World Religions
This guide contains information on McKee Library's collection of resources relating to world religions, including recommended books for further reading. The religions covered here are listed in alphabetical order.
- World Religions Reading ListRecommended books and films on world religions from McKee Library's collection.
World Religions
- The Global Religious LandscapeWorldwide, more than eight-in-ten people identify with a religious group. A comprehensive demographic study of more than 230 countries and territories conducted by the Pew Research Center’s Forum on Religion & Public Life estimates that there are 5.8 billion religiously affiliated adults and children around the globe, representing 84% of the 2010 world population of 6.9 billion.
- World Religions (History 100) - PodcastHistory 100 World Religions (aka Comparative Study of Religion). A survey of the five religions, Hinduism, Buddhism, Judaism, Christianity, and Islam.
Databases
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Credo Reference is an easy-to-use tool for starting research. Gather background information on your topic from hundreds of full-text encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri, quotations, and subject-specific titles, as well as 500,000+ images and audio files and over 1,000 videos.
- ATLA Religion Database/ATLASerials Plus This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
ATLA includes full-text coverage of major religion and theology journals is provided for more than 285,300 electronic articles and book reviews, from more than 150 journals selected by leading religion scholars in the United States.
The World's Largest Religious Groups Over Time
You will find more infographics at Statista
Streaming Media
- The Five Major World ReligionsIt's perfectly human to grapple with questions, like 'Where do we come from?' and 'How do I live a life of meaning?' These existential questions are central to the five major world religions -- and that's not all that connects these faiths. John Bellaimey explains the intertwined histories and cultures of Hinduism, Judaism, Buddhism, Christianity and Islam.
Global distribution of religions in 2019, by region
Pew Research Center. (December 12, 2019). Global distribution of religions in 2019, by region [Graph]. In Statista. Retrieved October 04, 2021, from https://www.statista.com/statistics/1091292/global-distribution-religions-region/
What is your religious preference: Protestant, Roman Catholic, Jewish, another religion, or no religion?
Gallup. (December 30, 2020). What is your religious preference: Protestant, Roman Catholic, Jewish, another religion, or no religion? [Graph]. In Statista. Retrieved October 04, 2021, from https://www.statista.com/statistics/245478/self-described-religious-identification-of-americans/