Renaissance Art
The renaissance occurred during the 1300s.
- Renaissance Art: BritannicaRenaissance art, painting, sculpture, architecture, music, and literature produced during the 14th, 15th, and 16th centuries in Europe under the combined influences of an increased awareness of nature, a revival of classical learning, and a more individualistic view of man.
- Renaissance Art and Architecture: Oxford Art OnlineThe Renaissance refers to the era in Europe from the 14th to the 16th century in which a new style in painting, sculpture and architecture developed after the Gothic. Although a religious view of the world continued to play an important role in the lives of Europeans, a growing awareness of the natural world, the individual and collective humanity’s worldly existence characterize the Renaissance period. Derived from the French word, renaissance, and the Italian word rinascità, both meaning ‘rebirth’, the Renaissance was a period when scholars and artists began to investigate what they believed to be a revival of classical learning, literature and art. For example, the followers of the 14th-century author Petrarch began to study texts from Greece and Rome for their moral content and literary style. Having its roots in the medieval university, this study called Humanism centered on rhetoric, literature, history and moral philosophy.
- Renaissance Art – An Artistic Exploration of the Renaissance Time PeriodWe all have an idea of the importance of the Renaissance era in European history, and the age of innovation and enlightenment that so characterizes it. The art that came from this time is still among us today, from revivals in pop culture to the originals housed in art galleries all over Europe.
Research & Reference
- Renaissance Art: Credo ReferenceA Credo Reference landing page on Renaissance art. This page includes links to reference works, journal articles, and a mind map.
Streaming Media
- Early Renaissance - Humanism EmergentContemplate the Renaissance phenomena of classicism and humanism in 15th-century Italian art, which focused - even in religious art - on the human body, nature, and depictions of earthly life and the individual. Learn how to recognize Early Renaissance art in characteristic subject matter and stylistic technique.
- Painting in the Early Italian RenaissanceUsing the careers and works of artists like Masaccio, Giotto, and Botticelli, discover how early Renaissance painting innovated and celebrated the experience of being human. In addition, you'll examine the business side of art, including matters of patronage that were central to artists during the Italian Renaissance.
Perspectives
Renaissance Art and Architecture
The Renaissance, French for ''rebirth'', was undoubtedly the most intensely creative period in history. This explosion of activity is reflected perhaps more than elsewhere in the art and architecture of the period. The legacy the artists, sculptors, tradesmen, architects, garden designers,engravers, and printers left behind can still be seen all over Europe today, not only in the things produced at the time but also in modern art, architecture, culture, and ways of thinking.Illustrated throughout, Renaissance Art and Architecture provides the reader with an informative overview of this fascinating period and comprehensive, alphabetically arranged entries on individual artists, architects and theorists, Schools, styles, techniques, and terms. Intruiging captions explainall featured pictures, giving the history and myth behind paintings, buildings, sculptures, and more.
Renaissance Art: a Very Short Introduction
Botticelli, Holbein, Leonardo, Durer, Michelangelo: the names are familiar, as are the works, such as the Last Supper fresco, or the monumental marble statue of David. But who were these artists, why did they produce such memorable images, and how would their original beholders have viewedthese objects? Was the Renaissance only about great masters and masterpieces, or were "mistresses" also involved, such as women artists and patrons? And what about the 'minor'-pieces that Renaissance men and women would have encountered in homes, churches and civic spaces? This exciting andstimulating volume will answer such questions by considering both famous and lesser-known artists, patrons and works of art within the cultural and historical context of Renaissance Europe.
History of Italian Renaissance Art
For survey courses in Italian Renaissance art. A broad survey of art and architecture in Italy between c. 1250 and 1600, this book approaches the works from the point of view of the artist as individual creator and as an expression of the city within which the artist was working. History of Italian Renaissance Art, Seventh Edition, brings you an updated understanding of this pivotal period as it incorporates new research and current art historical thinking, while also maintaining the integrity of the story that Frederick Hartt first told so enthusiastically many years ago. Choosing to retain Frederick Hartt's traditional framework, David Wilkins' incisive revisions keep the book fresh and up-to-date.
Art and Architecture in France, 1500-1700
This study of 16th- and 17th-century French art and architecture, presents major artists and their works chronologically. The author provides an overview of the main projects of the period and of the artistic personalities behind them, and sets the historical context.
The History of the Renaissance World
A lively and fascinating narrative history about the birth of the modern world. Beginning in the heady days just after the First Crusade, this volume--the third in the series that began with The History of the Ancient World and The History of the Medieval World--chronicles the contradictions of a world in transition. Popes continue to preach crusade, but the hope of a Christian empire comes to a bloody end at the walls of Constantinople. Aristotelian logic and Greek rationality blossom while the Inquisition gathers strength. As kings and emperors continue to insist on their divine rights, ordinary people all over the world seize power: the lingayats of India, the Jacquerie of France, the Red Turbans of China, and the peasants of England. New threats appear, as the Ottomans emerge from a tiny Turkish village and the Mongols ride out of the East to set the world on fire. New currencies are forged, new weapons invented, and world-changing catastrophes alter the landscape: the Little Ice Age and the Great Famine kill millions; the Black Death, millions more. In the chaos of these epoch-making events, our own world begins to take shape. Impressively researched and brilliantly told, The History of the Renaissance World offers not just the names, dates, and facts but the memorable characters who illuminate the years between 1100 and 1453--years that marked a sea change in mankind's perception of the world.
The Grove Encyclopedia of Northern Renaissance Art
The Grove Encyclopedia of Northern Renaissance Art deals with all aspects of Northern Renaissance art ranging from artists, architecture, and patrons to the cities and centers of production vital to the flourishing of art in this period. This encyclopedia draws upon the unsurpassed scholarshipon the Renaissance in Northern Europe in The Dictionary of Art in addition to dozens of new entries. Comprehensive and engaging, this resource is an accessible reference for students, researchers and scholars researching in this important area.The volumes cover all subject areas in Northern Renaissance art including: biographies of artists, artisans, architects, craftsmen, philosophers, rulers, archaeologists, and historians; countries, cities and centers of production; art forms and architectural monuments and styles; theory, criticism,historiography, collecting, patronage and more. It addresses people and subjects specific to all areas of Northern, Central, and Eastern Europe, including, for example, the diverse geographical regions that now encompass the modern nations of Germany, Austria, France, England, the Netherlands,Belgium, Scandinavia, Poland, and Russia. The Grove Encyclopedia of Northern Renaissance Art provides unparalleled scope and depth in this field, which has inspired and informed Western art for centuries. It offers fully updated articles and bibliography as well as more than 500 illustrations, maps,drawings, diagrams and color plates.