About Health Impacts of Pollution
- PollutionEnvironmental pollution involves the addition of a new substance into the environment and this has a negative impact on some or all of the living creatures in that part of the environment. The substance may be tangible or intangible in nature: carbon particles in the air can lead to respiratory diseases, but noise can also provoke sleeplessness, stress, and cardiovascular problems. Although pollution is thought of as being produced exclusively by human activities, there are also forms of naturally occurring pollution (i.e., without human involvement) when, for example, rotting vegetation reduces water quality in a river or well. Even so, the processes of industrialization have greatly increased the production of new types of pollution and the intensification of the severity of existing forms. People living in urbanized areas tend to suffer disproportionately from the impact of pollution; as the numbers of people living in cities continues to increase, especially in the developing world, the impact of pollution on humanity will also increase and the need for more efficiency in production and supervision to prevent breaches of legislation on pollution will be magnified.
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Credo Reference is an easy-to-use tool for starting research. Gather background information on your topic from hundreds of full-text encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri, quotations, and subject-specific titles, as well as 500,000+ images and audio files and over 1,000 videos.
Pollution-related Deaths
- Statista This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Statista provides quantitative data on media, business, finance, politics, and a wide variety of other areas of interest or markets.. This database provides quantitative data and original source materials on thousands of statistical datapoints.
Air Pollution & Your Health
- Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
This program gives viewers a thorough overview of air pollution, climate change, and the resulting impact on human health. The study of air pollution began in 1952 with The London Fog, a severe air pollution event primarily arising from the use of coal. For five days, the city of London was brought to a standstill by a dense blanket of toxic smog, killing an estimated 8,000 to 12,000 people. This event spurred action by governments and researchers to minimize air pollution and to protect health. Dr. Scott Weichenthal, associate professor of Epidemiology, Biostatistics, and Occupational Health at McGill University, discusses how a variety of contaminants such as volatile organic compounds, sulfur dioxide, carbon monoxide, nitrous oxide, and particulate matter can impact human health.
Oil Pollution & Human Health
- Films on Demand This link opens in a new windowSan Carlos resident Maria Garofalo has cancer caused by Chevron contamination. She can't afford treatments for her daughter, and her livestock are dying from the water.
Perspectives
Health of People, Health of Planet and Our Responsibility
This open access book not only describes the challenges of climate disruption, but also presents solutions. The challenges described include air pollution, climate change, extreme weather, and related health impacts that range from heat stress, vector-borne diseases, food and water insecurity and chronic diseases to malnutrition and mental well-being. The influence of humans on climate change has been established through extensive published evidence and reports. However, the connections between climate change, the health of the planet and the impact on human health have not received the same level of attention. Therefore, the global focus on the public health impacts of climate change is a relatively recent area of interest. This focus is timely since scientists have concluded that changes in climate have led to new weather extremes such as floods, storms, heat waves, droughts and fires, in turn leading to more than 600,000 deaths and the displacement of nearly 4 billion people in the last 20 years. Previous work on the health impacts of climate change was limited mostly to epidemiologic approaches and outcomes and focused less on multidisciplinary, multi-faceted collaborations between physical scientists, public health researchers and policy makers. Further, there was little attention paid to faith-based and ethical approaches to the problem. The solutions and actions we explore in this book engage diverse sectors of civil society, faith leadership, and political leadership, all oriented by ethics, advocacy, and policy with a special focus on poor and vulnerable populations. The book highlights areas we think will resonate broadly with the public, faith leaders, researchers and students across disciplines including the humanities, and policy makers.
Air Pollution
Air pollution is recognized as one of the leading contributors to the global environmental burden of disease, even in countries with relatively low concentrations of air pollution. Air Pollution: Health and Environmental Impacts examines the effect of this complex problem on human health and the environment in different settings around the world. I
Environmental Noise Pollution
Environmental Noise Pollution: Noise Mapping, Public Health and Policy addresses the key debates surrounding environmental noise pollution with a particular focus on the European Union. Environmental noise pollution is an emerging public policy and environmental concern and is considered to be one of the most important environmental stressors affecting public health throughout the world. This book examines environmental noise pollution, its health implications, the role of strategic noise mapping for problem assessment, major sources of environmental noise pollution, noise mitigation approaches, and related procedural and policy implications. Drawing on the authors' considerable research expertise in the area, the book is the first coherent work on this major environmental stressor, a new benchmark reference across disciplinary, policy and national boundaries.
Where Air Pollution is Reducing Life Expectancy the Most
- Statista This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Statista provides quantitative data on media, business, finance, politics, and a wide variety of other areas of interest or markets.. This database provides quantitative data and original source materials on thousands of statistical datapoints.
Unbreathable: Cities on the Verge of Asphyxiation
- Films on Demand This link opens in a new windowAtmospheric pollution affects 9 out of 10 city dwellers, and kills 7 million people a year. With an epidemic of cancers among adults and widespread asthma among children, China and India are on a constant health alert. The rest of the world is not free from harm as the pollutants are travelling. Even European and North American cities exceed World Health Organization guidelines. Faced with this growing public health concern, how can people protect themselves? Featuring scientists and political leaders from Sao Paulo, New Delhi, Mexico, Paris, Beijing and Berlin, this documentary investigates the dangers of toxic emissions and looks at measures being taken to reduce air pollution from urban transport systems and industries.