Arthur Conan Doyle
- Arthur Conan Doyle Official Website-BiographyArthur Ignatius Conan Doyle was born on May 22, 1859, in Edinburgh, Scotland. The Doyles were a prosperous Irish-Catholic family. Charles Altamont Doyle, Arthur's father, a chronic alcoholic, was a moderately successful artist, who apart from fathering a brilliant son, never accomplished anything of note. At the age of twenty-two, Charles had married Mary Foley, a vivacious and well educated young woman of seventeen...
- Arthur Conan Doyle: BiographyIn 1890, Arthur Conan Doyle's novel, A Study in Scarlet introduced the character of Detective Sherlock Holmes. Doyle would go on to write 60 stories about Sherlock Holmes. He also strove to spread his Spiritualism faith through a series of books that were written from 1918 to 1926. Doyle died of a heart attack in Crowborough, England on July 7, 1930...
Research & Reference
- Arthur Conan Doyle Collection: Toronto LibraryOne of the world's largest research collections devoted to Arthur Conan Doyle's life and works.
Many of our 25,000+ items relate to Doyle's most famous character, Sherlock Holmes. It also has a range of Doyle's fiction (adventure, sci-fi, horror) and non-fiction (spiritualism, true crime, history, issues of the day)... - Doyle, [Sir] Arthur Conan: Credo ReferenceA genuine polymath, Doyle published at least seventy books in a prolific writing career. Although best known as the creator of the world’s most famous fictional detective, Sherlock Holmes, Doyle also wrote a number of historical romances and essays on spiritualism. Throughout his life, Doyle managed to reconcile his fictional emphasis on rational deduction with his increasingly public and private interest in the spiritual world...
- Sherlock Holmes Collections: University of Minnesota LibaryThe Sherlock Holmes Collections at the University of Minnesota Library constitute the world’s largest gathering of material related to Sherlock Holmes and his creator Sir Arthur Conan Doyle...
- Sir Arthur Conan Doyle collection of papers: New York Public LIbraryThis is a synthetic collection consisting of manuscripts, typescripts, correspondence, an undated notebook, financial and legal documents, and a photographic portrait. The manuscripts and typescripts comprise plays, stories, chapters from novels, poems, essays, and drafts of a Sherlock Holmes play by W. H. Gillette...
Streaming Media
- Sherlock HolmesThe film faithfully retains the play’s famous set pieces—Holmes’s encounter with Professor Moriarty, his daring escape from the Stepney Gas Chamber, and the tour-de-force deductions. It also illustrates how Gillette, who wrote the adaptation himself, wove bits from Conan Doyle’s stories ranging from “A Scandal in Bohemia” to “The Final Problem,” into an original, innovative mystery play.
- Mr. HolmesAn aged, retired Sherlock Holmes deals with early dementia, as he tries to remember his final case, and a mysterious woman, whose memory haunts him. He also befriends a fan, the young son of his housekeeper, who wants him to work again.
- Sherlock Holmes--The First Great DetectiveWe are familiar with Sherlock Holmes’s methodology—using clues, facts, evidence, and reason to solve the case. Here, go inside the world of the 19th century and see what circumstances paved the way for such a hero. Then, turn to some of Sherlock’s most exciting cases.
- We are Legend - Sherlock Holmes against Conan DoyleOne hundred thirty years after it was created by Conan Doyle, Sherlock Holmes is a literary myth who turned out to be a fertile ground for inspiration beyond expectations. Despite Doyle's determination to escape his creature and forge a wider literary work he found himself trapped and overshadowed. The public of the time quickly embraced and shaped this character, to the extent that he was thought to be real and that people were asking Doyle to contact Holmes for help in their investigations. Find out the true story behind the myth and revisit a fascinating icon of our Times…which lives on…
Perspectives
The Adventures of Arthur Conan Doyle
As the creator of Sherlock Holmes, “the world’s most famous man who never was,” Arthur Conan Doyle remains one of our favorite writers; his work is read with affection—and sometimes obsession—the world over. Doctor, writer, spiritualist: his life was no less fascinating than his fiction. Conan Doyle grew up in relative poverty in Edinburgh, with the mental illness of his artistically gifted but alcoholic father casting a shadow over his early life. He struggled both as a young doctor and in his early attempts to sell short stories, having only limited success until Sherlock Holmes became a publishing phenomenon and propelled him to worldwide fame.
The Adventures of Sherlock Holmes and the Memoirs of Sherlock Holmes
This collection includes many of the famous cases - and great strokes of brilliance - that made the legendary Sherlock Holmes one of fiction's most popular creations. With his devoted amanuensis, Dr Watson, Holmes emerges from his smoke filled rooms in Baker Street to grapple with the forces of treachery, intrigue and evil in such cases as 'The Speckled Band', in which a terrified woman begs their help in solving the mystery surrounding her sister's death, or 'A Scandal in Bohemia', which portrays a European king blackmailed by his mistress. In 'Silver Blaze' the pair investigate the disappearance of a racehorse and the violent murder of its trainer, while in 'The Final Problem' Holmes at last comes face to face with his nemesis, the diabolical Professor Moriarty - 'the Napoleon of crime'.
The Hound of the Baskervilles
The terrible spectacle of the beast, the fog of the moor, the discovery of a body- this classic horror story pits detective against dog. When Sir Charles Baskerville is found dead on the wild Devon moorland with the footprints of a giant hound nearby, the blame is placed on a family curse. It is left to Sherlock Holmes and Doctor Watson to solve the mystery of the legend of the phantom hound before Sir Charles' heir comes to an equally gruesome end. THE HOUND OF THE BASKERVILLES gripped readers when it was first serialised and has continued to hold its place in the popular imagination.