Pre-Nursing Resources
McKee Library provides access to numerous resources to help you prepare for your pre-nursing exams. Resources include test preparation databases, print and electronic books, links to quality online materials, and streaming films.
Test Preparation Databases
McKee Library provides access to the following test preparation databases. You will be required to sign in using your Southern Adventist University username and password.
- BoardVitals This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
BoardVitals is an effective and powerful board review tool with the highest quality questions to help prepare for the national board exams. You have access to test banks to help prepare for the multiple exams including the NCLEX RN, CCRN, Adult-Gerontology Acute Care and Primary Care, Family (AANP and ANCC), Pediatric Primary Care, and Psychiatric-Mental Health Nurse Practitioner Exams.
- Peterson's Test and Career Prep This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Peterson's Test and Career Prep is designed for standardized test preparation, researching undergraduate and graduate programs, finding tuition assistance, and exploring careers. It includes practice tests for entrance exams, certifications, and licensing exam.
Foundational Skills
- Peterson's Test and Career Prep This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Peterson's Test and Career Prep is designed for standardized test preparation, researching undergraduate and graduate programs, finding tuition assistance, and exploring careers. It includes practice tests for entrance exams, certifications, and licensing exam.
Peterson's Test and Career Prep database provides access to several online examination preparation resources. In order to access the resources and save your progress, you will need to create a free account. The following resources are available in the database:
- Basic Skills English & Writing TutorialsBecome a better writer, reader, and speaker with these learning modules that focus on everything from grammar to sentence structure to reading comprehension.
- Basic Skills Math TutorialsLearn the mechanics of mathematics, starting with pre-algebra through trigonometry. Multimodal lessons and quizzes help you engage with the material and combine conceptual understanding with practical application.
- Math VideosNeed step-by-step instructions? Look no further than these whiteboard-style math videos to help you set up equations, translate word problems into math, and better understand common math topics.
- Microsoft Office TutorialsNew to the Microsoft Suite products or need a refresher? Choose from introductory 30-minute instructional videos or longer, comprehensive tutorials highlighting the intricacies of each program. Learn more about Microsoft Excel, Word, PowerPoint, and more.
Test Preparation Books
Kaplan Nursing School Entrance Exam 2021-2022 Study Guide
Test Prep Books' Kaplan Nursing School Entrance Exam 2021-2022 Study Guide: Kaplan Nursing Entrance Exam Prep and Practice Test Questions [2nd Edition] Made by Test Prep Books experts for test takers trying to achieve a great score on the Kaplan Nursing exam. This comprehensive study guide includes: Quick Overview Find out what's inside this guide! Test-Taking Strategies Learn the best tips to help overcome your exam! Introduction Get a thorough breakdown of what the test is and what's on it! Reading Comprehension Writing Mathematics Science Practice Questions Practice makes perfect! Detailed Answer Explanations Figure out where you went wrong and how to improve! Studying can be hard. We get it. That's why we created this guide with these great features and benefits: Comprehensive Review: Each section of the test has a comprehensive review created by Test Prep Books that goes into detail to cover all of the content likely to appear on the test. Practice Test Questions: We want to give you the best practice you can find. That's why the Test Prep Books practice questions are as close as you can get to the actual Kaplan Nursing entrance exam. Answer Explanations: Every single problem is followed by an answer explanation. We know it's frustrating to miss a question and not understand why. The answer explanations will help you learn from your mistakes. That way, you can avoid missing it again in the future. Test-Taking Strategies: A test taker has to understand the material that is being covered and be familiar with the latest test taking strategies. These strategies are necessary to properly use the time provided. They also help test takers complete the test without making any errors. Test Prep Books has provided the top test-taking tips. Customer Service: We love taking care of our test takers. We make sure that you interact with a real human being when you email your comments or concerns. Anyone planning to take this exam should take advantage of this Test Prep Books study guide. Purchase it today to receive access to: Kaplan Nursing test prep and review materials Kaplan Nursing practice test questions Test-taking strategies
3 Evolve Reach (HESI) A2 Practice Tests
McGraw-Hill's 3 Evolve Reach (HESI) A2 practice tests helps you prepare for this important exam and achieve the high score you need to get into nursing school you desire.
NCLEX-RN for Dummies with Online Practice Tests
Ace the NCLEX-RN exam with this comprehensive guide The rigorous NCLEX-RN nursing exam can be painful--and many don't pass on the initial attempt. So why not beat the odds and drastically improve your chances of acing your first time with NCLEX-RN For Dummies, 2nd Edition with Online Practice? This fully updated and revised edition is tracked to the latest NCLEX-RN exam, and comes complete with deep content review, study tips, and top test-taking strategies. You also get access to online flashcards and two practice exams with answer explanations to flesh out your technique and study. Practice with hundreds of test questions Go online for vocabulary flashcards and practice exams Find full coverage of the medical, surgical, pediatric, psychiatric, and obstetric subjects schools require for the test Written by an instructor with 38 years of hands-on nursing practice under her belt, this popular, plain-English exam prep is best-in-class and will deliver the results you want--the first time.
McGraw-Hill Education Nursing School Entrance Exams, Third Edition
Get the tools you need to succeed on your nursing school entrance exam! Are you preparing for your nursing school entrance exam? This practical guide is packed with skill-building exercises, test-taking strategies, and practice tests to help you prepare for the exam. Whether you're taking the National League for Nursing Pre-Admission Examination-RN (NLN PAX-RN), the Test of Essential Academic Skills (TEAS), the Psychological Services Bureau (PSB) RN exam, or the Evolve Reach (HESI) A2 exam, you'll find expert guidance on how to study more efficiently and increase your confidence for test day. Fully updated to match the latest exams, Nursing School Entrance Exams features: * Complete coverage of the NLN PAX-RN, TEAS, PSB-RN, and HESI A2 * Up-to-date information on each test's format and subject areas * 8 practice tests--2 each in Verbal Skills, Reading Comprehension, Mathematics, and Science * Practice tests modeled on the questions in real nursing school entrance exams, covering the same topics and designed at the same level of difficulty * A diagnostic test to assess exam readiness * Skill-building drills with hundreds of practice questions * Strategies to help master every question type * Scientific illustrations to clarify important concepts * A review of all subjects featured on the exams: Verbal Skills, Reading Comprehension, Mathematics, and Science * Career and educational guidance from a nursing professional
ATI TEAS Test Prep Study Guide 2021-2022
Updated for 2021, Trivium Test Prep's unofficial, NEW ATI TEAS Test Prep Study Guide 2021-2022: TEAS 6 Manual with Practice Exam Questions for the Test of Essential Academic Skills, Sixth Edition isn't your typical exam prep! Because we know your time is limited, we've created a product that goes beyond what most study guides offer. With ATI TEAS Test Prep Study Guide 2021-2022, you'll benefit from a quick but total review of everything tested on the exam with current, real examples, graphics, and information. Imagine having your study materials on your phone or tablet! Now you don't have to, because Trivium Test Prep's NEW ATI TEAS Test Prep Study Guide 2021-2022 comes with FREE online resources, including: practice questions, online flashcards, study "cheat" sheets, and 35 tried and tested test tips. These easy to use materials give you that extra edge you need to pass the first time. ATI was not involved in the creation or production of this product, is not in any way affiliated with Trivium Test Prep, and does not sponsor or endorse this product. Trivium Test Prep's ATI TEAS Test Prep Study Guide 2021-2022 offers: A full review of what you need to know for the HESI examPractice questions for you to practice and improveTest tips to help you score higher Trivium Test Prep's ATI TEAS Test Prep Study Guide 2021-2022 covers: ReadingReading PassagesInformational Sources MathematicsNumbers and OperationsAlgebra GeometryStatistics ScienceAnatomy and PhysiologyLife SciencePhysical ScienceScientific Reasoning English and Language UsageGrammar and VocabularySentence Structure ...and includes 2 FULL practice tests! About Trivium Test Prep Trivium Test Prep is an independent test prep study guide company that produces and prints all of our books right here in the USA. Our dedicated professionals know how people think and learn, and have created our test prep products based on what research has shown to be the fastest, easiest, and most effective way to prepare for the exam. Unlike other study guides that are stamped out in a generic fashion, our study materials are specifically tailored for your exact needs. We offer a comprehensive set of guides guaranteed to raise your score for exams from every step of your education; from high school, to college or the military, to graduate school. Let our study guides guide you along the path to the professional career of your dreams!
ATI TEAS Test Study Book for Nursing
Test Prep Books' ATI TEAS Test Study Book for Nursing: Prep Guide with 2 Complete Practice Exams [6th Edition] Made by Test Prep Books experts for test takers trying to achieve a great score on the ATI TEAS exam This comprehensive study guide includes: Quick Overview Find out what's inside this guide! Test-Taking Strategies Learn the best tips to help overcome your exam! Introduction Get a thorough breakdown of what the test is and what's on it! Subarea I-Reading Key Ideas and Details, Craft and Structure, and Integration of Knowledge and Ideas Subarea II-Mathematics Number and Algebra, and Measurement and Data Subarea III-Science Human Anatomy and Physiology, Life and Physical Sciences, and Scientific Reasoning Subarea IV-English and Language Usage Conventions of Standard English, Knowledge of Language, and Vocabulary Acquisition Practice Questions Practice makes perfect! Detailed Answer Explanations Figure out where you went wrong and how to improve! Disclaimer: *TEAS(R) is a registered trademark of the Assessment Technologies Institute(R), which is unaffiliated, not a sponsor, or associated with Test Prep Books. Studying can be hard. We get it. That's why we created this guide with these great features and benefits Comprehensive Review: Each section of the test has a comprehensive review created by Test Prep Books that goes into detail to cover all of the content likely to appear on the test. ATI TEAS Practice Test Questions: We want to give you the best practice you can find. That's why the Test Prep Books practice questions are as close as you can get to the actual test. Answer Explanations: Every single problem is followed by an answer explanation. We know it's frustrating to miss a question and not understand why. The answer explanations will help you learn from your mistakes. That way, you can avoid missing it again in the future. Test-Taking Strategies: A test taker has to understand the material that is being covered and be familiar with the latest test taking strategies. These strategies are necessary to properly use the time provided. They also help test takers complete the test without making any errors. Test Prep Books has provided the top test-taking tips. Customer Service: We love taking care of our test takers. We make sure that you interact with a real human being when you email your comments or concerns. Anyone planning to take this exam should take advantage of this Test Prep Books study guide. Purchase it today to receive access to: ATI TEAS review materials ATI TEAS practice test questions Test-taking strategies
Test Preparation & Anxiety
- Academic Support: Retention ServicesRetention Services provides resources for preparing for tests, the study cycle, reducing stress and anxiety, and more.
- Test Prep/Anxiety Resources from Southern Adventist UniversityResources on test preparation and anxiety from Southern Adventist University's Testing Services center.
- Learning Resource Center: SONInformation on the SON's Learning Resource Center.