Transphobia
"Transphobia is defined as an intense antipathy toward people who do not conform to normative gender roles or, more commonly, a fear and disgust of trans people. It is a system of beliefs, values, and psychological motivations for anti-trans discriminatory behavior and attitudes. Confusingly, it is not really a phobia (not an irrational fear); rather, it is a portmanteau word derived from homophobia. Transphobia is often understood to be a part of homophobia, and they often co-occur, but the former applies to anti-trans prejudice (more commonly, transprejudice), and the latter refers to anti- LGBQ discrimination. Transphobia is sometimes equated with genderism or cisgenderism, but transphobia is a psychological bias, and genderism and cisgenderism are sociological and cultural biases— the systemic version of the more interpersonal transphobia. This entry on one of the central concepts of trans studies reviews the origins and use of transphobia and its connection to gender, sexuality, racism, religion, and nation" (The SAGE Encyclopedia of Trans Studies, Credo Reference).
- Transphobia: Credo ReferenceA Credo Reference landing page on transphobia. This page includes links to reference works and a concept map.
- Gender Studies Collection This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
The Gender Studies Collection of journals aims to provide balanced coverage of this significant aspect of our culture, covering such topics as gender studies, family and marital issues, health aspects, and many more. You will find coverage of more than 233,000 articles.
Research and Reference
- Resource on the Go Podcast: Check out our podcastWhat are the connections between Transphobia, Racism and Sexual Violence? | National Sexual Violence Resource Center (NSVRC) What are the connections between Transphobia, Racism and Sexual Violence?Information on the links between transphobia, racism, and sexual violence from the National Sexual Violence Resource Center.
- Transphobia: APA PsycNETAPA definition of transphobia.
- Transphobia: ScienceDirectThese pages are created by ScienceDirect using heuristic and machine-learning approaches to extract relevant information from our extensive collection of content. We compile this information on a topic-by-topic basis providing the reader both depth and breadth on a specific area of interest.
Streaming Media
- Transgender Kids: Who Knows Best?This program explores the divisive debate over whether a child should be free to make permanent changes to their gender. Dr. Kenneth Zucker once ran the largest public clinic in Toronto for treating children and adolescents with gender dysphoria, an often violent feeling that the body they were born in does not match their true gender. But then Zucker was fired and his clinic closed down amid comparisons to a religious zealot trying to "cure" homosexuality. His supporters believe he is a victim of a virulent form of transgender politics that stifles freedom of speech. The program features interviews with Zucker, his patients, the families, the clinicians and transgender activists. A BBC Production.
- Treasure: Hate Crimes Against the Transgender CommunityThe majority of the victims of hate violence homicides in the United States are transgender women. Transgender people of color are six times more likely to experience physical violence from the police. Shelly “Treasure” Hillard, a young African American transwoman, died violently in 2011. She is one of many, and this is her story.
Perspectives
Encyclopedia of Sex and Sexuality: Understanding Biology, Psychology, and Culture [2 Volumes]
Providing a comprehensive framework for the broad subject of human sexuality, this two-volume set offers a context of historical development, scientific discovery, and sociopolitical and sociocultural movements. The broad topic of sex--encompassing subjects as varied as sexuality, sexual and gender identity, abortion, and such crimes as sexual assault--is one of the most controversial in American society today. This two-volume encyclopedic set provides readers with more than 450 entries on the subject, offering a comprehensive overview of major sexuality issues in American and global culture. Themes that run throughout the volumes include sexual health and reproduction, sexual identity and orientation, sexual behaviors and expression, the history of sex and sexology, and sex and society. Entries cover a breadth of subjects, such as the major contributors to the field of sexology; the biological, psychological, and cultural dimensions of sex and sexuality; and how the modern-day political climate and the government play a major role in determining attitudes and beliefs about sex. Written in clear, jargon-free language, this set is ideal for high school and undergraduate students as well as general readers. Explores the important yet often controversial nature of human sexuality through a carefully curated selection of entries that provide clear yet sensitive coverage of the topic Includes a thorough treatment of the understanding of sexual behaviors in individuals and relationships that contextualizes models of sexuality related to contemporary lifestyles Defines common terms related to sexual and gender identity as well as their application to the modern-day understanding of sexual behavior Further readings sections at the end of each entry guide readers toward additional information
Black on Both Sides
Winner of the John Boswell Prize from the American Historical Association 2018 Winner of the William Sanders Scarborough Prize from the Modern Language Association 2018 Winner of an American Library Association Stonewall Honor 2018 Winner of Lambda Literary Award for Transgender Nonfiction 2018 Winner of the Sylvia Rivera Award in Transgender Studies from the Center for Lesbian and Gay Studies The story of Christine Jorgensen, America's first prominent transsexual, famously narrated trans embodiment in the postwar era. Her celebrity, however, has obscured other mid-century trans narratives--ones lived by African Americans such as Lucy Hicks Anderson and James McHarris. Their erasure from trans history masks the profound ways race has figured prominently in the construction and representation of transgender subjects. In Black on Both Sides, C. Riley Snorton identifies multiple intersections between blackness and transness from the mid-nineteenth century to present-day anti-black and anti-trans legislation and violence. Drawing on a deep and varied archive of materials--early sexological texts, fugitive slave narratives, Afro-modernist literature, sensationalist journalism, Hollywood films--Snorton attends to how slavery and the production of racialized gender provided the foundations for an understanding of gender as mutable. In tracing the twinned genealogies of blackness and transness, Snorton follows multiple trajectories, from the medical experiments conducted on enslaved black women by J. Marion Sims, the "father of American gynecology," to the negation of blackness that makes transnormativity possible. Revealing instances of personal sovereignty among blacks living in the antebellum North that were mapped in terms of "cross dressing" and canonical black literary works that express black men's access to the "female within," Black on Both Sides concludes with a reading of the fate of Phillip DeVine, who was murdered alongside Brandon Teena in 1993, a fact omitted from the film Boys Don't Cry out of narrative convenience. Reconstructing these theoretical and historical trajectories furthers our imaginative capacities to conceive more livable black and trans worlds.
Trans-Gendered: Theology, Ministry, and Communities of Faith
"Tanis, a transgendered clergyperson seeks to explore the spiritual nature of transgendered persons, to listen to the stories of other like himself, and to give a positive voice to the community."--BOOK JACKET.Title Summary field provided by Blackwell North America, Inc. All Rights Reserved