Primary Sources
- Afhanistan Digital LibraryThe Afghanistan Digital Library will retrieve and restore works published in Afghanistan between 1870 and 1930; the long-term objective is to collect, catalogue, digitize and provide access to as many of this period's publications as possible.
- Aga Khan Library CollectionsThe Aga Khan Library is a significant library for scholarly engagement in the field of Islamic studies with a focus on Ismaili studies and Muslim civilisations.
- Arabic Collections OnlineArabic Collections Online (ACO) is a publicly available digital library of public domain Arabic language content. ACO currently provides digital access to 17,694 volumes across 10,468 subjects drawn from rich Arabic collections of distinguished research libraries.
- Browse Manuscripts of the Islamicate World and South AsiaThis collection consists of over 700 manuscripts pertaining to the Islamicate world and South Asia, dating from the 10th to 19th centuries C.E. (the majority being post-1500).
- The Digital Muṣḥaf Project"The Digital Muṣḥaf Project aims to create a database of images of early Qurʾānic fragments from dispersed muṣḥafs or codices of the Qurʾanic text and, as far as possible, virtually re-create the original codices so that they are available for scholars and the public in one place together with descriptions and metadata.Islamic Heritage Project at Harvard University: Hundreds of Islamic manuscripts, maps, and published texts from Harvard’s library and museum collections.
- Islamic Heritage ProjectA digital collection of Islamic manuscripts, published texts, and maps from across Harvard's libraries and museums.
- Manuscripta Islamica RossicaArabic, Persian and Turkic manuscripts from the collections of Russian repositories and libraries.
- Manuscripts in the Libraries of the Greek and Armenian Patriarchates in JerusalemAs Jerusalem, the location of Christ’s Passion, has been central to the Christian religion since its inception, all the early churches sought a presence in that storied and holy city. The Greek Orthodox Church and the Armenian Apostolic Church, for example, both maintain ancient patriarchates in Jerusalem and both have created renowned libraries in them.
- Manuscripts of the Islamic WorldManuscripts of the Islamic World offers a curated selection of extraordinary manuscripts hosted or held by Princeton University Library. The manuscripts are predominantly in Arabic, but there are also many in Persian and Ottoman Turkish.
- Manuscripts of the Muslim WorldManuscripts of the Muslim World will include digital editions of more than 500 manuscripts and 827 paintings from the Islamicate world broadly construed. Together these holdings represent in great breadth the flourishing intellectual and cultural heritage of Muslim lands from 1000 to 1900, covering mathematics, astrology, history, law, literature, as well as the Qur'an and Hadith.
- The Minassian Collection of Qur'anic ManuscriptsThis database catalogues the holdings of over 200 Qur’anic manuscript folios dating from the 9th to the 16th centuries housed within the special collections of the Brown University libraries.
- Persian Manuscripts: British LibraryFrom the pocket miscellany (Add.MS.27261), with its exquisite miniature illuminations, compiled in 1410-11 for Timur's grandson Sultan Jalal al-Din Iskandar, ruler of Fars, to unique historical documents and literary manuscripts, the Persian Manuscripts collection at the British Library is one of the most significant collections in the world in both size and importance. Consisting of over 11,000 works in almost as many volumes, it combines the two world-class collections of the British Museum and the India Office Library.
Timelines & Chronologies
- Islamic World ChronologyThis chronology aims to help you place the major empires and dynasties mentioned in this guide in a historical and geographical framework
- Islam TimelineSearch through the entire ancient history timeline. Specify between which dates you want to search, and what keywords you are looking for.
The Islamic World in 1215
In the 13th century, the Islamic world was experiencing a golden age of art, science, education, and more. From Baghdad's House of Wisdom to figures such as Avicenna, Averroës, Saladin, and more, take a tour of this grand world. Learn about the foundations of modern medicine and mathematic
Perspectives
Reference
- Islam: Credo ReferenceA Credo Reference landing page on Islam. This page includes links to reference works, journal articles, and a mind map.
Inside Islam: What a Billion Muslims Really Think
The film explores the world's first major opinion poll, conducted by the Gallup organization. It asked Muslims from Indonesia to South Asia, to the Middle East, as well as minority communities in the US and Europe, what they thought about issues such as Gender Equality, Terrorism, and Democracy. It presented by Islamic scholars and the Gallup members themselves who give context and try to provide explanations for the results.
The Rise and Flourishing of Islam
Grasp how the tribes of the Arabian peninsula: within only 100 years of their conversion to Islam: were able to conquer half the Mediterranean world, shattering its unity, spinning its parts onto divergent paths, and establishing religious, linguistic, and cultural boundaries that persist to this day.