Internet Resources
Aristocracy is defined as "government by the best individuals or by a small privileged class" or "a government in which power is vested in a minority consisting of those believed to be best qualified" (Merriam-Webster). Examples of this type of government can be seen in the Aztec Empire, Saudi Arabia, and Brunei.
- The Use of Aristocracy in PoliticsThousands of years ago, the Greeks believed that in order to be considered an accomplished human being, the person had to be part of the political life of the city. Aristotle defined a human being as a political animal, zoon politokon; this meant that everybody lived in a society in which it had to fulfill some obligations.
- What Is Aristocracy? Definition and ExamplesAristocracy is a form of government in which the people are ruled by a small, privileged-class of people called aristocrats. While aristocracy is similar to oligarchy in that they place power in the hands of a few people, the two types of government differ in several key ways. Once the most common form of government, elite aristocracies have ruled major countries including the United Kingdom, Russia, and France during their histories.
Research & Reference
- Aristocracy: Credo ReferenceA Credo Reference landing page on the aristocracy. This page includes links to reference works, journal articles, and a mind map.
- Aristocracy: ScienceDirectA ScienceDirect landing page covering aristocracy.
Control of the Aristocracy
- Control of the AristocracyA medieval king starts his reign with certain advantages; he has God on his side, and he is lord of the land. Controlling the aristocracy is the king's most important duty. A travelling king and his retinue depleted the supplies of the countryside. A BBC Production.
Iceland's Aristocracy
- Iceland's AristocracyThe Vikings were a people who were known for their raids and their exploration. They were a pagan people who believed in a number of gods, the most famous of which was Thor. Their religion was inspirational, and it was this religion that led to their reputation for being fierce warriors.
Perspectives
Aristocracy and the Modern World
Defining aristocracy -- The ancien reĢgime -- Wealth -- Family and honor -- The beau monde : culture and society -- Swallowing the toad : the aristocracy and the middle classes -- The habit of authority : local power -- Eagles and peacocks : national power -- Aristocide, 1917-1945 -- Where are they now? : 1945-2005 -- Vital memories.
Oxford Dictionary of Word Origins: Aristocracy
Newly updated to incorporate recent additions to the English language, the Oxford Dictionary of Word Origins provides a fascinating exploration of the origins and development of over 3,000 words in the English language. Drawing on Oxford's unrivalled dictionary research programme and languagemonitoring it brings to light the intriguing and often unusual stories of some of our most used words and phrases.The A-Z entries include the first known use of the term along with examples, related lexes, and expressions which uncover the etymological composition of each word. Also featured are 22 special panels that give overviews of broad topic areas, 5 of which are completely new and that variously coverwords from Oceania, word blends, eponyms, and acronyms. New findings in the OED since the previous edition have also been added, including emoji, mansplain, meeple, meme, and spam.An absorbing resource for language students and enthusiasts, but also an intriguing read for any person interested in the development of the English language, and of language development in general. It also includes an extended introduction on the history of the English language.
Social Democracy and the Aristocracy
Ever since the rise of mass labor movements in the late nineteenth century, socialism has been seen as an inevi- table and antagonistic response to capitalism and the spread of industrialization. Over the course of the twentieth century, however, socialism's failure to gain ground in the United States and most of the non-Western world exposed the limited, Eurocentric views of socialist theorists, and also the inadequacy of the theory as it applied to Europe as well. John Kautsky argues that a key factor in the development of social democratic labor movements was the persistence of powerful remnants of aristocratic institutions and ideologies whose survival into the industrial age preserved exclusionary hierarchies. These led, in turn, to radicalism and class consciousness among workers. Kautsky traces the evolution of socialist labor movements in Europe and Japan where aristocratic elements were still strong, detailing the survival of aristocratic privilege and the concomitants of worker class consciousness and demands for equality.
Aristocracies: The World of Ancient Greece
This book opens the world of the ancient Greeks to all readers through easily accessible entries on topics essential to understanding Greek high culture and daily life. The ancient Greeks provided the foundation for Western civilization. They made significant advances in science, mathematics, philosophy, literature, and government. While many readers might have heard of Plato and Aristotle, however, or be familiar with the classic works of Greek tragedy, most people know significantly less about daily life in the ancient Greek world. This encyclopedia opens the world of the ancient Greeks, spanning Greek history from the Bronze Age through Roman times, with an emphasis on the Classical and Hellenistic Eras. The encyclopedia provides roughly 270 easily accessible entries on topics essential to understanding everything from Greek high culture to daily life. These entries are grouped in topical sections on the arts, science and technology, politics and government, domestic life, and other subjects. Sidebars on particularly noteworthy people, places, and concepts provide related information, while primary documents allow readers to delve into the mindset and feelings of the ancient Greeks themselves. Extensive bibliographic references give curious readers direction for further research. Includes reference entries with objective, essential information about topics related to daily life in ancient Greece Offers sidebars with related, nuanced information that will interest readers in Greek history Cites works for further reading in entries Gives readers first-hand accounts of life in ancient Greece in primary source documents
Tribal Aristocracy
- Tribal AristocracyGermanic men enhanced their reputation through battle. Tribes consolidated under warrior leaders; vassalage evolved into the medieval feudal system. Germanic people also popularized beer and pants. WARNING! Viewer Discretion Advised. The consumption of illegal substances is discussed or depicted in this video.