Swedish Literature
This page covers Swedish literature. McKee Library's collection includes numerous titles by Swedish authors. We have included a selection of these titles in our reading list, linked below. The resources below cover the general topic. However, more information is available if you search for individual authors by name in the databases.
- Swedish LiteratureSwedish literature reading list. This is not an exhaustive list, rather a list of titles available in McKee Library's collection.
Research and Reference
- The De la Gardie Archive: Lund University LibraryThe De la Gardie Archive is one of the largest archives in Sweden. It contains material from the period 1520-1850 and amounts to about 200 shelf meters, half of which consists of some 20 family archives. The other half contains historical and topographical documents, parchment letters and bound manuscripts on different subjects. A map collection and a collection of portrait engravings are also included.
- National Library of SwedenKungliga biblioteket is the National Library of Sweden. Our collections extend more than a thousand years back in time and are growing daily.
- RötterThe Swedish Archives collect and preserve original documents of organizations such as churches and governments. Libraries generally collect published sources such as books, maps and microfilm. This section describes the major repositories of genealogical and historical records and sources for Sweden.
- Swedish LiteratureA Credo Reference landing page on Swedish literature. This page includes links to reference works, images, and a concept map.
- Swedish Literature: BritannicaInformation on Swedish literature from Britannica.
Author's Works & Perspectives
A Man Called Ove
"You'll laugh, you'll cry, you'll feel new sympathy for the curmudgeons in your life." --People The #1 New York Times bestseller about the grumpy old man next door that's an uplifting exploration of the unreliability of first impressions and a reminder that life is sweeter when it is shared with other people. Also a major film called A Man Called Otto starring Tom Hanks. Meet Ove. He's a curmudgeon--the kind of man who points at people he dislikes as if they were burglars caught outside his bedroom window. He has staunch principles, strict routines, and a short fuse. People call him "the bitter neighbor from hell." But must Ove be bitter just because he doesn't walk around with a smile plastered to his face all the time? Behind the cranky exterior there is a story and a sadness. So when one November morning a chatty young couple with two chatty young daughters move in next door and accidentally flatten Ove's mailbox, it is the lead-in to a comical and heartwarming tale of unkempt cats, unexpected friendship, and the ancient art of backing up a U-Haul. All of which will change one cranky old man and a local residents' association to their very foundations. Fredrik Backman's beloved first novel about the angry old man next door is a thoughtful exploration of the profound impact one life has on countless others. "If there was an award for 'Most Charming Book of the Year,' this first novel by a Swedish blogger-turned-overnight-sensation would win hands down" (Booklist, starred review).
A Family
Reproductions of several of Larsson's paintings of his large family are accompanied by commentary on the paintings, the life, and the career of this noted Swedish artist."