Research Guides: Pandemics, Epidemics, and Vaccines: History, Science, &amp; Controversies: AIDS

Resources

A Timeline of HIV and AIDS
The HIV.gov Timeline reflects the history of the domestic HIV/AIDS epidemic from the first reported cases in 1981 to the present—where advances in HIV prevention, care, and treatment offer hope for a long, healthy life to people who are living with, or at risk for, HIV and AIDS.
History of HIV and AIDS: AVERT
The history of the HIV and AIDS epidemic began in illness, fear and death as the world faced a new and unknown virus. However, scientific advances, such as the development of antiretroviral drugs, have enabled people with access to treatment to live long and healthy lives with HIV.

Reference, Archives, & Statistics

AIDS: Credo Reference
A Credo Reference landing page on AIDS. This page includes links to reference works, journal articles, and a mind map.
HIV/AIDS in Africa - Statistics & Facts
With the help of education, the use of contraception, and the introduction of modern prevention and treatment medicines which can halt the progression to AIDS and prevent transmission to others, HIV/AIDS is no longer the public health threat that it once was in many countries. However, due to poverty, inadequate medical care, a lack of prevention and education, and stigma, HIV/AIDS continues to be a major health concern in Africa.
HIV/AIDS in the U.S.
This dossier presents facts and figures on HIV and AIDS in the United States. The document offers valuable epidemiological information regarding prevalence, risk factors, AIDS and regional differences.

Streaming Media

AIDS: A Global Crisis
This program offers an excellent worldview of AIDS, providing background on the disease’s history, its transmission and symptoms, innovative awareness campaigns, and the ongoing search by scientists from around the globe to find an effective long-term treatment. Fred Valentine, director of the Center for AIDS Research at the New York University School of Medicine; Lawrence Altman, medical correspondent for The New York Times; Andrew McMichael, principal investigator for the Oxford AIDS Vaccine Initiative; and others share their insights into a pandemic that has already infected and killed tens of millions. (28 minutes)
AIDS in Africa
With millions dead of AIDS and millions more infected with HIV, Africa is in danger of becoming little more than a graveyard. In this program, ABC News anchor Ted Koppel and correspondent Dave Marash deliver three successive reports on the AIDS epidemic currently spinning out of control in Zimbabwe. Together they address the hardships of a society composed of mostly the very old and the very young; the wildfire spread of HIV in a culture that supports casual sex; and the grim future facing a nation deprived of its core adult population. Archbishop Desmond Tutu joins in the discussion of this monumental tragedy. (58 minutes)
AIDS in America: A History
From San Francisco, the epicenter of the AIDS explosion, to the Bronx, notorious for its injected drug abuse, this program examines how AIDS took hold in the U.S. during the early 1980s and the advances being made toward a cure. Noted journalist David Perlman, of the San Francisco Chronicle; pioneering epidemiologist Dr. Selma Dritz; Dr. Robert Gallo, co-discoverer of the retrovirus HIV1; Dr. Anthony Fauci, head of AIDS research in America; and others offer insights into life with AIDS, the disease’s African roots, medical advances such as AZT and protease inhibitors, and the boost to AIDS awareness given by celebrities. (48 minutes)
The Nemesis of Mankind: HIV and AIDS
More than three decades after the first cases of Acquired Immunodeficiency Syndrome (AIDS) were reported, the global health community is still dealing with a pandemic of 33 million infected people, of which about 3 million are children. Learn the scientific facts behind this virus and why it is so difficult to find a vaccine or cure.

Perspectives

The Epidemic: A Global History of AIDS

From the Castro bathhouses to AZT and the denial of AIDS in South Africa, this sweeping look at AIDS covers the epidemic from all angles and across the world. Engel seamlessly weaves together science, politics, and culture, writing with an even hand—noting the excesses of the more radical edges of the ACT UP movement as well as the conservative religious leaders who thought AIDS victims deserved what they got. The story of AIDS is one of the most compelling human dramas of our time, both in its profound tragedy and in the extraordinary scientific efforts impelled on its behalf. For gay Americans, it has been the story of the past generation, redefining the community and the community's sexuality. For the Third World, AIDS has created endless devastation, toppling economies, social structures, and whole villages and regions. And the worst may yet be to come: AIDS is expanding quickly into India, Russia, China, and elsewhere, while still raging insub-Saharan Africa. A distinguished medical historian, Engel lets his characters speak for themselves. Whether gay activists, government officials, public health professionals, scientists, or frightened parents of schoolchildren, they responded as best they could to tragic happenstance that emerged seemingly from nowhere. There is much drama here, and human weakness and heroism too. Writing with vivid immediacy, Engel allows us to relive the short but tumultuous history of a modern scourge.

AIDS

According to WHO, HIV/AIDS remains one of the world's most significant public health challenges, particularly in low-income and middle-income countries. Your readers are provided with essential information on HIV/AIDS. This book also serves as a historical survey, by providing information on the controversies surrounding its causes. Compelling first-person narratives by people coping with HIV/AIDS give readers a first-hand experience. Readers will learn from the words of patients, family members, or caregivers. The symptoms, causes, treatments, and potential cures are explained in detail. Alternative treatments are also covered. Each essay is carefully edited and presented with an introduction, so that they are accessible for student researchers and readers.

ANAC's Core Curriculum for HIV / AIDS Nursing

The Association of Nurses in AIDS Care (ANAC) presents the essential information needed by every nurse working with HIV/AIDS patients in any setting. The text provides an educational framework for HIV/AIDS clinical content and serves those preparing for specialty certification in HIV/AIDS training. The text covers: A) Infection, transmission, and prevention B) Clinical management of a variety of patient types C) Symptomatic conditions and symptom management D) Special populations E) Psychosocial concerns for patients.ANAC's Core Curriculum for HIV/AIDS Nursing, Third Edition includes the following new topics:Updates to the evidence basis underlying the nursing care of persons with HIV/AIDS.New issues and challenges including the care for pediatric patients and adults with giardia, syphilis and bipolar disease. New text features including case studies and quizzes.

HIV/AIDS: A Very Short Introduction

HIV/AIDS is without doubt the worst epidemic to hit humankind since the Black Death. The first case was identified in 1981; by 2004 it was estimated that about 40 million people were living with the disease, and about 20 million had died. Despite rapid scientific advances there is still no cure and the drugs are expensive and toxic. Because of controversies and taboos surrounding safe drug usage and prostitution, the numbers of people infected continues to rise. However, it is in the developing world and especially parts of Africa that the real catastrophe is unfolding. In some of the worst affected countries life expectancy has plummeted to below 35 years, which has led to a serious decline in economic growth, a sharp rise in orphaning, and the imminent collapse of health care systems. The news is not all bleak though. There have been unprecedented breakthroughs in understanding diseases and developing drugs. Because the disease is so closely linked to sexual activity and drug use, the need to understand and change behaviour has caused us to reassess what it means to be human and how we should operate in the globalising world. This Very Short Introduction provides an introduction to the disease, tackling the science, the international and local politics, the fascinating demographics, and the devastating consequences of the disease, and explores how we have -- and must -- respond.

The AIDS Crisis

Over forty million people today are living with HIV/AIDS. In 2005, three million people died of AIDS, and half a million of them were children. The reality is dark. But in darkness, even one small flame of light makes a difference. And the church of Jesus Christ is bringing light into the darkness of the AIDS crisis all over the world. Like these churches, this book is a flame. Deborah Dortzbach and Meredith Long offer personal stories, up-to-date statistics and their years of international experience to give us the global portrait of AIDS: the roots of the problem and the role of the church. They teach us to listen. They allow us to observe. They help us become informed so that we can become involved, partnering with brothers and sisters already at work around the world loving, lobbying, caring, praying. "The light shines in the darkness, and the darkness has not overcome it" (Jn 1:5). Here is a book to help us see how the light of Christ shining through his church can change the course of the current AIDS crisis. Market/Audience Ministry organizations Missionaries Laypeople concerned about the AIDS crisis Pastors Features and Benefits Gives a global perspective by national and international experts. Gives a biblical perspective. Provides the basic facts we need to know in a brief format. Provides a great orientation for anyone interested in AIDS. Offers concrete ideas for taking action.