Romanticism
The romanticism movement occurred between 1800 AD to 1850 AD. This time period is noted for noble simplicity and didactic subject matter (Art in Context, 2021).
- Famous Romanticism Paintings – The Best Examples of Romantic-Era ArtThe Romanticism movement was a force that dominated Europe during the late 1800s. It was an artistic, intellectual, and literary movement cultivated as a reaction to the Classicism and Neoclassicism movements that preceded it.
- Romanticism: BritannicaRomanticism, attitude or intellectual orientation that characterized many works of literature, painting, music, architecture, criticism, and historiography in Western civilization over a period from the late 18th to the mid-19th century.
- Romanticism: The Metropolitan Museum of ArtRomanticism, first defined as an aesthetic in literary criticism around 1800, gained momentum as an artistic movement in France and Britain in the early decades of the nineteenth century and flourished until mid-century.
- Romanticism Art – The Art, Literature, and Music of the Romantic PeriodAround the turn of the 19th century, the Romantic movement began to emerge throughout Europe. The Romantic movement, which emphasized emotion and imagination, emerged in response to artistic disillusion with the Enlightenment ideas of order and reason.
- Summary of RomanticismAt the end of the 18th century and well into the 19th, Romanticism quickly spread throughout Europe and the United States to challenge the rational ideal held so tightly during the Enlightenment.
Research & Reference
- Romanticism: Credo ReferenceA Credo Reference landing page on romanticism. This page includes links to reference works, journal articles, and a mind map.
- Romanticism: New World EncyclopediaRomanticism was an artistic and intellectual movement that ran from the late eighteenth century through the nineteenth century.
Streaming Media
- Revolutions - Neoclassicism and RomanticismThe early 19th century saw the emergence of two compelling and highly contrasting styles. Referencing the art of Napoleonic painter Jacques-Louis David, discover the tenets of Neoclassicism, specifically its ordered composition and emphasis on stoicism, morality, and rational control. In works by Eugène Delacroix, find the spirit of Romanticism and its concern with dramatic proportions, emotion, and spirituality.
Perspectives
The Oxford Handbook of British Romanticism
The Oxford Handbook of British Romanticism offers a comprehensive guide to the literature and thought of the Romantic period, and an overview of the latest research on this topic. Written by a team of international experts, the Handbook analyses all aspects of the Romantic movement,pinpointing its different historical phases and analysing the intellectual and political currents which shaped them. It gives particular attention to devolutionary trends, exploring the English, Scottish, Welsh, and Irish strands in "British" Romanticism and assessing the impact of theconstitutional changes that brought into being the "United Kingdom" at a time of revolutionary turbulence and international conflict. It also gives extensive coverage to the publishing and reception history of Romantic writing, highlighting the role of readers, reviewers, publishers, andinstitutions in shaping Romantic literary culture and transmitting its ideas and values.Divided into ten sections, each containing four or five chapters, the Handbook covers key themes and concepts in Romantic studies as well as less chartered topics such as freedom of speech, literature and drugs, Romantic oratory, and literary uses of dialect. All the major male and female Romanticauthors are included along with numerous lesser-known writers, the emphasis throughout being on the diversity of Romantic writing and the complexities and internal divisions of the culture that sustained it. The volume strikes a balance between familiarity and novelty to provide an accessible guideto current thinking and a conceptual reorganization of this fast-moving field.
European Romanticism
As the nineteenth century began, western Europe was swept by one of the great cultural shifts of the modern era: the Romantic movement. Warren Breckman’s volume examines the history of Romanticism as a political, literary, and philosophical movement that exerted a significant influence on modern attitudes toward art, science, and religion. Incorporating both creative and critical writings from English, German, French, and Italian Romantic authors, as well as visual art of the Romantic era, Breckman demonstrates the crucial role of emergent nationalism within the Romantic movement, but also makes clear the transnational connections that made Romanticism a movement of international scope. This complex and wide-ranging cultural phenomenon is made accessible for undergraduates by an extensive introduction and contextualized by clear document headnotes. A chronology, questions for consideration, and a selected bibliography provide further resources for students.
Romanticism, History, and the Possibilities of Genre
Romanticism has often been associated with the mode of lyric, or otherwise confined within mainstream genres. As a result, we have neglected the sheer diversity and generic hybridity of a literature that ranged from the Gothic novel to the national tale, from monthly periodicals to fictionalized autobiography. In this volume leading scholars of the period explore the ways in which the Romantics developed genre from a taxonomical given into a cultural category, so as to make it the scene of an ongoing struggle between fixed norms and new initiatives. Focusing on non-canonical writers (such as Thelwall, Godwin and the novelists of the 1790s), or placing authors such as Wordsworth and Byron in a non-canonical context, these essays explore the psychic and social politics of genre from a variety of theoretical perspectives, while the introduction looks at how genre itself was rethought by Romantic criticism.