Animals (Scientific Procedures) Act 1986
- Animals (Scientific Procedures) Act 1986This replaced the Cruelty to Animals Act 1876. The 1986 Act makes it illegal to supply animals, other than those purpose-bred in Home-Office-designated breeding establishments, for use in experimental procedures involving dogs, cats, and other animals. The Act requires all laboratories in the UK where animals are used in research to appoint a veterinary surgeon to be responsible for the care and welfare of their experimental animals.
On 1 January 1990 it became illegal to sell or supply pet or stray animals for use in scientific experiments.
The Act also represents the culmination of the efforts of three organisations — the British Veterinary Association (BVA), the Committee for the Reform of Animal Experimentation (CRAE), and the Fund for the Replacement of Animals in Medical Experiments (FRAME) - to reform animal experimentation legislation. The new Act is firmly rooted in BVA/CRAE/FRAME proposals sent to the Home Secretary in 1983, and represents an effective compromise between the welfare needs of animals, the legitimate demands of the public for accountability, and the equally legitimate requirements of medicine, science and commerce.
The legislation gives the Home Secretary the power and the responsibility to judge the scientific merit of the work s/he authorises and for which s/ he will be answerable to Parliament.
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Credo Reference is an easy-to-use tool for starting research. Gather background information on your topic from hundreds of full-text encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri, quotations, and subject-specific titles, as well as 500,000+ images and audio files and over 1,000 videos.
Perspectives
The Animal Experimentation Debate
Reviewing the topic from antiquity to the present day, this book examines the debate over the use of animals in research in a fair and balanced way. The debate over the use of nonhuman animals in experimental research has gone on for centuries, and it continues as vigorously today as it ever has. In fact, in the last decade, the controversy has intensified, making animal testing a topic at the highest level of debate of any socioscientific issue in the United States. This book presents all sides of the issue so that readers can come to their own conclusions as to the morality and validity of animal experimentation, and provides biographies of individuals and descriptions of organizations that have been involved in the debate over the centuries. Additionally, it documents the historical shift in thinking that made animal experimentation commonplace between the time of the ancient Greeks and the 19th century, to the mindset of some who argue for an end to the practice and alternative ways of conducting medical experimentation to benefit human health. Presents an introduction to the history of scientific research utilizing animals and a thorough review of current issues relating to animal experimentation Provides perspectives in which stakeholders in the field outline and explain their personal views on animal testing Supplies an extensive annotated bibliography of books, articles, reports, and online resources Includes profiles of important individuals and organizations Provides an outstanding resource for secondary school students, undergraduates, or general readers with an interest in medical and biological research or animal welfare
Animal Experimentation
Few issues are more laden with emotion and controversy than the question of whether apes, and chimpanzees in particular, should continue to be used as subjects in biomedical research. This volume examines issues related to animal experimentation. Topics of discussion include whether medical progress depends on animal research, whether rats and mice are important for Cancer research, whether new technologies can replace testing all together, and whether the Animal Welfare Act protects animals from abuse in scientific research.
Animal Experimentation
The direct mail campaigns of powerful animal rights lobbies and their guerrilla tactics against animal laboratories certainly demonstrate where they stand. Equally compelling are those who argue that medical progress and consumer safety are significantly enhanced by research using animals. This balanced collection focuses attention on the clash of opposing positions in this national debate, whose intensity is sure to weigh heavy on society as demands for more research make the need for rational, informed discussion all the more urgent.
Animal Experimentation
The use of companion animals such as dogs in medical experiments has intensified the debate about animal testing. Doctors, researchers, and activists argue whether or not animals should be experimented on in the following chapters: Do Animals Have Rights? Is Animal Experimentation Justified? How Should Animal Experimentation Be Conducted? Should Scientists Pursue New Forms of Animal Experimentation?
Laboratory Animal Medicine
Laboratory Animal Medicine, Third Edition, is a fully revised publication from the American College of Laboratory Medicine's acclaimed blue book series. It presents an up-to-date volume that offers the most thorough coverage of the biology, health, and care of laboratory animals. The book is organized by species, with new inclusions of chinchillas, birds, and program and employee management, and is written and edited by known experts in the fields. Users will find gold-standard guidance on the study of laboratory animal science, as well as valuable information that applies across all of the biological and biomedical sciences that work with animals.
The Case for Animal Experimentation
An evolutionary and ethical perspective.
Why Animals Are Needed in Research
- Why Animals Are Needed in ResearchHear from some of the country’s leading scientists and medical experts who talk about why animal research is critical for medical progress and the advancement of both human and animal health.
Animal Welfare Act
- Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
The transportation of wild animals has developed over years of research and experimentation. Methods used in the 19th century were primitive and cruel. The Fort Worth Zoo in Texas prepares to transport a rare Indochinese tiger.
The Ethics of Animal use in Research
- The Ethics of Animal use in ResearchFor decades laboratory animals have contributed to a multitude of medical advancements, ranging from insulin to cutting edge cancer treatments. Their use in research, although vital, has been controversial with many claiming that technology has progressed to a point where they are no longer needed. Computational modeling, cell, and tissue culturing techniques have made leaps and bounds but ultimately we are not yet in a place where animals and their products can be completely removed from the research process. In the past scientists who use animals in their work and spoke out in support have been threatened and harmed but Ph.D. candidate Courtney Bannerman believes it is important for people to hear both sides of the argument for the public to make an informed stance on animal use.