Holocaust
This guide includes a collection of resources on the Holocaust, which took place during World War II.
Sadly, many individuals doubt or even deny that the Holocaust was a real event. According to an article written by The Guardian, "Almost two-thirds of young American adults do not know that 6 million Jews were killed during the Holocaust, and more than one in 10 believe Jews caused the Holocaust, a new survey has found, revealing shocking levels of ignorance about the greatest crime of the 20th century."
This guide is not comprehensive and only scratches the surface on the materials available to research and study this important historical event. We encourage you to view the resource available on the links below to learn more. Additionally, the Research & Resources tab provides a list of primary sources and McKee Library databases. A reading list of titles available at McKee Library is also linked on this guide.
Internet Resources
- The Holocaust: National WWII MuseumThe Holocaust was Nazi Germany’s deliberate, organized, state-sponsored persecution and machinelike murder of approximately six million European Jews and at least five million prisoners of war, Romany, Jehovah’s Witnesses, homosexuals, and other victims. This high-quality overview is from The National WWII Museum.
- Holocaust EncyclopediaLearn more about the Holocaust through the Holocaust Encyclopedia.
- Holocaust Memorial Day TrustHolocaust Memorial Day Trust (HMDT) is the charity established and funded by the UK Government to promote and support Holocaust Memorial Day (HMD) in the UK.
- Introduction to the Holocaust: Holocaust EncyclopediaThe Holocaust was the systematic, state-sponsored persecution and murder of six million Jews by the Nazi regime and its allies and collaborators. The Nazis came to power in Germany in January 1933. They believed that the Germans belonged to a race that was "superior" to all others. They claimed that the Jews belonged to a race that was "inferior" and a threat to the so-called German racial community.
- Museum of Jewish Heritage: A Living Memorial to the HolocaustThe Museum of Jewish Heritage – A Living Memorial to the Holocaust is New York’s contribution to the global responsibility to never forget. The Museum is committed to the crucial mission of educating diverse visitors about Jewish life before, during, and after the Holocaust.
- United States Holocaust MemorialA living memorial to the Holocaust, the United States Holocaust Memorial Museum inspires citizens and leaders worldwide to confront hatred, prevent genocide, and promote human dignity. Federal support guarantees the Museum’s permanent place on the National Mall, and its far-reaching educational programs and global impact are made possible by generous donors.
Podcasts
- 12 Years That Shook the World PodcastToday, Holocaust history shapes aspects of our lives—often in ways we don’t expect. 12 Years That Shook the World explores the continuing impact of this 12-year history, one story at a time. This podcast is featured in the United States Holocaust Memorial's website.
- Public Radio Special: Confronting Hatred 70 Years After the HolocaustThis hour-long special, airing on public radio stations across the country, brings together a broad range of voices to talk about racism, antisemitism, and the ways in which hatred can grow. We hear from a former skinhead, an imam, a prosecutor for the Rwandan genocide trials; people speaking from many perspectives, including heavy metal singer David Draiman, filmmaker Errol Morris, and Holocaust survivor and Nobel Peace Prize recipient Elie Wiesel. Also available on iTunes.
Genocide
GENOCIDE, an Academy Award winning documentary, takes a harrowing look at life during the Holocaust. Orson Welles and Elizabeth Taylor lend their voices to this heartbreaking historical account.
Source: Kanopy
Reading List
- Holocaust Reading List
McKee Library's Holocaust Reading List contains information on McKee Library's collection of resources relating to the Holocaust, including recommended books for further reading and films.
World War II Research Guide
McKee Library Databases
- Historical Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Historical Abstracts with Full Text covers world history from the 15th century to the present. Covers related disciplines such as archaeology, anthropology, and sociology. You will find full-text coverage of more than 540 journals and 140 books, with indexing for 2,300 journals in over 40 languages.
- History Vault This link opens in a new window
History Vault provides a first-hand look at pivotal moments in history. You will find primary source materials from the University Publications of America (UPA) Collection.
- Humanities Source Ultimate This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window- This link opens in a new window
Humanities Source Ultimate offers access to key content covering literary, scholarly, and creative thought. It also includes hundreds of scholarly full-text journals cited in leading subject indexes to round out student research.
- Military and Government Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The Military and Government Collection offers current literature for military members, analysts, policymakers, students and researchers. You will find full-text journals and periodicals pertaining to all branches of the military and government.
The Holocaust and the Nazi Racial Empire
- The Holocaust and the Nazi Racial EmpireThe sheer number of casualties in the Holocaust defies the imagination. In this lecture, Professor Liulevicius guides you through this troubling history. You’ll learn about German goals and actions, Nazi collaborators who helped produce the Holocaust, and resistance from within the Jewish community and in the world at large.