Internet Resources
- Institute for War and Peace Reporting (IWPR)Web archive on the Institute for War and Peace Reporting.
Archives
- War correspondents: Fresh AirExplore over 40 years of interviews with the voices that shape our world. Includes episodes on war correspondents.
- Women Come to the FrontThe women featured in this exhibit were chosen because of the strength and variety of their collections in the Library of Congress. Like their colleagues, the women followed various paths to their wartime assignments.
- Universal NewsreelsIn the pre-TV era, people saw the news every week in their neighborhood movie theaters. Newsreels were shown before every feature film and in dedicated newsreel theaters located in large cities. Universal Newsreel, produced from 1929 to 1967, was released twice a week. Each issue contained six or seven short stories, usually one to two minutes in length, covering world events, politics, sports, fashion, and whatever else might entertain the movie audience.
Streaming Media
- No Job for a Woman: Pioneering Women Reporters in WWIIThis award-winning documentary tells the colorful story of how three tenacious female war correspondents forged their now legendary reputations during World War II —when battlefields were considered no place for a woman.
- War CorrespondentsFrom Edison films "war extra" catalog: Shows a phase of the war excitement as it affects newpaper men at Key West, Florida. About a dozen war correspondents of the different New York papers are running up the street in a bunch to get to the cable office to get copy of cablegrams to be in turn transmitted to their different papers. They rush directly toward the audience, turn a corner in the immediate foreground and disappear down a side street. A good-natured struggle occurs here, to see who will make the turn first. Curious natives watch the unusual scene. A horse and carriage follow at a seemingly slow pace, showing by comparison what a rapid head-on foot race has been witnessed. 50 feet.
Perspectives
War Correspondent
Rageh Omaar’s composed reporting of the bombardment of Baghdad; Martha Gellhorn’s evocative portrait of Barcelona under sie≥ Richard Dimbleby’s horrifying radio broadcast from Belsen; Robert Capa’s blurred images of the chaos on Omaha Beach: for 150 years war correspondents have shaped our understanding of the war zone. Through printed word, photograph, radio and satellite link-up, they have exposed the horrors of war and revealed the endurance of the human spirit under fire. War Correspondentnot only brings together details of the most famous dispatches from the front and iconic examples of photojournalism that have passed into our collective consciousness, it is also about the war correspondents themselves – their escapades and ruses to outwit the cens∨ their ability to rough it in the most extreme conditions; their determination to place themselves in harm’s way in the pursuit of the facts; and their frustrations with military and government restrictions, as well as the editors. Fully illustrated to showcase the best examples of front-line reporting from the Civil War to the War on Terror,War Correspondentoffers fascinating insight into the psyche of those that cover the cataclysmic events of our time.
From the Front
In this gripping archive of war, Michael S. Sweeney presents a fascinating history of the evolution of warfare and of war correspondenceUfrom soldiers working double-duty as recorders of war to todays journalists who don helmets in pursuit of their story. Along the way, readers will discover the important role photographers and writers have played in influencing war, its strategies, and its outcomes. From the Crimean War in 1854 to the ongoing war against terrorism in the 21st century, discover the story of war in all its horror, triumph, and global impact. Then see it brought to life from the home frontUand recorded for posterityby correspondents reporting from the front lines. In From the Front, Sweeney takes readers to witness war through astonishing photography, maps, artwork, and compelling text. In addition, he features the vivid, first-hand accounts of the journalists who captured war. Among its memorable moments, the book reveals a close-up view of the ill-fated charge of the Light Brigade and, later, Custers last stand; remembers the Spanish Civil War, featuring accounts of Ernest Hemingway; relives the London Blitz, with a focus on broadcaster Edward Murrow; and forever documents obscure Vietnam battlefields through the lens of Larry Burrows. The first book of its kind, From the Front fosters rare insight into the telling of war, and shows, in exquisite detail, how the tales have shaped our lives.
The War Correspondent
The War Correspondent looks at the role of the war reporter today in context with contemporary issues: the perks and the risks of the job; the tendency for western journalists to take sides in civil conflicts like Bosnia and Kosovo; the media politics of international intervention in humanitarian crises; the seductive power of military ‘public relations’; and of course the commercial and technological pressures of an intensely concentrated, competitive news media environment. The book features interviews with prominent war and foreign correspondents such as John Pilger, Robert Fisk, Maggie O’Kane and Christiane AmanpourA special case study in military-media relations during NATO’s bombing of Serbia/Kosovo in 1999 suggests that in spite of widespread passivity among the correspondents who attended the daily briefings in Brussels, some sections of the news media were at least prepared to ask some hard questions of NATO strategy and policy.Greg McLaughlin argues that the future for war reporting and foreign correspondence will be determined not so much by professional imperatives but by military pressures and market forces outside the control of the journalist. The self-serving myth that war stories are no longer what 'consumers' want disguises the reality that foreign news is becoming too expensive to produce. Unless 'our boys' are directly involved in combat, wars and rumours of wars will continue to slip down the media agenda as 'the rest of the day’s news'.
Dispatches from the Front
The Revolutionary War -- The War of 1812 -- The Mexican War -- The Civil War -- The Spanish-American War -- World War I -- World War II -- The cold war and the Korean War -- The Vietnam War -- The Gulf War.
The First Casualty
Contents: Introduction by John Pilger 1 "The Miserable Parent of a Luckless Tribe" 1854-1856 2 The First Challenge 1861-1865 3 The Golden Age 1865-1914 4 Quite Another Game 1899-1902 5 The Last War 1914-1918 6 Enter America 1917-1918 7 The Remedy of Bolshevism is Bullets 1917-1919 8 The Real Scoop 1935-1936 9 Commitment in Spain 1936-1939 10 "Their Finest Hour" 1939-1941 11 The Struggle for Mother Russia 1941-1945 12 Remember Pearl Harbor 1937-1945 13 Never Again 1940-1945 14 Korea, the united Nations' War 1950-1953 15 Algeria is French 1954-1962 16 Vietnam 1954-1975 17 War is Fun 1954-1975 18 Britannia Rules the News 1975-1989 19 The Deadly Video Game 1990-1991 20 The Military's Final Victory March-June, 1999 Acknowledgments Selected Bibliography Notes on Sources Index
Research & Reference
- War Correspondents: Credo ReferenceA Credo Reference landing page on war correspondents. This page includes links to reference articles, journal articles, and a mind map.
- War Correspondents: Opposing ViewpointsA landing page from Opposing Viewpoints on war correspondents. This page includes links to academic journals, viewpoints, and more.