About the Green Movement
- Green MovementCollective term for the individuals and organizations involved in efforts to protect the environment. The movement includes political parties such as the Green Party and organizations like Friends of the Earth and Greenpeace. See also environmental issues.
Despite widespread public support in Western industrialized countries, and membership of environmental organizations running into many millions worldwide, political green groups have failed to win significant levels of political representation in democratic societies. However, their influence as pressure groups is considerable and has led to the publicization of environmental issues such as climate change, global pollution, and the destruction of rainforests, as well as influencing decisions to tackle environmental problems at an international level, such as the Kyoto Protocol.
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Credo Reference is an easy-to-use tool for starting research. Gather background information on your topic from hundreds of full-text encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri, quotations, and subject-specific titles, as well as 500,000+ images and audio files and over 1,000 videos.
Perspectives
Stop Throwing Money Away
The thrifty organization guide that shows you what to keep and what to toss. Have you ever bought a duplicate of something when you couldn?t find the one you already had at home? Have you ever held on to a brand-new jacket you know you?ll never wear or found that the magazine subscription you didn?t like was automatically renewed because you forgot to cancel it in time? Everyone knows that clutter can be unsightly and time-consuming, but it can also cost you money. Stop Throwing Money Away is the first guide that shows you how to get organized and save or make money at the same time. Step by step, room by room, you?ll learn how to reduce, reuse, recycle, swap, sell, share and more as you streamline your possessions and your life. Explains the secrets of half-and-half organizing, showing you how to make money by paring what you own by half and plugging cash clutter traps by shopping at home Exposes the four ways our clutter makes us poor and how to change our habits and behavior Written by Jamie Novak, an organizing expert for iVillage and a regular contributor to Woman?s World and Woman's Day. She has appeared on QVC and HGTV. If you want a vase for flowers, recycle a glass jar. When you need more cupboard space, sell those expensive kitchen gadgets you never use.
Better
Intellectual arguments alone will not sway the dominant paradigm; to be motivated to create change, people must be moved. Art has the power to inform, influence, and inspire. The creative impulse can, quite literally, change the world. Better explores the intersection of sustainability and art, showing how each of us can reinvent our lives as our greatest artistic achievement. Presented in the context of the unique story of Better Farm, a blueprint for environmentally conscious living originally established as an intentional community, this unusual guide blends theory with practical, hands-on, DIY ideas to incite your own creative adventures, including: Upcycling trash into treasure Turning your fish tank into a garden Making your yard or balcony a work of art Better is a concrete application of the Better Theory, which views every experience—good or bad—as an opportunity for exponential personal growth. Packed with life lessons and tips for making any lifestyle more sustainable, while drawing on everyone's inherent creativity, this unique book provides the inspiration to live more simply, take more chances, and engage more with the natural world. A must-read for anyone who questions the purpose of the daily grind or grapples with the need for more meaning in his or her life.
Upcycling
Renowned environmental lifestyle expert and Today Show regular Danny Seo shares 100 of his most inspiring projects for creative transformation. Have neglected items around your house? They can be the source for exciting craft possibilities! Turn your old leather belts into a cool doormat (or even a briefcase!) worn-out paperbacks into gorgeous bud vases tennis balls into a quaint country swing chopsticks into a handsome trivet, and many more. With full-colour photos throughout to guide and inspire, Danny shows that it's easy to be crafty, and fun to be budget- and eco-conscious.
The New Village Green
The revolutionary ideas, values, and attitudes of the green chorus.
What Can You Do with an Old Red Shoe?
What can Ruby do with her old red shoe? Use it as a planter for pansies! In this "green" craft book, children can appreciate that recycling is a part of everyday life, and with a little creativity, exciting projects are only a few steps away. Turn a worn flip-flop into an art stamp, a ripped shower curtain into an apron, and an old T-shirt into a pillow. These activities are just a few of the many crafts to be explored. With easy-to-follow step-by-step instructions, this interactive book will challenge kids to come up with clever recycling ideas of their own.
Recycling Statistics
- Statista This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Statista provides quantitative data on media, business, finance, politics, and a wide variety of other areas of interest or markets.. This database provides quantitative data and original source materials on thousands of statistical datapoints.
Protecting the Local Environment
- Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
David Boyd discusses stewardship in countries with constitutional rights for a healthy environment.
Online Resources
- Environmental Protection Agency-Reducing and Reusing BasicsThe most effective way to reduce waste is to not create it in the first place. Making a new product requires a lot of materials and energy - raw materials must be extracted from the earth, and the product must be fabricated then transported to wherever it will be sold. As a result, reduction and reuse are the most effective ways you can save natural resources, protect the environment and save money.
- Join the Sierra ClubWith vital landmark legislation like the Endangered Species Act under attack, and the regulatory powers of the EPA threatened in Congress, we need you to join us as a member to beat back rollbacks on the progress we've made protecting our national heritage.
- National Ocean Service-Protecting Our Planet Starts with YouTen Simple Things You Can Do to Help Protect the Earth
- Plant with Purpose-Help Stop DeforestationTrees are vital, but half of the world’s tropical forests have already disappeared. At the rate we’re going, there will be no more rainforests in under a century. But we have hope. Plant With Purpose is reversing this trend. While the earth loses forest cover, participating communities gain vegetation cover.
Americans' Biggest Environmental Concerns
- Statista This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Statista provides quantitative data on media, business, finance, politics, and a wide variety of other areas of interest or markets.. This database provides quantitative data and original source materials on thousands of statistical datapoints.
Planet Earth: Seven Ways to Save the Planet
- Films on Demand This link opens in a new windowAs the world wakes up to the need to protect the environment, ABC News continues to cover the most crucial ecological issues of today—and tomorrow. This unprecedented program, reported from all seven continents on the eve of Earth Day 2007, examines urgent problems unfolding in the natural world and offers some real solutions to them. From Australia’s Great Barrier Reef to the Brazilian rain forest to an African game preserve to a massive solar power array in Arizona, these stories will open eyes, ears, and minds. Seven leading science and business experts share insights on water shortages, species extinction, loss of habitat, and runaway energy consumption. An additional report vividly illustrates simple lifestyle changes that can reduce humanity’s collective environmental footprint.
The Five Rs of Protecting the Environment
- Films on Demand This link opens in a new windowIn today's throwaway society people need to become more aware of the waste they generate. Practicing the five Rs-reduce, reuse, recycle, reject, and react-will help conserve energy and protect the environment.