Reference
- bonsai(Japanese: “tray planting”) Living dwarf tree or trees; also, the art of training and growing them in containers. Bonsai specimens are ordinary trees and shrubs, not hereditary dwarfs; they are dwarfed by a system of pruning roots and branches and training branches by tying them with wire. The art originated in China but has been pursued and developed primarily by the Japanese. The direct inspiration for bonsai is found in nature, in trees that grow in harsh, rocky places and are dwarfed and gnarled throughout their existence. Prized characteristics are an aged-looking trunk and branches and weathered-looking exposed upper roots. Bonsai may live for a century or more and are handed down from one generation to another as valued family possessions. Bonsai pots, usually earthenware and of variable shape, are carefully chosen to harmonize in colour and proportion with the tree. A sizable bonsai industry exists as part of the nursery industry in Japan; California is home to a small-scale bonsai industry.
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Credo Reference is an easy-to-use tool for starting research. Gather background information on your topic from hundreds of full-text encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri, quotations, and subject-specific titles, as well as 500,000+ images and audio files and over 1,000 videos.
Bonsai Societies
- American Bonsai SocietySharing the Love of Bonsai since 1967
- Knoxville Bonsai SocietyLearn about Knoxville's own bonsai society
- Tennessee Valley Bonsai SocietyThe Tennessee Valley Bonsai Society promotes knowledge, interest, education, and the enjoyment of bonsai and other living plant materials in the Chattanooga, Tennessee, area.
We invite experienced bonsaists, inexperienced bonsaists, and those having an interest in the art of bonsai to join our group to participate in monthly meetings and share with us knowledge, experience, and fellowship.
Streaming Media
- Chinese Bonsai CultivationTime seems to have stood still in Naxi rural villages where most make their livelihood from agriculture and raising livestock. Some have prospered through bonsai cultivation. A rural Naxi family home combines tradition and modern high-tech culture.
- Bonsai Garden of the Bao ClanOnce the largest private garden in China, the Bao Family Garden was originally property of a wealthy Chinese businessman.
- Zhu Kun's FamilyAfter Zhu Kun leaves for school, his mother shops at the local market and washes clothes. His father checks on the family bonsai plant farm. Zhu Kun's mother prepares lunch.
Perspectives
Indoor Bonsai for Beginners
Creating beautiful, healthy bonsai is a wonderful skill that anyone can learn, with a little time, patience, and this all-inclusive manual. With color photos and drawings to illustrate the points, it introduces all the cultivation techniques; offers expert advice on location, soil types, watering, and pest control; and provides intricate instruction on training the bonsai--including pruning, wiring and stretching it. An A-to-Z guide of all the popular species showcases varieties that range from a flowering" Camellia Japonica," with its beautiful smooth stem, to an easy-to-care for Olive tree. Each entry gives some background on the plant, and includes suggestions for acquiring the bonsai and directions on how to position it in the room for best results.
The Complete Practical Encyclopedia of Bonsai
This book defines and describes the ancient craft of bonsai, explaining the best trees and shrubs to use as well as the importance of size, proportion and aesthetics. The art of display is also examined, with useful advice on pots and containers, as well as how to display bonsai indoors and outdoors. The techniques of this precise art form are clearly described, and there is guidance on tools, propagation, and soil types, as well as on basic pruning, shaping and wiring. An invaluable bonsai directory provides information on a variety of popular species, while a chapter on caring for bonsai gives advice on general maintenance, as well as coping with pests and diseases. A unique section describes 15 of the most popular styles and includes how-to instruction on how to achieve each example.
Bonsai Basics - a Comprehensive Guide to Care and Cultivation
Tailored to meet the needs of the first time bonsai owner, this book is an extensive directory of every major bonsai type. Bonsai Basics explains in detail all the techniques needed to keep a bonsai alive and in good shape. Clear text and step-by-step illustrations ensure that even the most nervous newcomer can approach looking after bonsai with confidence. Filled with over 120 specially commissioned photographs and illustrations, the New Pyramid Bonsai Basics is an extensive directory of both indoor and outdoor trees and their characteristics.