Arthur Miller
Arthur Miller (2915 - 2005) is an American writer most known for his plays Death of a Salesman, The Crucible, and All My Sons. Miller won numerous awards, including the Tony Award for Best Play (1953, 1949) and the Pulitzer Prize for Drama (1949).
- Arthur Miller: BriographyArthur Miller is considered one of the greatest American playwrights of the 20th century. His best-known plays include 'All My Sons,' 'The Crucible' and the Pulitzer Prize-winning 'Death of a Salesman.'
- Arthur Miller: BritannicaArthur Miller, in full Arthur Asher Miller, (born October 17, 1915, New York, New York, U.S.—died February 10, 2005, Roxbury, Connecticut), American playwright, who combined social awareness with a searching concern for his characters’ inner lives. He is best known for Death of a Salesman (1949).
- Arthur Miller: National Endowment for the HumantitiesIn his writing and in his role in public life, Miller articulates his profound political and moral convictions.
Research & Reference
- Arthur Miller: Credo ReferenceA Credo Reference landing page on Arthur Miller. This page includes links to reference works, journal articles, and a mind map.
- Arthur Miller ArchivesA listing of archives from Arthur Miller's official website.
Streaming Media
- Arthur Miller: An InterviewIn this exclusive interview, Pulitzer Prize–winning playwright Arthur Miller speaks about his life and career. Beginning in New York, Miller traces his early years through the Great Depression, offering insights into how this lean time influenced his work. A portion of the program is devoted to a discussion of the 1950s McCarthy hearings and their impact on the development of Miller’s masterwork, The Crucible. Film excerpts from Death of a Salesman, After the Fall, and A View from the Bridge are interwoven with Miller’s observations on the political and poetic nature of his plays and on the art of writing. A BBC Production.
Author's Works & Perspectives
Death of a Salesman
The Pulitzer Prize-winning tragedy of a salesman's deferred American dream, presented here with enlightening commentary and criticism Willy Loman, the protagonist of Death of a Salesman, has spent his life following the American way, living out his belief in salesmanship as a way to reinvent himself. But somehow the riches and respect he covets have eluded him. At age 63, he searches for the moment his life took a wrong turn, the moment of betrayal that undermined his relationship with his wife and destroyed his relationship with Biff, the son in whom he invested his faith. Willy lives in a fragile world of elaborate excuses and daydreams, conflating past and present in a desperate attempt to make sense of himself and of a world that once promised so much. Since it was first performed in 1949, Arthur Miller's Pulitzer Prize-winning drama about the tragic shortcomings of an American dreamer has been recognized as a milestone of the theater. This Viking Critical Library edition of Death of a Salesman contains the complete text of the play, typescript facsimiles, and extensive critical and contextual material including: Conflicting reviews about its opening night by Robert Garland, Harold Clurman, Eleanor Clark, and others Five articles by Miller on his play, including "Tragedy and the Common Man" and his "Introduction to Collected Plays" Critical essays by John Gassner, Ivor Brown, Joseph A. Hynes, and others General essays on Miller by William Weigand, Allan Seager, and others Analogous works by Eudora Welty, Walter D. Moody, Tennessee Williams, and Irwin Shaw The stage designer's account, presented in selections from Designing for the Theatre by Jo Mielziner An in-depth introduction by the editor, a chronology, a list of topics for discussion and papers, and a bibliography
The Crucible
The Crucible play by Arthur Miller.
Arthur Miller: Collected Plays Vol. 1 1944-1961
"Miller takes his rightful place in The Library of America with this volume." --Library Journal (starred review) In the inaugural volume of its collected edition of Miller's plays, The Library of America gathers the works from the 1940s and 1950s that electrified theatergoers and established Miller as one of the indispensable voices of the postwar era. Among the plays included are All My Sons, the story of an industrialist confronted with his moral lapses during World War II; Death of a Salesman, the wrenching tragedy of Willy Loman's demise; The Crucible, at once a riveting reconstruction of the Salem witch trials and a parable of McCarthyism; and A View from the Bridge, Miller's tale of betrayal among Italian immigrants in Brooklyn, presented here in both the original one-act and revised two-act versions. This volume also contains the intriguing early drama The Man Who Had All the Luck, the first of Miller's plays to be produced on Broadway, along with his adaptation of Ibsen's An Enemy of the People, the autobiographical one-act A Memory of Two Mondays, and Miller's novella The Misfits, based on the screenplay he wrote for Marilyn Monroe. LIBRARY OF AMERICA is an independent nonprofit cultural organization founded in 1979 to preserve our nation's literary heritage by publishing, and keeping permanently in print, America's best and most significant writing. The Library of America series includes more than 300 volumes to date, authoritative editions that average 1,000 pages in length, feature cloth covers, sewn bindings, and ribbon markers, and are printed on premium acid-free paper that will last for centuries.
All My Sons
A searing exposure of war profiteering and the awful price paid by self-interest and greed, 'All My Sons' represented Miller's first Broadway success in 1947.
Arthur Miller's Death of a Salesman: Bloom's Guides
An inquiry into the meaning and elusive nature of the American Dream, Death of a Salesman is Arthur Miller's best-known play and won him a Pulitzer Prize and a Tony Award. Attention must be paid to its lead character, Willy Loman, who has come to represent and embody the middle-class struggle. This new edition of critical excerpts about this riveting play includes an annotated bibliography of Miller's works, an index, and an introduction by literary critic Harold Bloom.