Anti-Prejudice & Hate
Prejudice is defined as "injury or damage resulting from some judgment or action of another in disregard of one's rights, preconceived judgement or opinion, or an irrational attitude of hostility directed against an individual, a group, a race, or their supposed characteristics" (Merriam-Webster, 2021).
Individuals throughout the world experience prejudice daily for a wide-variety of motivating factors. The resources on this guide provide you with information on the root causes and impact of the various forms of prejudice and hate and how you can promote change.
- How People's Prejudices DevelopThis article written by Kendra Cherry from Very Well Mind explores the development of prejudices.
- Confronting Prejudice: How to Protect Yourself and Help OthersUse this guide to understand where prejudice comes from, what it looks like, and how you can help others experiencing it.
Prejudices
Everyone is prejudiced and uses stereotypes. That’s normal. But prejudice can lead to unequal treatment. Watch the video to see how prejudice works and what you can do about it.
Source: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IzEdSdvFLU0
Prejudice and Discrimination
In this episode of Crash Course Psychology, Hank tackles some difficult topics dealing with prejudice, stereotyping, and discrimination.
Source: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7P0iP2Zm6a4
Recommended Titles
Is Everyone Really Equal?: An Introduction to Key Concepts in Social Justice Education
This is the new edition of the award-winning guide to social justice education. Based on the authors' extensive experience in a range of settings in the United States and Canada, the book addresses the most common stumbling blocks to understanding social justice. This comprehensive resource includes new features such as a chapter on intersectionality and classism; discussion of contemporary activism (Black Lives Matter, Occupy, and Idle No More); material on White Settler societies and colonialism; pedagogical supports related to "common social patterns" and "vocabulary to practice using"; and extensive updates throughout. Accessible to students from high school through graduate school, Is Everyone Really Equal? is a detailed and engaging textbook and professional development resource presenting the key concepts in social justice education. The text includes many user-friendly features, examples, and vignettes to not just define but illustrate the concepts. Book Features: Definition Boxes that define key terms. Stop Boxes to remind readers of previously explained ideas. Perspective Check Boxes to draw attention to alternative standpoints. Discussion Questions and Extension Activities for using the book in a class, workshop, or study group. A Glossary of terms and guide to language use.
Prejudice
This book tackles prejudice from a social psychological perspective, and contributes to both its understanding and its reduction. Readers are introduced to the major theoretical and empirical achievements in the field, and classic and contemporary research is presented and illustrated. The book includes many examples from contemporary life and different kinds of prejudice. Each chapter concludes with a summary of the main points together with suggestions for further reading.
Unmuted
Why do people hate one another? Who gets to speak for whom? Why do so many people combat prejudice based on their race, sexual orientation, or disability? What does segregation look like today? Many of us ponder and discuss urgent questions such as these at home, and see them debated in themedia, the classroom, and our social media feeds, but many of us don't have access to the important new ways philosophers are thinking about these very issues. Enter UnMute, the popular podcast hosted by Myisha Cherry, which hosts a diverse group of philosophers and explores their cutting-edge workthrough casual conversation.This book collects 31 of Cherry's lively and timely interviews, offering an accessible resource through which to encounter some of philosophy's most socially and politically engaged, public-facing work. Its original illustrations, depicting the interview subjects up close, show just how broad arange of philosophers--black, white, and brown, male and female, queer and straight, abled and disabled--are at the center of crucial contemporary conversations. Cherry asks philosophers to talk about their ideas in ways that anyone can understand, explaining how they got interseted in philosophy,and why the questions they investigate matter urgently.Along with the interviews, the volume provides a foreword by Cornel West, a section in which all the interviewees explain how they got into philosophy, and a "Say What?" glossary defining terms that might be new to some readers. Like the podcast that inspired it, the book welcomes in those new tothese philosophical questions, those captivated by questions of race, class, gender, and other issues and looking for a new lens through which to examine them, and those well-versed in public philosophy looking for a one-stop guide.
The Psychology of Prejudice
The first systematic comparative analysis of American and European strategies to promote democracy and the rule of law around the worldEuropean and American experts systematically compare U.S. and EU strategies to promote democracy around the world - from the Middle East and the Mediterranean, to Latin America, the former Soviet bloc, and Southeast Asia. In doing so, the authors debunk the pernicious myth that there exists a transatlantic divide over democracy promotion.
Handbook of Prejudice, Stereotyping, and Discrimination
This Handbook provides a uniquely comprehensive and scholarly overview of the latest research on prejudice, stereotyping, and discrimination. All chapters are written by eminent prejudice researchers who explore key topics, by presenting an overview of current research and, where appropriate, developing new theory, models, or scales. The volume is clearly structured, with a broad section on cognitive, affective, and neurological processes, followed by chapters on some of the main target groups of prejudice - based on race, sex, age, sexual orientation, and weight. A concluding section explores the issues involved in reducing prejudice. Chapters on the history of research in prejudice and future directions round off this state-of-the-art Handbook. The volume will provide an essential resource for students, instructors, and researchers in social and personality psychology, and also be an invaluable reference for academics and professionals in the fields of sociology, communication studies, gerontology, nursing, medicine, as well as government and policymakers and social service agencies.