Reference
- Kush, Kingdom ofThe Kingdom of Kush was a major power in the Nile valley for over 1000 years and, for a brief period around 700 bce, dominated it, controlling an empire stretching from Central Sudan to the Mediterranean. Heavily influenced by Egypt, Kushite civilization represented an amalgam of foreign influences from the north, originally Pharaonic, later Hellenistic and Roman, along with the indigenous African culture. In the far north entirely a riverine civilization, further south it spread out into the savannah. Its diverse economy supported a highly developed urban civilization as well as integrating a substantial nomadic population, underpinned by extensive agriculture and animal husbandry. Sitting athwart the major ancient trade route from central Africa its rulers amassed considerable wealth, reflected in their extensive monumental building projects and rich tombs marked by stone pyramids.
The Kingdom of Kush has a history spanning well over a millennium. When Rome was nothing but a group of huts on the Palatine Hill, Kush ruled an empire stretching at least from the confluence of the White and Blue Niles in central Sudan to the borders of the Mediterranean Sea, 1800 km as the crow flies and 3000 km along the Nile. Around 300 ce it still controlled much of the Nile Valley, from the First Cataract to the Blue Nile, possibly even extending its domain when the Roman emperor Diocletian (284–305 ce) was forced to make a strategic withdrawal along his southern Egyptian frontier.
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Credo Reference is an easy-to-use tool for starting research. Gather background information on your topic from hundreds of full-text encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri, quotations, and subject-specific titles, as well as 500,000+ images and audio files and over 1,000 videos.
Perspectives
The kingdom of Kush : handbook of the Napatan-Meroitic civilization
The individual character of Kingdom of Kush has often been overshadowed by the overwhelming cultural presence of its neighbour Egypt. This handbook in our series \'Handbuch der Orientalistik/Handbook of Oriental Studies\' for the first time presents a comprehensive survey of the rich textual, archaeological and art historical evidence for this Middle Nile Region Kingdom of Kush . Basing itself both on the evidence and scholarly literature, this work discusses the emergence of the native state of Kush (after the Pharaonic domination in the 11th century B.C.), the rule of the Kings of Kush in Egypt (c. 760-656) and the intellectual foundations and political history of the Kingdom in the Napatan (7th - Third centuries) and Meroitic (3rd century B.C. - 4th century A.D.) periods.
African Kingdoms
This history-rich volume details the sociopolitical, economic, and artistic aspects of African kingdoms from the earliest times to the second half of the 19th century. Africa has a long and fascinating history and is a place of growing importance in the world history curriculum. This detailed encyclopedia covers the history of African kingdoms from antiquity through the mid-19th century, tracing the dynasties' ties to modern globalization and influences on world culture before, during, and after the demise of the slave trade. Along with an exploration of African heritage, this reference is rich with firsthand accounts of Africa through the oral traditions of its people and the written journals of European explorers, missionaries, and travelers who visited Africa from the 15th century and onward. Alphabetically arranged entries cover a particular kingdom and feature information on the economic, cultural, religious, political, social, and environmental history of the regime. The content references popular culture, movies, and art that present contemporary reenactments of kingdoms, emphasizing the importance of history in shaping modern ideas. Other features include primary source documents, a selected bibliography of print and electronic resources, and dozens of sidebars containing key facts and interesting trivia. Provides relevant perspective on globalization in the pre-modern era, documenting how humans across time and places have shared various components of customs ranging from food, language, and music to religion and spirituality Supports Common Core standards Includes primary documents for enhancing critical thinking and research skills Features cross references and suggestions for further reading Highlights key facts and interesting trivia through illuminating sidebars
Ancient African Civilizations
Stanley Burstein has researched, compiled, and translated with commentary the most significant Greek and Roman sources concerning black Africa. The result is this work about the people of the southern part of the Nile Valley, the gold mines of Nubia, the Hellenistic city of Meroe, capital of the Ethiopian Empire of Kush with its own highly developed culture (300 BC to 300 AD). Burstein opens the volume with a brief survey of the two kingdoms of Kush and Axum. With introductions and notes he then presents the ancient literary and epigraphical testimony for this region.
Dynasty XXV - The Nubians Have Their Day
- Kanopy This link opens in a new window
Nubians had been permitted to grow independent, with their leaders taking the title of pharaoh. They were also devoted to Amun, so in a sense, Egypt was their spiritual home. We will see a warrior from the south (Kush) battling a confederation of Egyptian "kings" and unifying Egypt once again.
Nubia and the Nile River
- Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
The kingdom of Kush existed from approximately 800 B.C. to 350 A.D. in the region still known as Nubia. It was an important trading corridor between the ancient worlds. Respect for the Nile is ingrained in the culture of the Kushite's descendants.
Nubia and the Mysteries of Kush
- Films on Demand This link opens in a new windowHidden away in the Butana region of northern Sudan lie the ruins of ancient Nubia, an African civilization that rivaled Egypt for centuries. This film familiarizes students with ongoing excavations that study and preserve the deteriorating remains of the Nubian kingdom of Kush. Interviews with Sudanese, American, and European archaeologists and historians are interwoven with stunning footage from dig sites and graphics that illustrate ancient building designs and techniques. Viewers will encounter Nubian temples, pyramids, writing, and artifacts—as well as fresh perspectives on the flowering of culture, technology, and political power in the ancient Nile Valley.
Learn More
- Napata and MeroeNapata and Meroe were the most important centers within the Kushite Empire, which flourished from the eighth century BCE to the fourth century CE...
- NubiaAncient region of the Nile River valley, northeastern Africa. Its borders originally extended north to include Aswān and, before completion of the Aswan High Dam, the first cataract of the Nile in Upper Egypt. ..
Dynasties XXVIII to XXXI - The Beginning of the End
- Kanopy This link opens in a new windowFour very brief dynasties ruled in succession. When the last native-born ruler, Nectanebo II, was forced to flee into Nubia, Egypt's glory was over.