail how to write up reviews and how others have done it Contains nearly 100 Power Point Slides linked to each of the five chapters available at www.sagepub.com/fink3einstr qualified instructors who adopt the book The text also discusses the use of Boolean operators for simple and advanced searches, tells readers how to use bibliographic software to organize literature reviews and search "The Virtual File Cabinet.âe Intended Audience This text is for graduate students in the social science, health, educational, and business fields. It is also appropriate for anyone who design and manage public and private agencies, conduct research studies, and/or prepare strategic plans and grant proposals.
Call Number: Q180.55 .M4 F56 2010ISBN: 9781412971898Publication Date: 2009-03-26
Health Sciences Literature Review Made Easy the Matrix Method by
Health Sciences Literature Review Made Easy: The Matrix Method, Fifth Edition describes the practical and useful methods for reviewing scientific literature in the health sciences. The goal of this text is to serve as a resource for students who need a practical, step-by-step set of instructions for how to organize, conduct, and write a synthesis of literature on a topic of their choice.Key Features: Includes author hints for conducting a reviewCaroline's Quest details the process for conducting a reviewMethod Maps provide a visual approach for conducting a methodological reviewData Visualization reviews the history of data visualization to communicate scientific findings Features websites and e-tutorials for citing reference materials
Call Number: R118.6 .G37 2017ISBN: 9781284115192Publication Date: 2016-08-18
