George Orwell
George Orwell (1903 - 1950) was a English writer, most known for 1984 and Animal Farm.
- George Orwell: BiographyGeorge Orwell was an English novelist, essayist and critic most famous for his novels 'Animal Farm' (1945) and 'Nineteen Eighty-Four' (1949).
- George Orwell: BritannicaGeorge Orwell, pseudonym of Eric Arthur Blair, (born June 25, 1903, Motihari, Bengal, India—died January 21, 1950, London, England), English novelist, essayist, and critic famous for his novels Animal Farm (1945) and Nineteen Eighty-four (1949), the latter a profound anti-utopian novel that examines the dangers of totalitarian rule.
- The Orwell Foundationthe official website of The Orwell Foundation. From the corruption of truth to pervasive new technologies, and from poverty and inequality to The rise of political extremism, George Orwell's concerns are as relevant to the twenty-first century as they were to the circumstances in which his great novels were conceived.
Research & Reference
- George Orwell: Credo ReferenceA Credo Reference landing page on George Orwell. This page includes links to reference works, journal articles, and a mind map.
- George Orwell: The National Archives (UK)Information and archives on George Orwell from The National Archives (UK).
- The Orwell ArchiveThe George Orwell Archive is the most comprehensive body of research material relating to the author George Orwell (Eric Blair) (1903-1950) anywhere.
Streaming Media
- George OrwellThis documentary biography offers a perceptive look at the George Orwell who saw through the temptations of Communist propaganda, behind the promises of Utopia. Analysis of his work, visits to the places where he lived and worked, interviews with those who knew and understood him best, and footage of the author himself explore and explain the development of Orwell as a thinker and stylist.
- George Orwell and Totalitarian DystopiaPerhaps the most famous of the three defining dystopias of the early 20th century, George Orwell's Nineteen Eighty-Four has created a vocabulary of ideas we continue to use in political discourse today. Trace the ways Orwell uses language to shape his dystopic vision and the way it both reflects and distorts reality.
Author's Works & Perspectives
1984
One of the most celebrated classics of the twentieth century, Orwell's cautionary tale of a man trapped under the gaze of an authoritarian state feels more relevant now than ever before. Winston Smith, a member of the outer Party, spends his days rewriting history to fit the narrative that his government wants citizens to believe. But as the gap between the propaganda he writes and the reality he lives proves too much for Winston to swallow, he begins to seek some form of escape. His desperate struggle to free himself from an all-encompassing, tyrannical state illuminates the tendencies apparent in every modern society, and makes vivid the universal predicament of the individual.
Homage to Catalonia
In 1936 Orwell went to Spain to report on the Civil War and instead joined the fight against the Fascists. This famous account describes the war and Orwell’s experiences. Introduction by Lionel Trilling.
A Collection of Essays
A clear-eyed, uncompromising collection of essays from the "conscience of his generation" and the author of 1984 (V. S. Pritchett). One of the most thought-provoking and vivid essayists of the twentieth century, George Orwell fought the injustices of his time with singular vigor through pen and paper. In this selection of essays, he ranges from reflections on his boyhood schooling and the profession of writing to his views on the Spanish Civil War and British imperialism. The works collected here include "Such, Such Were the Joys," "Shooting an Elephant," "Politics and the English Language," and "Why I Write." Perfect for those new to Orwell's work and a wonderful compilation for the experienced Orwell reader, A Collection of Essays is an invaluable anthology.
Down and Out in Paris and London
From the author of 1984, the classic semi-autobiographical story about the adventures of a penniless British writer in two cities. Down and Out in Paris and London follows the journey of a writer among the down-and-out in two great cities. Without self-pity and often with humor, this novel is Orwell at his finest??--??a sobering, truthful protrayal of poverty and society.
Student Companion to George Orwell
Animal Farm and 1984, in their shocking portrayals of society gone wrong, are among the rare works of fiction that will forever change the way we think. Written with students and general readers in mind, this volume examines George Orwell's powerful fictional writing, as well as his provocative documentaries and essays. Students will gain an appreciation for the many levels of meaning in the allegorical Animal Farm and the startlingly prescient 1984. Brunsdale does a masterful job of showing how personal and world events came together in Orwell's writing. A carefully drawn biographical chapter examines the development of Orwell's worldview from his impressionable student days to his later years as he struggled with his health, his political identity, and his literary career. The literary heritage chapter traces Orwell's influence as a truth-teller and reviews the literary influences that inspired Orwell to experiment and continually refine his writing style. Individual chapters provide in-depth but accessible analysis of each major work of fiction and nonfiction including the often-anthologized essay Shooting an Elephant and Orwell's first full-length publication Down and Out in Paris and in London. In addition to plot and character development, considerable attention is given to the historical contexts and the thematic concerns of social injustice that drove Orwell to devote his life to his writing. This critical study analyzes each of Orwell's major writings in chronological order, analyzing the literary components of each as well as the historical context that informed each work. Each chapter also offers an insightful alternate interpretation of Orwell's works. As a student research tool, this volume is tremendously valuable, particularly with its extensive bibliography of materials from many different fields that illuminate the life and work of this highly important British author.
Abuse of Power in George Orwell's Nineteen Eighty-Four
War is peace. Freedom is slavery. Ignorance is strength. The mantra of authoritarian government in George Orwell's dystopian novel pulls conventional wisdom inside-out, leaving characters, and readers, compelled to peek under the surface for meaning and truth. This informative edition provides an in-depth examination of abuse of power as presented in 1984, as well as contemporary perspectives on this issue. Discussions include the potential danger of big government, the threat posed by misuse of power, the book as promoting the values of the common person, and industrialization as a dehumanizing factor. Expert writers include Christopher Hitchens, Irvine Howe, and Erich Fromm.
Bloom's How to Write about George Orwell
George Orwell wrote many essays and political pamphlets, yet most know him for his fable Animal Farm and his dystopian novel 1984. This essential volume offers strategies and techniques forawritingaeffective essays not only on these canonical works but on Orwell's political views, his perspective on totalitarianism, and the forms of realism in his works as well. Coverage includes the essay Shooting an Elephant and book-length nonfiction Homage to Catalonia and Down and Out in Paris and London. Complete with a guide for composing good essays, Bloom's How to Write about George Orwell also features suggestions for paper topics, coverage of Orwell's major works, and an introduction by master scholar Harold Bloom."