Reference
- environmental racismEnvironmental racism includes differential exposure to harm and limiting of access to resources that are reliant on, or that reproduce forms of, racial differentiation. The term is commonly attributed to the Reverend Ben Chavis, who in 1982 was the director of the United Church of Christ’s Commission for Racial Justice when toxic chemicals were sited in Warren County, Virginia, because it was predominantly poor and black. Chavis understood this action as part of a broader institutional history of racism in America, and coined the term environmental racism to call attention to the official sanctioning of the life-threatening presence of poisons and pollutants in communities of colour, including those of African-Americans, Native Americans, Asian-Americans, Chicanos/Latinos and others (Chavis, 1991). This definition has been amended to include not just the actions of institutions, industries and governments, but also their failure to act, as in the case of the federal government’s lack of response to Hurricane Katrina (Sze, 2005)...
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Credo Reference is an easy-to-use tool for starting research. Gather background information on your topic from hundreds of full-text encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri, quotations, and subject-specific titles, as well as 500,000+ images and audio files and over 1,000 videos.
Anti-Racism: Environmental Racism
Streaming Media
- Target: St. Louis - Environmental Racism During the Cold WarPost-Hiroshima, the US Army engaged in classified open-air studies on the effects of aerosol radiation. Low-income African-Americans in St. Louis were the unwitting subjects of that testing, by design.
Perspectives
Environmental Racism in the United States and Canada: Seeking Justice and Sustainability
From Flint, Michigan, to Standing Rock, North Dakota, minorities have found themselves losing the battle for clean resources and a healthy environment. This book provides a modern history of such environmental injustices in the United States and Canada. From the 19th-century extermination of the buffalo in the American West to Alaska's Project Chariot (a Cold War initiative that planned to use atomic bombs to blast out a harbor on Eskimo land) to the struggle for recovery and justice in Puerto Rico following Hurricane Maria in 2017, this book provides readers with an enhanced understanding of how poor and minority people are affected by natural and manmade environmental crises. Written for undergraduates as well as the general reader with an interest in social justice and environmental issues, this book traces the relationship between environmental discrimination, race, and class through a comprehensive case history of environmental injustices. Environmental Racism in the United States and Canada: Seeking Justice and Sustainability includes 50 such case studies that range from local to national to international crises. Provides comprehensive coverage and analysis of the far-reaching specter of environmental racism in the U.S. and Canada, using numerous case studies that extend across the U.S. and Canada from the 19th century into the present day Examines the confluence of climate change, natural resource conflicts, political and corporate corruption, and racism Reflects a regional arrangement to better highlight patterns and types of injustices as well as victims Is written by a prolific author and expert on environmental and Native American issues
Gonna trouble the water
Ecojustice, water, and environmental racism
From the Ground Up
From the ground up environmental racism and the rise of the environmental justice movement