Reference
- Pervasive Developmental DisorderThe category of pervasive developmental disorders (PDD) includes autistic disorder, Rett syndrome, Childhood disintegrative disorder (CDD), Asperger’s disorder, and pervasive developmental disorder–not otherwise specified (PDDNOS; American Psychiatric Association [APA], ). PDD is characterized by impairment during the first few years of life in social, affective, communicative, and cognitive development. It is difficult to estimate an overall prevalence rate for the five disorders due to disagreement regarding different diagnosis. For example, there is some research to suggest that autism and PDDNOS are different points on a continuum (Tsai,).
Prevalence rates for disorders in the PDD category are as follows: Autism and Aspergers together occur in 1 per 1,000 children, Rett syndrome occurs in approximately 1 in 10,000–15,000 (primarily females), and CDD is extremely rare (Tanguay,). The increasing incidence of PDD disorders is due in part to greater knowledge regarding diagnosis and broader diagnostic categories. Social class was thought to affect the occurrence of PDD; however, research indicates that PDD occurs across all social classes (Klinger & Dawson,). PDD is 3 to 4 times greater in males than in females and is found all over the world, with similar incidence and prevalence rates regarding gender, social class, and cognitive abilities. Rett syndrome is primarily found in females; few male cases have been documented. Differential diagnosis is needed for disorders within the PDD category as well as several other disorders, including developmental language delay, childhood schizophrenia, a degenerative central nervous system disorder, and Landau-Kleffner syndrome.
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Credo Reference is an easy-to-use tool for starting research. Gather background information on your topic from hundreds of full-text encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri, quotations, and subject-specific titles, as well as 500,000+ images and audio files and over 1,000 videos.
Websites
- Audiovisual speech integration in pervasive developmental disorder: evidence from event-related potentialsIntegration of information from multiple sensory sources is an important prerequisite for successful social behavior, especially during face-to-face conversation. It has been suggested that communicative impairments among individuals with pervasive developmental disorders (PDD) might be caused by an inability to integrate synchronously presented visual and auditory cues.
- Developmental milestones in toddlers with autistic disorder, pervasive developmental disorder-not otherwise specified and atypical developmento investigate age differences in developmental milestone attainment among toddlers with Autistic Disorder, PDD-NOS and atypical development. Methods: A questionnaire was administered to caregivers of toddlers to obtain ages of onset of developmental milestones.
- Diagnostic Criteria for Pervasive Development Disorders-CDCLearn more about the diagnostic criteria for Pervasive Developmental Disorder from the CDC.
- Infancy predictors of hyperkinetic and pervasive developmental disorders at ages 5-7 years: results from the Copenhagen Child Cohort CCC2000.Epidemiological studies infancy predictors of mental disorders are scarce. Methods The study is part of a longitudinal birth-cohort study, The Copenhagen Child Cohort CCC2000. Infant mental health and development and mother-infant relations were assessed by community health nurses from birth to age 10 months. Data on the perinatal period were obtained from Danish National Registers.
- Pervasive Developmental Disorder-Birth Defect Research for ChildrenPervasive Developmental Disorder (PDD) is an umbrella term referring to a group of disorders of social interaction, communication, behavior, and cognition. There has been considerable debate among the experts in the medical community regarding the labels for disorders classified within the PDD group.
- Pervasive Developmental Disorder - Not Otherwise Specified (PDD-NOS)PDD-NOS stands for Pervasive Developmental Disorder-Not Otherwise Specified. PDD-NOS was one of several previously separate subtypes of autism that were folded into the single diagnosis of autism spectrum disorder (ASD) with the publication of the DSM-5 diagnostic manual in 2013.
In the past, psychologists and psychiatrists often used the term “pervasive developmental disorders” and “autism spectrum disorders” (ASD) interchangeably. As such, PDD-NOS became the diagnosis applied to children or adults who are on the autism spectrum but do not fully meet the criteria for another ASD such as autistic disorder (sometimes called “classic” autism) or Asperger syndrome. - Pervasive Developmental Disorders-Child Neurology FoundationThe diagnostic category of pervasive developmental disorders (PDD) refers to a group of disorders characterized by delays in the development of socialization and communication skills. Parents may note symptoms as early as infancy, although the typical age of onset is before 3 years of age. Symptoms may include problems with using and understanding language; difficulty relating to people, objects, and events; unusual play with toys and other objects; difficulty with changes in routine or familiar surroundings, and repetitive body movements or behavior patterns. Autism (a developmental brain disorder characterized by impaired social interaction and communication skills, and a limited range of activities and interests) is the most characteristic and best studied PDD. Other types of PDD include Asperger’s Syndrome, Childhood Disintegrative Disorder, and Rett’s Syndrome. Children with PDD vary widely in abilities, intelligence, and behaviors. Some children do not speak at all, others speak in limited phrases or conversations, and some have relatively normal language development. Repetitive play skills and limited social skills are generally evident. Unusual responses to sensory information, such as loud noises and lights, are also common.
- Pervasive Developmental Disorders Information Page-National Institute for Neurological Disorders and StrokeThe diagnostic category of pervasive developmental disorders (PDD) refers to a group of disorders characterized by delays in the development of socialization and communication skills. Parents may note symptoms as early as infancy, although the typical age of onset is before 3 years of age. Symptoms may include problems with using and understanding language; difficulty relating to people, objects, and events; unusual play with toys and other objects; difficulty with changes in routine or familiar surroundings, and repetitive body movements or behavior patterns.
Perspectives
Autism, Asperger Syndrome and Pervasive Developmental Disorder: an Altered Perspective
Autism Spectrum Disorder, or ASD, is the umbrella term used to describe a whole family of related conditions. Within this group, there is a subgroup of conditions known as PDD (NOS) - Pervasive Developmental Disorder (not otherwise specified) - which do not quite meet the diagnostic criteria of Autism or Asperger Syndrome. Written specifically for parents, this fully-updated second edition sets out what it means for a child to be diagnosed with ASD, PDD (NOS), autism or Asperger Syndrome, and explains where parents should go from there. The authors describe the signs and symptoms of each condition, what a diagnosis means, how a child fits into the diagnostic terminology, and what the diagnostic procedures involve. Associated disorders such as Rett Syndrome, Childhood Disintegrative Disorder and OCD are reviewed, and the authors describe the various treatments, therapies, and educational approaches available. The book also includes new information on medication and on the evolving concept of diagnosis, as well as a list of frequently asked questions and new interviews with parents of children on the autism spectrum. Accessible, informative, and supportive, this book is an essential guide for parents of children with an autism spectrum disorder.
Handbook of Autism and Pervasive Developmental Disorders
The second edition of the benchmark reference Since its first edition, this handbook has become the most influential reference work in the field of autism and related conditions. Now expanded to two volumes, this comprehensive work provides a thorough review of these disorders, drawing on findings and clinical experience from a number of related disciplines. The Second Edition covers all current treatment models, and is updated to include new methods for screening and assessment, genetic components, and school-based interventions. All chapters have been thoroughly updated; two-thirds of chapters are entirely new to this edition. VolumeTwo includes the newest, most authoritative information available on assessment, interventions, and policy ramifications surrounding pervasive developmental disorders.
What to Do If the Mind Does Not Develop
The result of three decades of psychoanalytic work with children and adolescents, this book takes a fresh and empathic look on the pervasive developmental disorders in childhood and adolescence, describing their many manifestations through the presentation of particularly representative clinical cases, in pages of high scientific rigour but also of simple and poetic language. What To Do if the Mind Does Not Develop speaks both to the specialist and researcher and to the reader who is simply interested in the topic, thanks also to a glossary of the more difficult technical terms. The text offers valuable psychoanalytic observations on the cognitive and emotional difficulties of these patients that may help physicians, teachers, and parents to develop a better and deeper understanding of their true psychology.
Streaming Media
- Autism Speaks "Learn the Signs"Jacob, an 11-year old autistic boy and a cast of fantastic animated characters illuminate the signs of autism in children to help parents recognize them early.
- Early Signs of AutismJake begins to show signs of autism by age two. He stops playing, imitating, and interacting. He is diagnosed with Pervasive Developmental Disorder (PDD), a type of autism that affects motor skills. An ABC News Production.